We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Calaceite

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Calaceite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Calaceite
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Torrox
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at one of the 3 bedroomed apartments, which we would recommend to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay, with excellent views and handy for Malaga airport (east 40-50 mins by car). Vincent in reception looked after us superbly, and made us feel very welcome. The beds were luxurious, the kitchen was well fitted with everything we needed for our short stay, and Nerja and Torrox were only 5 minutes in either direction, for coffees, strolls, beaches and lovely restaurants. Extremely good value at approx 200 Euros for 5 people for 3 nights. Swimming pools were lovely, although unheated, so only for the brave at this time of the year! The only VERY minor gripes were the lack of a mirror outside of the bathrooms, which would have been useful in the 2nd double bedroom, without an ensuite, and the lounge could have done with a few cushions to liven the decor and add to the comfort of the settees. Lovely to have heated apartments and a lift up to the second floor. Great to eat breakfast on the balcony in February - two days with sun and 18/19 degrees C, the other 2 days were unfortunately rainy. Thank you for a lovely break.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony with a view of the setting sun but the only 3 bed apartment available lost th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time and writing this great review about our Apartments Fuerte Calaceite. You are right by telling that the decoration in some apartments is a bit scarce and we will work on it, also the need of a full body mirror is a great suggestion which we will consider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    44
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We love this place, it's quiet and peaceful with beautiful views along the bay.

The apartments are fully furnished, modern, well decorated and clean. There is an outdoor pool basement garage and a mini shop connected to reception.

Nerja is a 5 minute drive away in one direction and Torrox Costa in the other. You need a car as the resort is around an hour's drive from Malaga airport and car hire is quite cheap

There is a wealth of shops and restaurants and places to visit as long as you have a car to take you there. There's no beach in the immediate vicinity you'd have to travel to Torrox Costa or Nerja for this.

It really depends upon what type of holiday you're looking for but we're in our 50's and have quite stressful jobs so we go for the relaxation. The area won't be to everyone's taste but you won't be disappointed with the apartments they're pretty new and quite spacious. We travelled the last week in January and had excellent weather all week (19 degrees plus) so can't complain.

Try it and I hope you have a good holiday

Room Tip: Side view appartments are supposed to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in writing a comment on our Apartments Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as the previous one.

I would like to highlight your comment that the apartments are ideal for relaxation and that a car is needed not just for shopping but also to visit the typical Andalucien White Villages that one can discover and experience the southern way of live.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fuerte Calaceite was a great choice for the last point of our Andalusia trip. From the very beginning we were upgraded for free to the 3 bedrooms apartment, were offered late checkout for some 14 Euros, so we started to love it from the first minute. Perfect sea-view, spacious balcony (and the apartment as well) makes the rest comfortable and relaxing. The parking (each building has its own garage) is complementary, the only extra we had to pay was Internet, at 9 Euros/device/day. The hotel seems to be a great choice for the Summer family stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Fuerte Calaceite and I hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful experience at the appartment rentals, as we discovered a beautiful and vast appartment for a very low prie (48 euros/ day). Modern kitchen , plasma tv and 2 bathrooms. Securitized access, very clean and great view on the beach. We just loved it. Pizza can be delivered in the flats with a simple phone call.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for commenting on the apartments Fuerte Calaceite and I love to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After being overwhelmed by Spanish aestetic sensibility we have landed in one of the Fuerte Calciete apartments. We were just bewildered what could be done to the interior when invaded by some decorators from the northern Europe. Depressing . Otherwise, the apartment was fairly clean with great view.
Location: the walk uphill is a little steep, yet short and sweet. As for being " in the middle of nowhere" depends on perspective: for a Canadian the complex is squeezed between Torrox and Nerja.
Tip: if you will come after hours bring your cell phone to call the keyman or honk to wake up everybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for writtimg a review on the Apartments Fuerte Calaceite and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us even so the modern decoration was not exactly what you expected.
That last point of yours is very important, should you arrive after our reception hour please call the following number 0034 689.233.867 and a staff member will arrive within 10 minutes and show you the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel was our last stop on car tour in Andalusia. We wished some peacufull, well equiped apartments close to sea with nice views and easy car access.
The apartments are situated on hill slope, and consist of 7 blocks, each of them having several entrances and 3-4 levels. Each block has own underground parking space with elevator to access directly you floor.Having in consideration amount of steps and hills, it's almost necessity to use elevators when you carying your baggage.
We have been living in block no.7 - most distantly located uphill. To reach car parking, you need to pass through underground parking of block 5 - it basically consists of 2 very sharp and steep turns, which might me a challenge for less experencied driver - as evidence we see a lot of signs of it :)
Our 4person with "partial see view" apatments consisted of 2 bedrooms and living room, 2 bathrooms, well equiped kitchen and covered balcony. We noticed that some balconies didn't have anything "on top", and we really enjoyed it second night, when it was heavy raining, but we could still sit outside. There were also wooden table chairs and 2 cots on the balcony.
As I readed in some comments, there was no any soap or stmh., so we borrowed few small bottles from our previous hotel toiletry package - it was fine.
Basically as I understood, all apartments facing bigger or smaller "sea view", and morning sunrise is a very nice experience...
Apartments are situated almost between Nerja and Torrox Costa and there are few beach bars within short walking distance - some of them there were working in the end of October. Otherwise to reach some other places you need a car.
Apartment complex also have 2 pools, gradually sloping ( one up to 3m ) - one is located more "downhill", while another is uphill.
Positive: very peacefull place; well equiped rooms with great views; enough space for bigger families or friend groups
Negative: no toiletries ( you need to have own ); a bit complicated parking entrance - at least for unexperienced drivers

Room Tip: Check if your apartments have open or closed balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay at Fuerte Calaceite. One of our main concerns in all Fuerte Hoteles is the environment, and me as the manager of the apartments Fuerte Calaceite, has decided a long time ago not to put any amenities in the apartments and hopefully contribute in generating a bit less waste on our planet. I can understand that it can cause some inconveniences for some of our guests but I truly believe that it is for the benefit of a greater cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Myself and my wife spent 5 wonderful days at these apartments. Both the location, and the layout and fixtures and fittings of the apartments were wonderful. We had a truly spectacular view. Nerja was a few minutes up the road and we discovered a wonderful restaurant on the outskirts of down.The swimming pool was also excellent. The only downsides are you do need to have a car and when we were there there was no internet service available.I hope to go back at some stage in the future and that is as good a recommendation as I can give

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at Fuerte Calaceite. Your remark on the need of a car is very true and I do recommend all future guests to rent a car if you decide to book at Fuerte Calaceite. It is not only convenient to do the shopping but it also gives you the opportunity to visit many places in the vicinity as would be the towns of Nerja, Frigiliana or Competa or a bit further away (1,5 hours) places like “La Alhambra” in Granada, “La Mezquita” in Cordoba or the lovely seaport of Malaga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fuerte Calaceite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Calaceite

Address: Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fuerte Calaceite 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Calaceite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Fuerte Calaceite Hotel Torrox
Hotel Fuerte Calaceite Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.