We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Malaga Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Malaga Playa to your Saves list
Iberostar Malaga Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is great hotel if you are German. We were there on October 2013 for a week break and we could not hear any English speaking people in the hotel, mostly all of them were Germans and older people in groups, we actually felt kind of out of that croud. Food was good, but could have been more varied. The hotel has great beach location. Room was good size with TV with lots of channels, but were kind of disappointed when arriving in room we found peace of finger nail on the bathroom sink top and dust around the place which means that cleaning staff are very careless. But overall staff were very friendly except couple barmen and one lady at the reception

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel for your holidays as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions so that we can be informed of the improvements we may make to offer splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

We lament reading that you found imperfections in your room; for IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case you find any shortage being to us of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area and we will be enchanted to adjust any situation which is not in accordance with our established standards.

On the other hand, we highly appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We are also grateful for your comments on our gastronomy offer as in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we would like to suggest you to contact our call center for any upcoming holiday planning with IBEROSTAR, so as to offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to choose the destination, hotel type and services that best fit all your holiday needs and wishes.

Once again, thank you for your praising comments, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    225
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
258
184
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel. The hotel is beautifully laid out with attractive gardens around the pool. We paid extra for a sea view room which was worth it. The hotel overlooks the promenade of Torrox Costa, which is flat for walking. The hotel food was extremely good, buffet style but plenty of choice. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good pool area which is suitable for families or couples, plenty of sun loungers. Does have a private beach area, but we didn't use it. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best, either side sea view or main, they overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel, we are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

Moreover, the passion for gastronomy is one of the prime pillars of our company and we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurants where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to taste the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we want to offer spotless and comfortable accommodations to our guests and ensure an excellent and relaxing rest during their holiday in our hotel.

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your praising comments, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you another good holiday experience among us.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just had a very good family holiday with some of us in rooms and some in an apartment, which was not much more than a room and was excellent value. It was useful with tiny children to be able to collect a meal to take up to the apartment. All the staff were helpful and efficient , and facilities good. Yes you had to pay for a beach lounger and umbrella but beach towels were free with a deposit. It was a bit annoying that wifi was not free unless you had mobile roaming, and was expensive to buy, but there are cheap Internet cafés just up the road. The quality of the food was good, but the size of the hotel means a hectic dining room and you usually have to queue to be seated. For families with all the generations it proved to be an excellent choice. Couples on their own May prefer something smaller and more intimate.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room directly over where people drink after dinner. Better to have a higher one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have visited the hotel this year in august.
However, upon arrival, although we have pointed out, that we are travelling with a kid, who is 5 years old, we had to wait 6 hours for our room to be ready to accommodate.
Last year, the bedding laundry has been changed every 2 days. This year we have stayed 8 nights, but the staff just changed the towels...
The beach, which is next to the hotel, is not public anymore, and we were embarassed, that for 1 hour, which we spent there, we had to pay 5 EURO for 1 person for a bed! The man there was very insultive, rude, unpolite, although we have been trying to explain, that 15 EURO for the sun bed for one hour, is more than at Miami beach...
Animation staff is the same like last year - working hard from the morning till late night.
Staff is friendly, but sometimes you get the feeling like bothering them, as they are really overloaded...
Cuisine was fine, little bit monotone, but fine.
Everything was fine, except the laundry... 8 nights with no change of the bedding sheets at this hotel is very very poor...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was most impressed with the service received at the hotel, also how the staff worked together as a team to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.
Beautiful hotel that was clean and very comfortable. Food was excellent, plenty to choose from and well presented. The entertainment was very professional and it was obvious that a lot of hard work had been put into producing first class entertainment.
I had a great time and do hope that I have the opportunity to have another holiday in this fine, well managed hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Malaga Playa Iberostar for 3 nights. Our room was smart, cool and the housekeeping staff kept the room clean and left chocolates for us. All the staff were all very friendly and made us very welcome. The starfriends staff were exceptional. Always putting on activities, always smiling and this made us feel rested on our short stay. Our 3yr old daughter adored the miniclub and the evening entertainment for kids. The pool was kept clean and there was plenty of poolside space for everyone. Food was varied and consistently of a high standard. We certainly felt sad to leave and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having read previous reviews and needing a relaxing break we were looking forward to our weeks holiday. Having only been all inclusive once before we were surprised to find not everything was included. We paid 2 euro 70 for an ice cream at the pool but could have gone across the road to the shop and bought a box for the same. Paid extra for the safe too, the hotel states they don't take responsibility for item that aren't in the safe!
We didn't like the queuing and shuffling at breakfast, lunch or dinner along with everyone else. The dining room was full most of the time, children crying or running about. The tables are crammed together. More school meals than hotel dining. It was more rushed than relaxed. Some food was nice but mostly mass produced for general acceptance. Not many Spanish choices, the fresh fish was was always the best option.
Being on the beach was another selling point, its volcanic sand and the beds aren't run by the hotel. Another expense.
It was clean, staff were helpful and it was sunny.
The 30 min free WiFi access is a bit last decade........
Don't think we would be coming back, would make us think again about paying the extra money for all inclusive. There are plenty of eating places beach side within walking distance, non of which were expensive. Should have gone for B&B instead.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the apartment s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Jillian,

Although we lament reading that your experience at our IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa didn’t meet your expectations, we thank you for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay, so we can take your comments into consideration to improve our services and enhance our guests’ experience among us.

We are sorry to read your disappointment on our All Inclusive package; however as you can check on our website, the safe in your room is reported to be not included in the price of your stay and although many drinks and ice creams are included some items may be on extra charge.

Further, we lament hearing that you had to queue for the show cooking stand at our main restaurant, however as the food is prepared on the spot, depending on our guests desired doneness , it may take a few minutes before you get served.

The beach, like every beach on the Spanish coastline is public; this is why unfortunately we cannot guarantee a private area for our guests with free sunbeds.

On the other hand we thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our installations and the friendliness of our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel’s main strength.

Once again, thank you Jillian for your feedback, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the opportunity of serving you again in our hotels worldwide, ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive Arabic architectural style, the 4-star IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa Hotel is an attractive choice for couples or families wanting to visit Torrox-Costa, Malaga. Sitting directly on the beach, our all-inclusive hotel offers 319 guestrooms and 94 comfortable 1 or 2 bedroom apartments, enveloped by nearly 12,000 sq. Ft. Of lush gardens and three pools. Whether your goal is having fun as a family in Malaga or a romantic couple's escape in the best part of Andalusia, the IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa is the perfect getaway spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Malaga Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.