We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe

Caribe
Bloque 7, Local 13 | Costa del Oro, Torrox, Spain
952 530 831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 104 Restaurants in Torrox
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Perfect place to drink coffee. The homemade cake is tastfull too. You can sit outside and watch the world go by. Nice shady terrace with enough confortable chairs (not the white plastic ones).The service was quick and polite. After a few times the waiters recognise you. Did not eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lunchtime snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went here for lunch on a couple of occasions. The food was very good quality, good value. You could also just stop for a drink in a beautiful location overlooking the sea. Friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment to say the least”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited Caribe with a group of five for a late breakfast. Ordered some sandwiches ans coffees. Completing our order took a terribly long time alltough the restaurant was nearly empty.
The tuna and mayonnaise sandwich came as a cheese and ham sandwich. The club sandwiches, that are usually impossible to spoil were bland, no taste in the cheese or ham. I'm guessing the bread was 3 days old, judging by the taste of it. Don't know if the warm dishes are much better but I'll let someone else try them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARIBE619, Gerente at Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Google Translation
losiento, que no alla gustado el desayuno
intentemos hacer todo lo mejor posible .esperemos que la proxima vez ,si vengais,os guste...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked Christmas dinner in the Caribe and all I can say is it was fantastic. We had 5 courses of the most wonderful food imaginable from the best seafood available to pork, steaks and chicken with all the trimmings. The helpings were plentiful to say the least. We also had 2 bottles of the best house red wine (no cheap plonk here) and all finished off with some shots which were on the house. All this for a very moderate cost of 35 Euro's each! Without a doubt this was one of the best Christmas's we have had and our best Christmas Dinner spent away from home.

The family that run the Caribe now are from the Ukraine and really are the friendliest people. Dad is called Vasyl and Mum is Victoria while their son is Denys.
We have been to the Caribe another three times on different visits to Torrox Costa and when we walk in It's like being greeted by family members they are just so friendly towards us.

Give the Caribe a try as you won't be disappointed with the food, drink, hospitality or the welcome and service you receive.
Also the view along the beach is wonderful, a great place to sit and relax and watch the world go by.

Stewart & Lesley (from Bathgate, Scotland)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARIBE619, Gerente at Caribe, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Muchs gracias por su opiñon y por sus visitas. Estaremos encantados de recibiros quando vengai otra vez de vacaciones.Esperamos.Besitos a todos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for coffee and cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Large range of cakes and currently (Feb 2013) it's only E2.50 for coffee and cake. If you don't like coffee too strong, ask for cafe sombre, which is slightly weaker than cafe con leche.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribe also viewed

 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.