We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Malaga Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Malaga Playa to your Saves list
Iberostar Malaga Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed just before Easter and were an extended family group. The hotel and grounds are first class , with a large and well organised pool area. The rooms are more than adequate and were spotlessly cleaned each day . Our daughter and family had an apartment and as they have three children , including a young baby , they were concerned about the space. They found the apartment to be perfect - especially as it had its own kitchen area with microwave and hob . The staff were incredibly helpful and always cheerful and friendly. Monica in the dining room adopted us and was lovely........as were all the waiters and waitresses.The entertainment team earned their money ten times over - working really hard and cheerfully with both children and adults throughout the day ....and often night as well . A few minor niggles .....at peak times the reception was very busy and you had to wait rather too long ( I know - go out of peak times !!....but you can't always choose when you need to go to reception ) The food was on the whole very good but it did get a bit repetitive - a common complaint in buffets. Finally if you are keen on a beach holiday I would look elsewhere - the beach is not good and seemed to be composed of stones and dirt rather than golden sand .

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and had very limited view - pay more ( I think that was an option ) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    225
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
258
184
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here when our daughter was just 11 months old, to catch some sun when at home it kept raining and raining.

The hotel was good, it had a very relaxed atmosphere, our appartment with small kitchen was good and clean, exactly what we needed at that moment in time.

The general public is at least 60+ on average, so for our daughter this meant a couple of hundred temporary grandparents. And for us some welcome rest, knowing that all those people were looking out for her.

The food is good, especially the breakfast. Nor much happening in the village, the promenade has seen better days but is ok for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and it was perfect. Here a short summary:

ROOM: We booked a two-bedroom-apartment in the back part of the hotel. We only had partial sea view but as we didn't plan to spend our days inside the apartment, that was okay. All the rooms of the apartment were very quiet, no noise whatsoever, the staff even stops the water fountain at 8pm (our child was very disappointed about that, though!). The kitchen was well-equipped and clean. The bathroom was clean, the bathtub was quite old and had been fixed many times and in general the bathroom was a way too small for three persons. We needed to take turns and that was not ideal. The living area was pleasant, but the sofa had a yellowish colour and thanks to that we saw all the stains that the other guests left behind, that was not very nice. The management shoud exchange these sofas on a more regular basis (@Management: room #1405).

STAFF: Very, very friendly. I tried to use my Spanish skills and they were very patient and helpful. The staff at breakfast/dinner were amazing, so kind, helpful and friendly. They have the toughest jobs and work so hard and still they manage to smile. Keep that up, please!

HOTEL: The pool area is very pleasant and during our stay (2nd week of April) we never had difficulties to get three loungers. I don't know, what's the situation in summer. The pool was not heated but warm enough for a swim. Due to the freshness the pool was always empty, also here I don't know, what it would be like in summer. There is free WIFI in the hotel lobby. The children activities are great, our child had lots of fun and the staff is so motivated.

BEACH: The beach is sandy with few pebbles at the seashore. There is lots of space and the beach is very long, one could go on long walks if one wanted to. The loungers at the beach cost 5 Euro, laying on the beach towel is free of charge.

LOCATION: It's very touristy, many apartment blocks to the left and to the right of the hotel. Torrox-Costa is nice enough for a stroll, but there is not much there. If you want to see something more special or Spanish, rent a car and drive to Málaga, Granada or Córdoba.

CONCLUSION: A great family holiday! We can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from the malaga playa and has been a fantastic family break away we were there for Easter holidays for a week. The hotel is stunning outside, truly is. Like your in paradise with the grounds and surroundings. Very well kept gardens and pool area ect. The inside pool is a massive bonus too as nice and warm on cooler days. The entertainment team are magnificent namely DIOGO and LAURA who stand out the most.. But sadly they all move around to other hotels each week or so within the hotel chain which is a shame as if I were manager here at this hotel would definitely keep these two entertainers at my hotel! They were so good at getting al the people involved in activities so outgoing and so lovely always smiling. Thank you so much DIOGO and LAURA for making our holiday both day and night so special. The hotel is set on a lovely promenade it's lovely and quite with quaint bars and eating places. The staff from the gardeners to the pool attendants and reception are lovely. All the staff team are very friendly including the lovely smiling house keepers each day who clean the rooms. Would definitely return to this hotel and can highly recommend it to all wishing to go to Torrox. Only negatives and very slight is paying 17 euro for the safe which is not partly returned at all at the end of the week. And the corridors leading into the rooms need bit of updating looking a bit tired. But theses are the only niggles we have which would not stop me returning year after year Thanks very much Malaga Playa for a brilliant week !

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room away from outside tables and bar areas where people sit as sleep is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here 30th march for six nights. Had a great time, lovely hotel clean tidy. Staff very helpful and friendly. We had a studio room with a sea view, lovely clean kitchen with everything in it. Mostly all Germans, French and Spanish staying there, and elderly. Very quiet area not a lot to do, wouldn't realie suit if you liked to go out at night. Nice walk along the seafront, to few shops and restaurants. The food was lovely, you have chips for breakfast if you realie wanted to! Desserts lovely the chocolate fountain was georgous! Would def go back. Drinks were good measures, strong the beer was lovely.

Room Tip: Would recommend a studio, it was cheaper than a double, and you had the kitchen in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel; it is wonderful to hear that you “had a great time”, this is always our goal.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their genuine kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning is an absolute must for IBEROSTAR and we thank you for your highlight on the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is the base for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very pleased with our stay here. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was excellent and good view. Breakfast was excellent as well with such a wide choice/ variety. Location great as just a walk passed the pool onto sea front. Very near bars and restaurants and a nice stroll along the front.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review following your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel; Reviews like yours, outlining your satisfaction with our staff, amenities and ambience, are truly inspiring to our dedicated team.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

At first sight hotel looked impressive, but then we can noticed, that it needs renovation. Rooms are rather small (on the other side - apartments very good with two rooms, kitchen and bathroom), but clean and most of them have side-sea view.
What was very annoying that staff (at the reception, restaurant, even maids) in the hotel speaks mostly German, I'm from Poland so I know this language from school, but prefer to communicate in English or even simply Spanish. Hotel staff even do not ask you which language you prefer, but by default starts to speak in German.
Breakfast and suppers were good, with wide selection of meals and good quality, although one juice-dispenser is far too less for such a big hotel - there were big queues at breakfast time.
Indoor pool is quite small, lack of jacuzzi. Outdoor pool quite big, but cold at this time (we've been aware about this).
Kids-club was not running, so it's not good time for families with children. Moreover the guests were mostly elder German pairs, who casted evil glances at kids, so we didn't feel comfortable at all with two active children. But of course it's not a hotel fault, however be aware that it is not a hotel where you meet other families with children and the children can feel quite free.
I should also mention about beach near the hotel (20-30m) that was really poor. There were full of small stones even in the water.
To sum up - a good hotel but rather for singles or pairs without children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We sincerely regret reading that apparently you were not properly informed about our Mini Club and would like to take the opportunity to point out that, as duly reported on our website, it is operative from May to October and during Easter holidays; of course depending on the season our clientele varies quite a lot, during the peak season we receive many young families with children and out of school holidays mostly couples and golfers; for future occasions we encourage you to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to choose the destination, hotel type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

Moreover we took good note of your comment on the languages used at our hotel and would like to apologize if our staff addressed to you in German, we passed on your comment to our different heads of department so as to revise and improve on this aspect although as you well say, our clientele in this period of the year is mainly composed of German guests.

On the other hand, we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of your accommodation because this is an aspect of primary importance for IBEROSTAR and we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a fundamental condition for our guests to feel comfortable among us.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics; hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive Arabic architectural style, the 4-star IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa Hotel is an attractive choice for couples or families wanting to visit Torrox-Costa, Malaga. Sitting directly on the beach, our all-inclusive hotel offers 319 guestrooms and 94 comfortable 1 or 2 bedroom apartments, enveloped by nearly 12,000 sq. Ft. Of lush gardens and three pools. Whether your goal is having fun as a family in Malaga or a romantic couple's escape in the best part of Andalusia, the IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa is the perfect getaway spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Malaga Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.