We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware - not for every taste!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Mar Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Mar Palace to your Saves list
Monte Mar Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sitio do Montado, Ponta Delgada, Madeira 9240-104, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Be aware - not for every taste!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lot's of the worst all inclusive tourists there. Breakfast is poor, Food in general way below average. Service unfriendly and not helpful. The place itself is wonderfully located on a cliff and offers a gorgious view on the sea and sunset. However, you must know, that Ponta Delgada is a bit off and a car is very handy. It's quite near to Sao Vincente, Porto Moniz and Santana. We were forced to stay there, because our hotel chosen initially was overbooked. But once is more than enough. Never again! Btw. many reviewers praised the food there. I think they must have changed the chef or even the whole crew since then.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    85
    39
    22
    7
See reviews for
34
119
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was our first 'all inclusive' trip - worked out really well - plenty of food and drinks available - something to please everyone. Hotel very clean and staff all really helpful.
Quite an old clientele, but all very friendly. Free internet access available. Good entertainment. Great location overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Having never been to Madeira before I had mixed feelings about going. This hotel is on the North of the Island and it tends to be a lot more cloudy than the South. However, this was a big advantage because it was very warm, but comfortable and we came back with tans gained through the clouds.
This is not a resort hotel - It was in the middle of nowhere with virtually nothing around. It was possible to walk (steep uphill climb) to the village that had a couple of cafe/bars and very small shops but there are no newspapers etc locally.
There is a free bus twice a day to the nearest resort that has transport links. Funchal, the capital is about 50 mins drive away and you go through over 20 tunnels to get there. The road surfaces are surprisingly very good.
The hotel food was more than adequate and there was always a good selection. We were on the all inclusive package and the staff were very generous when serving alcohol and there were no restrictions to how many drinks you can get at once.
The pools were exceptionally clean, however, the sunbeds need replacing because they are well used and most have large craters which make you very uncomfortable.
The mini golf is great and we played several tournaments with other guests.
I don't know if we were just lucky but the clientèle in the hotel were all fabulous. There were many nationalities, the age group was predominantly 30+ and there was a party of very sprightly "saga holiday" people who were great characters and thought they had their own exclusive club travelling with saga. In fact, they paid £300 more than the rest of us for having an on-site holiday rep who was redundant most of the time.
This holiday was total relaxation in a very scenic location with very little to do.
When booking excursions, I would recommend getting together with other guests and organising local taxi's to take you to your destination. The hotel was very poor for organising trips, which were overpriced and the general feeling amongst the guests was that the hotel did not want to be bothered with trips and they may have been on commission from the car hire because they tried to get everyone hiring cars.
Despite this, we had a wonderful holiday and would undoubtedly return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed for four weeks, fab room on 4th floor with balcony looking onto mountains and see. So quiet - no traffic. We chose inclusive but had to cut down on food because the choice and quality too good! Early June plenty of clouds which suited us because of the walking. Sun very strong even through clouds so wear hats. Hotel entertainment each evening, Madeira'n special shorts ideal before bed. Staff very helpful but we had an excellant saga rep in Martin. Ideal holiday for fit walkers otherwise get burnt at the pool.

Room Tip: E-mail hotel several weeks before holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a week’s stay at the Monte Mar Palace Hotel. Around 90% of the guests were OAPs with the remainder German or French guests who seemed into hiking and outdoor pursuits. I’m 26 and we only saw one other young couple at the hotel. It didn’t bother us though and the evening entertainment (karaoke, “disco” night, traditional madeiran dancing) was as enjoyable for us as for the older guests.
The room we were given looked nice but was below the restaurant where we could hear the chairs scraping on the floor through the ceiling – it was very loud and particularly annoying in the morning when breakfast started at 7.30. We asked the receptionist if we could be moved and she seemed to know what we were going to complain about before we said it. She said the hotel was full but there was one room free – it had cracks running down 2 walls and the bathroom mirror was cracked, but we thought it was better than being woken at 7.30 every morning. All the rooms have an empty mini-bar which we used as a fridge for storing our drinks. The electricity in the rooms works by putting your key into a slot and it turns off when you take your key out so I don’t know if the fridge stayed on when we were out of the room or not, but the fridge always seemed fairly cold. The hotel had free wifi in the TV room but nowhere else in the hotel. The hotel advertised that it had a gym but it was very disappointing – 2 bikes that didn’t work properly, a tiny treadmill that was very difficult to run on, and a weights machine where the pulleys were rope rather than metal as you’d find in a normal gym so it didn’t work properly. We were on a bed and breakfast package so had free use of the table tennis and gym, but had to pay for the pool table (not sure of cost) and squash court (10 euros). We bought our own darts so could use the dart board for free. When we went to use the squash court, the receptionist didn’t know how to get the lights on and one of the racquets had clearly been hit hard against the wall and was dented with loose strings (i.e. unuseable). The receptionist couldn’t find another so we ended up asking for our money back and giving up. The outdoor pool looked nice but was too cold to go in throughout our stay.
The weather on the north side of the island where this hotel is was cloudy for the whole time we were there. We saw sun when we went up into the mountains and when we went to the other side of the island. It was very useful to have a car to explore the island; it would have been virtually impossible otherwise – we saw a number of bus stops but few buses. It was about half an hour from the hotel to Funchal by car. There are no beaches to speak of in Madeira (a few small ones with gray sand but mostly just large rocks by the sea) other than at Calheta where they have imported sand from Morocco and made a nice beach.
We mostly ate at in restaurants in Sao Vicente (a 10 minute drive from the hotel) where the fish and beef skewers (a local speciality) were excellent. The beef skewer was particularly good at O Virgilio restaurant on the seafront – we ate there 4 evenings during our stay because we were so impressed, and it was good value for money too. Breakfast in the hotel wasn’t bad – a large choice of bread, fruit, yoghurt, croissants and fry up (although there were only sausages one day and they were frankfurters, and the bacon was like cardboard). We felt the restaurant evening menu was over-priced if you were not all inclusive but we were happy with our meals (we only ate there once).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was our first visit to the island and we were favourably impressed by the verdant mountainous scenery. However you certainly need a car to get around, especially if you are outside Funchal, and although car hire is very reasonable, only take such a decision if you are a confident and competent driver. Apart from the new dual carriageway in the south, many roads traverse treacherous drops with single carrageway hairpin bends. Since there are so few roads on the island, these are used by buses, coaches and HGVs. Good luck!
The hotel is excellent value for money especially if you can get the special offer all inclusive rate. Although the hotel looks a little tired in places, the food is good and plentiful, rooms etc. immaculately clean with facilities as described. Most staff are friendly and helpful and we found any problems were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We were also pleasantly surprised with the evening entertainment which ranked well up there with our many previous holidays. Since you are miles away from any other entertainment we thought this was quite an important factor to mention.
Perhaps the most important thing to mention when visiting at this time of year is the differing weather patterns between the north and south of the island. I would never have thought that there could be such a descrepency on such a small island, but there certainly can be. All I can say is that on all seven days of the holiday the south had temps 10 to 15 degrees higher than the north which was covered in cloud with the south bathed in sunshine. Unbelievable!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angmering
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel is fairly isolated and has no other attractions nearby. If you want a peaceful holiday with walking, swimming and reading, this is a good choice as there is not much else to do. The food was very average but the hotel is nice and clean and service is good apart from the reception staff who would benefit from a customer relations course. We had a large crack running the length of our bedroom which is a little disconcerting as the hotel is perched on the cliff edge - reported to the reception but nothing was done during our stay and they obviously knew it was there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Mar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Mar Palace

Address: Sitio do Montado, Ponta Delgada, Madeira 9240-104, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Ponta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponta Delgada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Mar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Mar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mar Palace Hotel Ponta Delgada
Monte Mar Palace Ponta Delgada
Monte Mar Palace Madeira/Ponta Delgada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Mar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.