We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Calaceite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Calaceite to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Calaceite
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A 5% DISCOUNT!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent - a home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Everything about this place is good - we had no issues whatsoever, the management and staff should be very proud of themselves.

We arrived at 11pm on a Saturday night and were greeted by a very pleasant, friendly spanish gentleman who said we could check in the next day, at any time, as it was now quite late. We followed him in his car to the underground car park and he explained which bay we had been allocated - the same bay as our apartment number. He then took us up to our apartment in the lift which was really like a private lift as there were only 2 apartments on that floor. He then gave us a run down of our apartment along with a free bottle of wine, which was a nice touch.

The apartment was superb, clean, contemporary and looked new. It consisted of: 2 bedrooms, a shower room, a bathroom, fully fitted kitchen which included washing machine, tumble drier, dishwasher, oven & hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, coffee maker, kettle and numerous pots, pans, gadgets and crockery, etc. They even provide dishwasher tablets and soap powder, another nice touch.

The living room had a dining table, two 2 seater sofa's flat screen TV, DVD player and Satellite box. The living area and one of the bedrooms opens up on to the balcony which was furnished with a table & chairs and also 2 sun loungers and a small table and stool.

The view we had was lovely, it looked on to the sea and the swimming pool and gardens were directly below us. The resort is well tendered, clean, tidy and well kept.

There is a small shop attached to the reception area for milk, water, etc. We didn't have either of these when we arrived and I wish i'd paid more attention and bought both as a hot drink would have been nice upon arrival and on hand the following morning.

The photos on the hotels website are pretty accurate and we were very pleased with our choice. I would recommend these apartments without any hesitation and will return whenever the opportunity presents itself.

The area is quiet and there is nothing much in the immediate vicinity but Nerja is a 5 minute drive away and Torrox Costa centre is also a couple of minutes drive away. We hired a car upon arriving at Malaga airport and the distance is 28.5km, which is around a 30 minute drive. I would strongly advise this as we overheard (not sure if this is true however) that the cost from Malaga to Torrox is 180 euros by taxi! Very expensive when you consider it cost us just 68 euros to hire a car for a week!

Try it, I think you'll like it and I hope you have a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment as I believe these have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    57
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
64
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We asked for a quiet apartment and that is what we got but at the cost of a balcony on the side so we only got half a sea view. Overall it was great value so I did not mind too much paying 29 Euros for WiFi for the week. Although you can pay for the underground garage, we had no problems with the road parking. It would be nice to have more things walkable but its a short drive to Torrox Costa and Nerja. It worked for our budget family trip and we would consider returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here 12th Septemberfor 11 nights we were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment with sea view for no extra charge which was very much appreciated reception was excellent. it was well worth paying to park our car in the garage kept it cool and lift or stairs to your apartment no problem. Apartment very clean and had everything that you needed also table and chairs and sunloungers on the balcony. The pool area was nice very quiet and pool not that cold. We found Burrianna Beach a fantastic place to chill out either on the sunbeds or on the cabanas these were very comfortable and plenty of room to lounge on, plenty of places to eat and drink here. We visited nerja donkey sanctuary a must to see the good work they do also visited Alhambra Palace at Granada absolutely fantastic. Will say here again soon

Room Tip: ask for full seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have just arrived home after a stay in a 1 bedroom apartment and can honestly say that the accomodation was excellent. Really clean and modern, with all the equipment you require. I requested if possible a corner apartment and was very grateful on arriving to have been given what I requested. The view's are stunning and the security on site is excellent. We arrived late evening and on calling the tel no provided was greeted by a charming Spanish gentleman, who could not have been more helpful in explaining everything. Would highly recommend this complex , but suggest a hire car and really feel the extra money for the secure parking is well worth paying for .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. The views are great and I was amazed by how complete the apartments are furnished. There was more electrical equipment in the apartments then I have at home! Very friendly and helpful employees. The balcony is in one word: amazing! it gives you the idea you are living in a mayor cruise ship. Recommendable to anybody who likes beaches and nature. Tip: hire a car! From this location it is easy to reach mayor cities such as Granada, Malaga, Almeria, etc

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our road trip through Andalusia. Beforehand, there was some initial doubt about whether Nerja and Torrox are 'ghost towns' during December and January, this proofed itself to be untrue. The location is a 5 minute drive from Torrox, 15 minutes from Nerja. Pool is not heated, during the winter months therefore only usable for the 'die hards'.

Apartments are simply perfect: great views, comfortable beds, two bathrooms. Nothing to add here. The sunset is best seeable at the blocks towards Torrox, the sunrise will be seen by blocks facing towards Nerja. Upgrading to a corner room provide both views.

The reception staff is kind, helpful and seems to have a great time helping others.

Make sure to buy your bread at the German bakery (around 100 meters left after the roundabout (at the level of the traffic lights or Aldi)).

Room Tip: The sunset is best seeable at the blocks towards Torrox, the sunrise will be seen by blocks facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here in mid September in a 2 bedroomed apartment. The apartment was stunning with every mod con we needed ,great air con, DVD player, dishwasher ,microwave , cooker, washing machine, tumble dryer, the list goes on...................
The apartments are set up on a hill and the views are wonderful.We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful . A car is essential if you want to get around and the under ground parking is well worth the small daily charge, especially if you have been shopping, but there is free parking if you prefer. There are 2 decent sized swimming pools and some smaller pools for kids, but get to the pool early if you want to get a sun lounger! There isn't a bar on site, but there is a lovely bar/restaurant just a short stroll along the sea front. The reception has a small shop , but a just a few minutes drive into Torrox and you will find a great selection of supermarkets, the staff at reception will advise you on the best. The beaches at Torrox may not be as sandy as some may like, but its only a 10 minute drive to Nerja, where the beaches are sandier( but busier) ..
Torrox market is well worth a visit for those all important souvenirs and the caves at Nerja are a must see. The Torrox Costa is a great place to visit in the day or evening , lots of bars and restaurants. The Caribe restaurant is a great inexpensive place to eat and the staff there are lovely.The village of Torrox is only a short drive into the hills and is simply beautiful with some lovely places to eat. All in all a great holiday in a stunning apartment in a great location. Cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Calaceite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Calaceite

Address: Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fuerte Calaceite 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Calaceite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Fuerte Calaceite Hotel Torrox
Hotel Fuerte Calaceite Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Calaceite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.