We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freya House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Freya House to your Saves list
Freya House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Fagetului 31, Busteni 105500, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Busteni B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was great and the fact that we were able to pay $10 more to get the mountain view room which offered breathtaking views was very wonderful. The restaurant offerings and outdoors sitting areas make it so that you can get a view of the Bucegi mountains without leaving the property. It is in the proximity of the cable car to the top of the mountains, though it is approx a mile walk from the hotel entrance to the cable car station, which includes an uphill trek.

Room Tip: Go for the mountain view room! The extra expense of ~$10 is totally worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Casa freya

We booked multiple rooms for a wedding at nearby Cantacuzino Castle. Unfortunately, the staff at the front desk lacked rudimentary customer service skills. Wedding plans change, particularly last minute and the front desk should be able to understand and accommodate this. Also, At no point should the desk raise their voice to a customer. Especially when the customer has an invoice indicating pre-payment. We recommended it to guests based in location and rooms, but regret doing so. One front desk worker either needs to be re-trained or fired. I highly discourage any non-romanian speaking guest to STAY AWAY until they clean up their act and get the right people working there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the best choice for a couple of nights' stay on Valea Prahovei, in the Busteni area. Great view, cozy design with terraces, kids' corner, lounge. A good feeling overall, highly recommended for both families and young couples.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUCURESTI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is situated in the mountain resort Busteni. Is not close to the center of the resort but better close to the forest and with a great view on the mountains. the breakfast is very good, rooms are big and clean. the people always looking to help you with anything u may need. is very good for relaxation and also for teambuildings or conferences up to 30-40 people. they have jacuzzi and kind of spa area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I think this hotel is a good choice if you go in Valea Prahovei region. Many hotels on Valea Prahovei have higher prices and actually offer less value. I stayed at the hotel for two nights this winter, the room was very nice, clean, warm with great view of the mountains. The staff was very helpfull.
The only minus point would be that the hotel doesnt have an elevator. We stayed at the fourth floor and the receptionist was nice enough to carry our suitcases to the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

the hotel is located in a very quite area, with the forest just behind the hotel. from the room you can see the Muntii Bucegi and Caraiman Cross.
The personel was very friendly and helpfull. We alo used the spa located downstairs where we found a very discrete and warm atmosphere.
The restaurant is small with pretty good price and good food

Room Tip: always ask for the double bed rooms, they have better view comparing to the twin bed ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

As an architect I must say I chose this location just to see if such building concepts can actually be built in Romania, and not just put on paper and locked up in a drawer. I went there merely because I had bought a bargain 50% accomodation discount for a whole year (that I had found on a well known Romanian discount site).
I was pleased to discover that the advert was true to itself: the building looked actually even better than in the pictures; no detail flaws whatsoever (yes, it is uncommon, sadly); the rooms were furnished with best taste and all in all - I could see for myself that the owner spared no effort and no money to make a dream come true, even if it's going to take a lot of time until he can see some profit out of this investment, because yes, it might be a little too expensive for this country, and the neighbouring motels, hotels and utterly cheap challets are a strong competition.
The mediterranean-themed menu won't do very well, either; I would have opted for traditional dishes instead. I didnt visit the sauna or the jacuzzi, because I wanted to visit the surroundings, which, mind me, are gorgeous!
The view from the room was astonishing; you can see the mountains and the sun, shyly rising from amongst them.
The staff was friendly; I came up with a lot of questions about the building, the story behind it and they were all too happy to oblige. I will always offer my support to people who dare dream in this country, and hereby I try to help by simply writing a review.
Do go there and visit, you won't be sorry. Check out their site, www.casafreya.ro, there're always special offers and deals to be found.
Wish them all the best of luck, and to you, travellers, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freya House

Address: Fagetului 31, Busteni 105500, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Prahova County > Busteni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Busteni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Freya House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Freya House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freya House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.