We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy Owl inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Snowy Owl | Blagdon Lane, Cramlington NE23 8AU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Cramlington B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Snowy Owl inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently traveled to the Northumberland section of the UK. On advice of friends we stayed a week at the Snowy Owl Inn in Cramlington. We felt it was an excellent choice and value. The room was very large by British standards, very clean and with a comfortable bed and bedding. The "tea making tray" even had a selection of cookies. The staff was extremely friendly. Hearing our very US accent, they helped us find interesting things to do in the region and always asked if we had enjoyed our day the next morning at breakfast. Breakfast is Continental, but well served with lots of fresh fruit. We were there in plum season and I ate more than my share. The food in the pub was good as well and the beer was cold. It was in about 1 hour drive of many historical attractions. Don't miss a walk on the walls at Berwick on Tweed. We highly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again the next time we are in the UK!

Room Tip: The steps to the second floor are somewhat steep. There is no elevator. If stairs are a problem, req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Snowy Owl, Cramlington and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    37
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
22
45
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here before on business and on holiday and is very convenient as only 5 minutes from A1. This time on business nearby. Booked online (very easy) and as arrived noticed sign to Northumberlandia that had seen several times on TV. The entrance is only 100 yards from the Snowy Owl so as early parked car and explored this very unusual and big sculpture made from local mine waste - go and see it and walk to the top and around the numerous paths.
After checked in and was hoping for a room away from the hotel entrance as when stayed before got fed up with the banging doors. Luckily room 5 on ground floor and at far end of corridor. Large room with bed/settee and comfortable bed and tea making facilities and biscuits. TV worked okay.
Only problem was the bathroom taps that need washers fitting as no hot water and cold arrived eventually. Shower was good.
Had very good dinner in the Vintage inn next door and as was not busy at 8.15pm service was fast and efficient. Food prices okay but beer expensive compared similar places.
After good nights sleep, buffet continental breakfast with a reasonable choice.
Will definitely stay again when in area and staff were all very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 5 for a quieter room at the rear ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Cramlington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel was used as a 'stop off' for a Scotland road trip.

We are a family of 4, two adults and two teenagers.

We booked two rooms, which worked out reasonable.

The rooms were clean, showers were very good, staff were very helpful (especially the cleaners for helping us decide on points of interest).

We ate our evening meal at the lodge - good wholesome food.

Continental breakfast was okay - and varied, and they kept topping up the food.

Would definitely recommend this place to any family, and would visit again ourselves.

The only suggestion for improvements is having a dedicated check in point (not a busy bar person), and the light in the rooms were dull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Cramlington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights ,check in was in the pub area of the Snowy Owl - which wasn't the quickest as all the staff appeared to be serving customers .We had to pay upfront which we found somewhat unusual in comparison to every other hotel we have stayed at , given the keys & directions to our room & a explanation with regard to our continental breakfast .We then enquired about the possibility of a cooked breakfast & the answer to this was "unfortunately the staff won't come in to do a cooked breakfast" which isn't the best response to impress new arrivals !
The room itself was a good size for a twin ,clean with lovely white soft bed linen ,although the mattresses had seen better days. The only faults we felt was the furniture & bathroom was a little dated, & the shower tray struggled to drain away the water if you were in there to long.
The pub itself was ok -we had a evening meal the first night there - the food was nothing really to rave about & service a bit hit & miss especially bringing drinks. The bar closed at 11.00 even if you were a patron -so late night drinks were out of the question . At this point with a few punters still finishing up, the bar staff appeared to lose there professionalism by shouting across the room/bar to each other & generally horsing around .
Breakfast - usual continental affair - cereal, cakes,fruit , bread & more bread. Coffee was out of a machine ,tea was tea bags & hot water .I didn't bother the second morning ,but my husband told me he had to wait around for cups ,spoons etc & yet there were at least 3 staff around but none seem to be in charge of taking care of customer needs, more interested in chatting across the bar area to each other.
We paid £66 per night average- would I say value for money, no not really, staff were polite enough but the place just lacked the attentive care & attention to detail that would enhance the staying experience.
Would I stay there again probably not - for a few quid more I could have stayed at a hotel a mile further down the road with a late night bar, room service, full English breakfast & Wi-Fi that actually works.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Cramlington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby.
You have to sign in at the bar, which didn't take too long even though it was very busy.
The room we were given was a good size, clean, and the bed was very comfortable, and there was a good selection of drinks available in the room.
The only downside was that it appeared that the window was broken, it looked ok but there was a sign on it saying "don't touch - window broken", but it was hot in the room and both myself and my husband don't like to sleep without a window open.
But we went and asked at the bar if they could open it for us, and they did - although there would have been a problem closing it again if we'd needed to (we didn't).
The bathroom was really nicely fitted out, and the shower was great - a very generous size, plenty of hot water, and powerful enough to keep us happy.
All in all it was a comfrotable stay, and good value.
We did eat there too, but as this has a seperate listing I'll review that seperately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this lodge. We were in room 13, which at night was too warm even with the window wide open. It was very quiet. Facilities in the room were good. The bathroom needed upgrading but nothing to complain about. The restaurant was poor for an evening meal, so if we were to stay again then we would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2013. The room was great, facilities good and bed comfortable. We enjoyed our time spent in the dining room. We played cards with friends and nobody was offended The food left a little to be desired though. My seasonal salad was good but very small, certainly not large enough for a meal. And my husband felt the meat pies were a lot of pastry and not much meat. It certainly appeared to be busy enough so people must like it. Breakfast was acceptable although the day old croissants were kind of disgusting. Staff were amazing. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington

Address: The Snowy Owl | Blagdon Lane, Cramlington NE23 8AU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cramlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cramlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland is one of the most beautiful parts of the country and Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, just nine miles north of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, is the perfect way to make the most of it.With its roots in the 1600s, this converted farmhouse is as historic as it is cosy, providing budget accommodation ideal for exploring the Northumberland coast, Newcastle's fantastic shopping, Morpeth or Plessey Woods Country Park.Handy for weekend breaks, you'll find the lodge in the pretty little town of Cramlington, which is surrounded by a rich landscape of impressive castles, unspoilt beaches, rugged moorland and friendly villages full of charming shops and pubs.Book one of its 18 comfy en-suite rooms and you'll be right next door to the pub, the perfect spot for a pint of cask ale or a fireside treat of freshly cooked, seasonally inspired food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Innkeepers Hotel Cramlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.