We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Taj Mahal

Restaurant Taj Mahal
C/. Nacional 340, Torrox, Spain
952534972
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 104 Restaurants in Torrox
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Andalucia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I cannot understand the criticism that the prices have gone up but the portions have got smaller. The whole point is that you can order what you like (only king prawns cost extra) for the set price of 11,95€ so you can have a good choice of different dishes. They do a range of dishes that other local restaurants do not provide - their vegetable makkhani and kadahi are particularly delicious and full of fresh veg, unlike another local restaurant whose vegetable curry was just a brown mush.
We eat here quite regularly and whilst standards did drop a year or so ago, the food we've had this year cannot be faulted. We have been in a group of 6 a couple of times and had a huge array of dishes to choose from, and you could not eat this well this cheaply in any of the other Indian restaurants in this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We complained about the small portion sizes so they made us some more. They just handed us menus and didn't even say there was an 'all you can eat' menu! So we paid full menu price for ridiculously small portions. And a very miserable waitress who didn't smile once.....won't be coming here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

If your looking for a nice relaxed curry, this is just spot on. Nice and relaxed, no rush, just enjoy your curry, with a glass of Cobra, it just hits the spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good value Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There's a couple of Indian restaurants in Torrox and they're all pretty much the same in terms of quality and value for money. There's so much competition between restaurants in the area that good value 3 course deals are common, and the curry restaurants are playing along too. The Taj is decent and very well priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always good and it´s ALL YOU CAN EAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have eaten here many times and have always had a good meal and this last time was no exception. Yes, the ALL YOU CAN EAT MENU has gone up 2 euros to €11.95 but it is an ALL YOU CAN EAT MENU so if you feel you want a bit more for your money then order more dishes because it is ALL YOU CAN EAT.
We've always found the service to be friendly and maybe they could be a little more attentive with drinks etc. but they do work hard. So, chill and cut them a bit of slack.
The food for the ALL YOU CAN EAT menu is off the menu (not buffet style), freshly cooked and always tasty. At €11.95 for ALL YOU CAN EAT, it cannot offer anything other than good value for money.
My recommendation would be to order: poppadums and pickles, a starter (prawn puree is my favourite but the mixed starter also offers excellent value), a curry dish for main, a rice, a bread and some side dishes. You'll leave feeling you have eaten well and it will all be for the princely sum of €11.95 because it is ALL YOU CAN EAT. The drinks are not expensive either.
They always ask us through the meal if we would like more side dishes etc. and after we have paid the bill, they always offer an after-dinner drink which is a full size glass not a chupito.
So, how can this seem expensive? How can this not be good value for money when it is ALL YOU CAN EAT?
By the way, I'm not sure where that photo on this page came from but that is NOT the Taj Mahal at Torrox Costa?!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Taj Mahal also viewed

 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurant Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.