We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After your first stay you will want to return again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Malaga Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Malaga Playa to your Saves list
Iberostar Malaga Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“After your first stay you will want to return again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel six times in the last five years and it feels like returning home.

Torrox Costa is a safe small town with a two mile level prom and sandy Beech.

Plenty of local transport.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    225
    70
    20
    8
See reviews for
258
184
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

riu class hotels are always good, and that one was the same, indoor swimming pool available - only water could be warmer;), hotel is very near to the seaside, there is private gate for gasts, everything clean and nice for eyes, sometimes we received free drinks at the outdoor swimming pool (we didn't swimm of course, but sun bathing was delighted), food great and various, sometimes they organized theme dinner buffet - we enjoyed - specially Italian day!!! Staff polite and friendly. Good organized dinner schedule -from the first day we got the table and it was prescribed to us for the rest of the days. Result - there was no fighting for the table.
Defenately we can reccomend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

gem of an hotel away from the high rise and britishness of the costa del sol favoured resorts.the hotel is truly a 4 * hotel in the resort of torrox costa. half hour from malaga airport by local bus service or 30 e taxi. . enough in resort to keep most folk happy but not a place for party animals. food and service second to none and a really pleasant pool /garden/terrace area. entertainment bit bland at night[usual hotel fayre] but a few good bars around hotel[ brit,spanish,dutch] lovely town of nerja 10 mins. along coast road[2 euro on bus] half hourly

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were on a relatively last minute package holiday. As we know Nerja very well (just along the coast) we thought we would enjoy a break here.

The hotel was very attractive. In my opinion Torrox is not. The beach was muddy with trucks rolling up and down the front all day, I think they were improving the area by the lighthouse. One thing the resort has going for it is the long promenade, yet this was covered with dog mess constantly, and did not make for a relaxing walk as you kept having to mind your step.

We found one restaurant we liked which was called La Farola (turn right out of the back gates of the hotel and keep walking to the end of the prom). The food was wonderful, appeared to be home made and traditional. What stood out was that the waiter returned to the table to ask us if we were enjoying the meal. This did not happen in any other restaurant. Many places had zero atmosphere for me I'm afraid.

We took the bus (just outside hotel and walk up to the right) which was one euro each way to both Torrox Pueblo (the old village) and on different days Nerja and the Nerja caves. We thought we might enjoy a meal in the old town of Torrox and so headed for the main square. We were disappointed and were served some artificial processed food. We soon started heading for Nerja for meals. We really enjoyed a number of meals at Montemar on Burriana beach and thoroughly enjoyed the fresh BBQ fish and also the delicious paella.

The hotel had a number of fountains which would have looked great had they been switched on. Reception staff a bit hit and miss. Don't bother to queue at reception. Hurl yourself right up to the front of throng like the other guests did while I was there or you will never find your way to the front.

You have to pay to rent a safe. You have to leave a deposit of 10 euros to use a pool towel. A toaster and kettle in your apartment also requires payment of a deposit. There is a deposit and a charge to use the paddle tennis courts. It didn't feel very resort like when you had to keep getting your wallet from the room to leave deposits all over the place. While sitting around the pool my daughter wanted to play ping pong and I just couldn't be bothered with any more deposits, it was becoming annoying. The receptionist told me that all Riu hotels ask for a deposit for a pool towel as people like to take them. I think most hotels usually swallow this.

We returned one night in a cab from Nerja and there were no lights at all at the front of the hotel, obviously saving on the electric. Not very welcoming. I stand to be corrected, but I think the hotel is located opposite a strip club. This didn't cause any bother, but our room was not located in this direction so not sure if there could be noise at night.

On the plus side, the bar staff at the hotel were fabulous. It was almost as though they were working under a different management. We really enjoyed their service. We quite liked the evening entertainment as well (albeit a bit cheesy). The entertainment chap seemed really good, he was also good with the kids. The apartment and interior of the hotel was spotless. It did take some time for cups etc... to be cleared away from around the pool area though.

The supermarket across the road from the hotel is brilliant. Very friendly, good selection of fresh produce. We ate breakfast on our terrace every morning stocked from the supermarket.

I can see Torrox is a very popular place, but it just wasn't my cup of tea. Nonetheless, Nerja was a delight and with a combination of buses and taxis we made the most of our break and had a good time. A taxi back from Nerja is approx 12 euros. Nerja was absolutely packed, and it was only April, so I'm guessing it's heaving in high season these days.

One more thing, I didn't think Malaga airport was a patch on Gatwick airport. I like to pitch up and have a sit down meal. The only place in our terminal was a sports bar. Nothing similar to Cafe Rouge or Garfunkels here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Hotel was lovely, clean, and well maintained. Food was somewhat disappointing! Hotels grounds and pool were beautiful with gate straight onto promenade and beach. Unfortunately resting on the beach was not an option as large noisy dumper trucks ran the lengh of the beach continuously from morning to evening churning up sand dust! The resort was fairly quiet otherwise. There were plenty of resturants for eating and drinking along the promende, Caribe was lovely for lunch and not far from hotel. Just at end of our weeks holiday the hotel got busier and unfortunately some inconsiderate people had to have 2 lounge mats each! Resulting in a shortage for people coming out to pool later. This should have been attended to by hotel management to avoid alot of unhappy customers!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Standards of food, service and general ambience have really gone down since last year. Last year I wishes I could take this hotel anywhere in the world and stay in it. This year I will leave it where it is and not return. We were not alone in this observation.!!!!!!Weather fantastic, resort and meals out fantastic. Shame about thenHotel. Some staff bad mannered and could not be bothered. nIf this is a sign of the future as it is changing to an Iberostar hotel I would avoid those too in the future. Such a shame as it really was our ideal hotel at a reasonable price with high standards throughout. The grounds and pool and general cleanliness of the hotel are still of a high standard.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Everything was so good, it was difficult to believe that we were getting it all for the price paid.
A tip is to ensure you get a sea-view room, the higher the better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793 Torrox, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive Arabic architectural style, the 4-star IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa Hotel is an attractive choice for couples or families wanting to visit Torrox-Costa, Malaga. Sitting directly on the beach, our all-inclusive hotel offers 319 guestrooms and 94 comfortable 1 or 2 bedroom apartments, enveloped by nearly 12,000 sq. Ft. Of lush gardens and three pools. Whether your goal is having fun as a family in Malaga or a romantic couple's escape in the best part of Andalusia, the IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa is the perfect getaway spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Malaga Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.