We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good amenities, great staff, some issues with wi-fi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Malaga Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Malaga Playa to your Saves list
Iberostar Malaga Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good amenities, great staff, some issues with wi-fi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a really well maintained property, thoughtfully laid out, with nice outdoor pool area. staff are great, particularly with kids. generously sized and well-appointed rooms. unfortunately the wi-fi is provided by a third party and so costs extra, also cumbersome to set up and a nightmare to re-establish if something goes wrong. location is good per se, directly on the beach, but the hotel is a bit of a lone gem amidst a development stopped in its tracks by the recent crisis (or so it seems, although to be fair we only stayed a few days). We had a very pleasant stay, warm recommendation with above caveats.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    225
    71
    20
    8
See reviews for
258
184
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week, ending on April 7th 2013.
I am 32, my wife is 29 and we are expecting a baby in 3 months (just to set the scene of what we would want out of a trip).

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, the Spanish have a warmth to them that we Brits are fairly bereft of and this makes it pleasant a visit.

The hotel itself is tired, The group went in to administration a while ago and the receivers have held on to the few which are salvageable, this one included.

Decor, curtains etc are old but clean ;
No option to watch anything on demand ;
No Sky TV in the rooms ;

The pillows are appallingly bad and seriously hampered our ability to sleep properly, but the beds were firm and fine. I'd recommend taking pillows with you on your visit here.

The food for guests who take that option, is absolutely brilliant.
The restaurant has a super ambiance and again, the staff are the asset here.

Torrox as a location is quiet, which suited us perfectly. Any teenaged visitor would be terminally frustrated at the lack of action / other teenagers to make "friends" with.
The boardwalk immediately outside the hotel is very tired and has 30 restaurants selling the same pizzas, pastas and sausage sandwiches which was disappointing.
The message is simple - take the option for hotel catering !

Nerja is a short drive away and a very pretty and quaint Spanish town with varied shops and quality restaurants, again with friendly locals and good choice of everything.

If it hadn't rained so heavily or been so windy, I may have rated this as "excellent". We all know Spain needs the sun to make it magic, and had it been sunny we wouldn't have needed to bemoan the lack of in room entertainment !
It was still a significant step up from the freezing weather in the UK and I have returned very relaxed from a cheaply priced trip.

To summarise : eat in the restaurant, don't take teenagers, bring a couple of decent books if the weather turns.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed recently with friends. The rooms were clean and well maintained we were in the block to the front of the hotel. We travelled as a group of 6 and we were by far the youngest residents by a few years (20 to be precise) but that didn't bother us as we were looking for a relaxing break. The food was excellent, mostly traditional Spanish fair with good quality ingredients. Staff mostly accommodating although we found the bar staff a little curt in the evening. The negative comment would be the food was luke warm and could have been much hotter. The bar served branded spirits if you asked and the beer was San Miguel. The pool area was so beautiful although the weather was not on our side excluding a few hours where we took advantage of the sun. The location was right on the beach and ideal for a nice stroll along the promenade. There was a nice coffee bar we popped into across from Aldi at the bus stop to Nerja. The entertainment was geared for the majority age group so a bit of pensioners tea dance, although the Saturday night was the Jersey Boys and they were excellent!! We even danced during our stay to e Spanish slosh... We would return to this hotel and I bet it's very popular in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights on a long weekend with 5 friends for our 40th birthdays. From start to finish it was faultless. We stayed in the apartments, although we were all inclusive and found them very spacious with lovely big balconies. Food was fantastic with great choices for all ages. Entertainment, although we were low season was very entertaining and seemed to be enjoyed by all the hotel guests. This is a hotel i cant wait to return to with my family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed for a week of all incl at this hotel in a suite, as we r travelling always w/ our son and have really enjoyed the sunny terrace the suite provided, baby corner, and the friendly staff... We have already arranged the sray for this year...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Lucia,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for your stay in our Iberostar Malaga Playa and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Malaga Playa and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “We have already arranged the stay for this year “show us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights, 09-19/11/12. Overall, an enjoyable stay, but some minor changes would have made it an excellent one. The food quality, particularly in the evening, was disappointing. Starters and desserts were varied and tasty, however, the cooked main dishes were bland and tasteless, with the pizza / pasta section very disappointing. The cooked dishes at breakfast were better, with the omlette section a welcome addition. However, with the hotel busy, the queues at the one hot drinks machine were long, and frustrating. The grounds of the hotel are attractive, and well kept, with a lovely pool area. We booked a massage at the spa, which my wife enjoyed. The other disappointment was on checking out, we were not asked if we had a nice stay, and felt as though, for a 4 star hotel, a personal touch, and some interest in our holiday is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just back from our 1-week stay in this Iberostar in Torrox (by car about 45 minutes away from Malaga AIrport). The hotel building is very nice in Moorish style, colourful and with a very nice garden/swimmingpool area. We had some heavy showers during our stay and then you can see there are waterleaks at several places, mostly at bottom of windows and doors. But it needs to be said that the showers were exceptionally heavy and continued during some 48hrs.
We originally booked a room type "priority location". The room we were appointed did have frontal seaview, oriented to the south and was on the 4th floor, but our room was situated in the "corner" of the u-shaped hotel and as such we had limited sunshine on the terrace.
There were also some sweets on the room and 2 bottles of water as welcome.
We asked to change rooms because we hoped to get a room with large terras, sunbeds on the terrace and some privacy. The very friendly reception staff helped us out very professionally and finally they could offer us a senior suite on the top floor (7th). We were asked to pay a supplement of (7 x 16euro = ) 112 euros, but before we accepted we were allowed to go and have a look at the room. We immediately agreed to take the room and pay the supplement.
It was great with 3 terraces : 2 smaller ones with front seaview but still large enough to have a table and 2 chairs on them. The 3rd terrace had 3 sunbeds, and parasol, full privacy and magnificent views. The only small minor is that the elevators only go up to the 6th floor and the last part must be done by stairs. Bu no problem for luggage etc... because they take care of the luggage. One detail : when we changed rooms the hotel staff forgot to move the sweets and drinks to our new room. Neglectible but on the other hand this is how you recognize the average from the exceptional.
Be aware there are only 2 such rooms in the entire hotel. We were in room 702. Room 701 is the mirror image of our room and as such is probably a perfect equivalent.

We were in all-inclusive. Food was good but not super. Wide selection but limited variation during the week. "Simple" but decent meals. Limited warm vegetables. During the week-end a large number of Spanish guests arrived and then the choice is somewhat more select with e.g. crayfish, etc... but the disadvantage is that the Spanish guests are not very disciplined when serving from the buffet and they are extremely noisy.
Drinks in the all inclusive are good : their house wines (tinto, blanco, rosado) are all OK. For other than house wines you need to pay a supplement. The other drinks show a wide selection of which a lot without supplement, but if you go more exclusive you still need to pay a - logical - supplement.
Contrary to some reactions on the internet, we feel the all-inclusive is a good deal. They do not charge a lot compared to other hotels in South Spain for their all-inclusive. And because their prices (without all-inclusive) are pretty high (e.g. large glass of house wine = 3.45 euro) you can quickly recover the cost with an all-inclusive.
All by all we find this a good average 4-star hotel with above average building and garden, but slightly below average on food - not because of quality but because of limited variation and simplicity.
If you spent a lot of time on your terrace, go for the supplement, book a senior suite and ask them to get you room 701 or 702. They cannot guarantee, but they promise they will do what they can to get you this room.

Room Tip: Book a room with (side-)seaview. The other rooms are at the side of the street and have some disadva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Frans,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we take no pleasure in presenting mediocre buffets. Our culinary team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes at your next visit.

We take your comments very seriously to ensure that our standards are maintained and developed continuously. Therefore, we thank you for mentioning that on this occasion we forgot to move your welcome attentions into the upgraded room. Despite our efforts, sometimes a detail escapes our attention and a reminder like yours will certainly help to avoid that such happens again in the future. However, we are grateful that you highlighted how well worth you find the upgrade and how much you enjoyed the comfort of the senior suite.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read that you did enjoy the garden and pool area as also the exceptional beauty of our colorful Moorish building. In Iberostar we attempt to offer attractive accommodation and it is enjoyable to know that our guests enjoy this.

Further, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were friendly and helped us out very professionally. It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms.

To continue, we thank you for underlining your satisfaction with our all-inclusive service. It is our intention to largely fulfill your needs and reading that you would recommend it, is the best reward.

In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Malaga Playa.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive Arabic architectural style, the 4-star IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa Hotel is an attractive choice for couples or families wanting to visit Torrox-Costa, Malaga. Sitting directly on the beach, our all-inclusive hotel offers 319 guestrooms and 94 comfortable 1 or 2 bedroom apartments, enveloped by nearly 12,000 sq. Ft. Of lush gardens and three pools. Whether your goal is having fun as a family in Malaga or a romantic couple's escape in the best part of Andalusia, the IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa is the perfect getaway spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Malaga Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.