We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hand & Crown

The Hand & Crown
17 High Wych Rd, Sawbridgeworth CM21 0AY, England
01279 725892
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $49
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Called in here with family prior to attending a wedding down road. Had a sausage baguette which was very nice and quite filling. The place was reasonably busy. One member of our party was disappointed they were not able to get a burger and it seemed the only eggs available were duck eggs. Have been here before for Sunday lunch and was very disappointed the food was barley warm and not very tasty I think it depends on the amount of customers they are trying to feed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    44
    12
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and myself have eaten here on many occasions,and its always a favourite place to take friends and family whenever they visit! Sunday lunch is always a winner! With such huge portions,theres no room for Sunday tea!! Its definately a winner! Lovely place with such friendly staff,and a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pub Evening Meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went with my wife and a married couple who we have known for over 30 years, because the pub was local to where they lived. The dining room was noisy, with recorded music. I asked for the volume to be turned down, and the waiter informed me that their system was set so that the more people that were in the place the louder the volume became. What rubbish! The pub was busy, so everyone had to raise their voices to drown out the music. I chose Steak & Ale Pie, with chips, the chips were hot but underdone, the steak was tender but there were two large pieces which were surrounded by fat/grisle. I asked for English Mustard, he brought up French Mustard and argued with me that it was English. The waiter who I am told had worked at the pub for some years had an attitude problem. I will never go back to that place again, I cannot understand how it stays in business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Don't bother having a Sunday lunch here, meat taste like birds eye frozen meat!! Potatoes hard, gravy watery, veg over cooked.
Avoid!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just had a great meal here with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary the menu is very substantial and it is hard work deciding but when the food arrives it is not only perfect it is huge. I only just managed to finish it off and that is without starter or dessert. I cannot praise this establishment more, it one of the best restaurants for miles arround we cannot wait to return in the future.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hand & Crown also viewed

Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
 
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Hand & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hand & Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.