We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in the Fuerte Calaceite Apts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Calaceite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Calaceite to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Calaceite
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay in the Fuerte Calaceite Apts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Myself and my wife spent 5 wonderful days at these apartments. Both the location, and the layout and fixtures and fittings of the apartments were wonderful. We had a truly spectacular view. Nerja was a few minutes up the road and we discovered a wonderful restaurant on the outskirts of down.The swimming pool was also excellent. The only downsides are you do need to have a car and when we were there there was no internet service available.I hope to go back at some stage in the future and that is as good a recommendation as I can give

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at Fuerte Calaceite. Your remark on the need of a car is very true and I do recommend all future guests to rent a car if you decide to book at Fuerte Calaceite. It is not only convenient to do the shopping but it also gives you the opportunity to visit many places in the vicinity as would be the towns of Nerja, Frigiliana or Competa or a bit further away (1,5 hours) places like “La Alhambra” in Granada, “La Mezquita” in Cordoba or the lovely seaport of Malaga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    53
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from a five day stay, this was our second visit in less than twelve months. The view from the apartments is just beautiful, the sea is just below and you can see for miles. The apartments are very modern and very clean and tidy. I like to use the underground car park although this is an extra charge because the car stays cool! I don't enjoy climbing into a red hot car, I also think you are so much nearer to the lifts, useful if you are carrying groceries. Our balcony this time was small, we preferred our first stay where the outdoor space was larger but that is just a small gripe. The walk to the beach is easy going down but a hill to climb on the way back which might not suit everyone. We always hire a car, cheaper than a taxi from the airport and so useful for getting around. There are two swimming pools, a large one and high up a smaller quieter one which we prefer. My only criticism is that there are too few sunbeds for the number of guests. Other than that a lovely stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very modern, comfortable and clean apartment also looks quite new. We had very spacious balcony with excellent sea view, there was a big table with six comfortable chairs. The whole complex is a bit out of Torrox costa so you need a car, to go to restaurant or to Super market. There is underground car park with a lift to apartments, they charged additionally but it is worth to pay. Within the complex is also a big swimming pool. The beach is approximately 200 - 300 m away

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very clean,modern apartments,everything you need is there for your stay,staff are very friendly and helpful,we were given the keys to two apartments to see which we liked best,we were allocated a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms ! Just for the two of us ! The view from our very spacious balcony of Nerja was lovely and I took some lovely photo's at sunrise & sunset ! I would advise a hire car as a must,don't bother paying the €4 a night extra for underground parking,it's perfectly safe to park on the apartment service road (as advised by the staff)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Brilliant modern apartments,VERY clean and all modcons,our apartment had 2 bedrooms sleeping 4 (even though there were only 2 of us),we had 1 toilet/shower room and 1 bathroom which made me very happy as my wife tends to hog the bathroom :-) the views from the terrace of our room was out over the see,looking slightly toward nerja,which gave me some great sunset shots on my camera,the staff are so helpful,they even gave us the keys to two apartments so we could choose the one we liked best,didn't use the underground carpark as it was perfectly safe to park on the access road to the apartments (only served the apartments) so saved ourselves 30 Euro,The only gripe we had was having to pay for wi-fi,I would also say you need a hire car to make the best use of the apartments.

Room Tip: Hire a car to fully enjoy the area and visit Torrox Pueblo (not Torrox Costa)for excellent home cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from a 9 night stay in these apartments. Apartments have everything you will need . We asked for an apartment that would get the evening sun - and it was great. We could sit out and look at the ocean until late into the evening . The location is great - as other reviewers have said - you will need a car - ( the hill is a killer to walk ) . 10 minute drive to Nerja - lovely beach , restaurants etc . You could walk to the Torrox beach not far ... lovely beach ...a lot quieter than Nerja , but there are some lovely little bars by the beach that serve food too. The one with the bouncy castle outside serves delicious salads and some entertainment too ...We went to the pool two days - again - perfectly maintained and clean with a view out to the sea . Its very quiet here , no loud music - just the sound of the sea..
We will definately return for another stay here. If you want relaxation in the sun .. this is the place to go .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Perfect for a week or a year, well that might be an exaggeration. The apartment was extremely well kitted out especially the kitchen. Dishwasher, cooker, washing machine and dryer, remember to take some dishwasher tablets and washing powder if to want to take advantage of these items. The balconies are large but they may be overhung by the upstairs balcony so might only get the sun in the morning or afternoon. The bed was a hard, but comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Building 1, afternoon sun and sunsets, building 3 morning sun until about 1pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Calaceite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Calaceite

Address: Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fuerte Calaceite 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Calaceite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Fuerte Calaceite Hotel Torrox
Hotel Fuerte Calaceite Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.