We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a celebration!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aphrodite

Aphrodite
4 Brockwell Centre | Northumbrian Road, Cramlington NE23 1XZ , England
01670736070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Cramlington
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a celebration!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife, friends, family and myself visited Aphrodites on Saturday 23rd. February to celebrate my wife's 60th Birthday. It was amazing. We chose a reduced menu with Panos, as there were 17 of us, and it worked like clockwork. The service was brilliant, the food was exceptional, every one of our party said they hadn't had food as good for a long time. I would like to thank Panos, Val (who was excellent, very friendly), Alexa and all the other staff for a fantastic evening. Two of our party had visited the restaurant previously, albeit a lot of years ago, and they said they had forgotten how good the food was and would definitely return. So cheers for a brilliant time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    17
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A traditional Cypriot restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The first time I visited this restaurant was Christmas 1996, I don't live far from this establishment. My family, we are one of the many regulars to this restaurant which have built over the years. I visit this restaurant on a regular basis and every time there is a special occasion we always choose Aphrodite, it is situated in a very nice part of Cramlington with lots of parking spaces right on the door step and also a pub across the road which is handy to finish our night off on many occasions. The restaurant, has a very relaxing atmosphere, even on the quiet nights. The staff are always very friendly and some have been there for many years. The owner is Cypriot called Panos who is always there to make us feel welcome and is not interested in how much we spend he just wants us to have a good night. Panos always welcomes us as his guests, typical Cypriot hospitality, the food is always made to an excellent standard and the place always looks clean. Well recommended by myself who has been using this place for the past 17years and by the way my favourite dish is the Beef Stifado.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ok but wouldnt rush back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very expensive , good choice of food but portions not generous. sadly i found a hair in my meal which is always a put off in my opinion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss A, Manager at Aphrodite, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am pleased to be able to give my responce to reviews like this.Expensive ?? not many restaurants offer you a FREE starter when you chose a main course on Tues ,Wed &Thurs all night and Fri ,Sat early evening . Sorry you cannot get a main course in our restaurant for £ 2.99 they start from £5.50 and the most expesive is Lamb KLEFTIKO for £15.95 As for portion size here is some examples ,fillet of chicken is 230 grams, KLEFTIKO is half a kilo in weight, beef stifado is 14 ozs , moussaka 18 ozs ,and all main courses served with fresh vegetables and potatoes of the day included in the price. Not many people would call this an ungenerous size meal. As for finding a hair in your dinner ,nothing has been brought to our attention. Our restaurant has a 5 STAR hygiene stantard and we take every precaution to prevent this happening so i cannot comment on this any further as you did not show the hair to any member of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Its just like being on your holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This is our favourite restaurant in Cramlington, we have been coming for years, sadly not as many times as we would like, in fact could eat there every week but would never lose weight. Val is fabulous, Always gives us a warm welcome and runs the show like clockwork. Panos is brilliant with the kids. If you like swing/crooners you can't miss Alex Lomax doing a rat pack night, great singer and wonderful atmosphere. My only gripe is that there are too many lovely things on the menu and that Pianos won't share his recipie for Stifado. Its a superb mix of Greek and Italian and there literally isn't anything that I wouldn't like......one of these days I will get round to trying every dish, but that will take some time. Well done on your 5* rating for food hygiene, keep up the good work. Lorraine Henderson

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“never a bad meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

wonderful restaurant.
never had a bad meal. Sunday dinners are amazing.
panous and his staff the are very tentative and child friendly. My 8 year old loves going, even though he gets told he's doing the dishes, he gets to make his own ice cream!
never lose your friendly vibe. this is why you are so successful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite also viewed

Cramlington, Northumberland
Cramlington, Northumberland
 
Cramlington, Northumberland
Cramlington, Northumberland
 

Been to Aphrodite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.