We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Figon

El Figon
Calle Almedina, 5, 29770 Torrox, Spain
+34 952538108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have to start by saying that the setting is an experience in itself! This courtyard restaurant has an almost 'magical' atmosphere, with subtle lighting and tasteful furnishings. The food was fantastic, and was served in very generous portions with a good selection of fresh vegetables. The staff/ owners were very friendly and gave an excellent service. This restaurant is definately not one to miss if you are staying in the area. We will certainly be back on our next visit to Torrox.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wow, the food was wonderful and the setting in the courtyard made for a very memorable dining experience. I would recomend this restaurant to anyone and everyone. If you do decide to give it a try (it is only open from Easter through to the end of October) you would be better making a reservation rather than just "dropping in".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We went in at around 7.30 with our 3 little girls, they had a table for us, thank goodness... The setting is soooo gorgeous and pretty, we loved every minute of it, the food was fabulous and served piping hot, we left full, happy and left with memories we'll take with us forever... Cannot thank you enough xx

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best restaurant in Torrox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

El Figon is easily passable, you probably wouldn't notice it if you hadn't seen it on TripAdvisor and were looking for it.
The entrance is a simple gate, leading down a few stairs to a wonderful courtyard filled with a few tables, lots of plants and t lights in the trees. There are tables inside in the unlikely event it is wet.
The food was amazing and the service very friendly. As the evening draws on and it gets darker, the plants are lit by subtle lighting and the t lights lit in the trees.
This place is a real gem and worth spending a few minutes to wander round and find. It is on the road below the car park, below the main square. Booking is probably advisable, you can book by phone or pop in one evening to book a table. El Figon opened at 7pm when we were there and we went in to book for the next evening.
Grateful for the TripAdvisor reviews, without which we probably wouldn't have found El Figon. Would recommend for a romantic meal, for families and especially if you are looking for somewhere to propose! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
470 reviews 470 reviews
449 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Delightful courtyard - Excellent food - Extremely good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a surprise! Behind an unassuming doorway in the centre of Torrox pueblo lies a delightful restaurant with a courtyard with high walls, lush foliage and a trickling water feature. With dusk falling the combination of lighting by lanterns, table candles and the Spanish background music made for an enchanting atmosphere.

It was a midweek evening in August and the restaurant terrace was almost full, so it was wise to have made a reservation. There are additional tables indoors, but on a warm summer evening everyone wants to dine al fresco. The tables in the courtyard terrace are mosaic tiled and very beautiful and the cushioned chairs are especially comfortable.

After being greeted and seated drinks orders were taken and we were given menus. The menu is in multiple languages and is innovative with more unusual variations of dishes. They do state that everything is cooked fresh to order and that you might need to wait a while for the food - but what a delightful place to wait. In reality the wait for food was quite reasonable.

We chose a plate of Manchego cured cheese and Serrano ham to share for starters €10. This was beautifully presented with walnuts and black olives.

For main courses one chose chicken breast with pink peppercorn sauce €11 and escalopines of sirloin steak with wine and mushroom sauce €15. The quality of the chicken and beef was excellent. The accompanying vegetables were freshly prepared (not tinned or frozen as so is often the case in Spain). The portions were very generously sized (there were two half chicken breasts and two sirloin steaks) - so generous that we did not have space for dessert and we finished with coffees. Both main course dishes were very delicious.

The service was faultless. Even though it was the height of the tourist season and the restaurant was almost full, the waiter provided impeccable service, unflustered and smiling throughout.

The total bill was €66 - including two gins and tonics, a nice bottle of Ribera del Duero red wine €20 (less expensive wines available and by the glass) and coffees. Extremely good value as we have paid the same or more for less special meals in other restaurants in the area!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Figon also viewed

 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Figon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Figon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.