We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midi

Midi
Avenida Da Liberdade N02 | Cruz do Barro, Torres Vedras 2560-271, Portugal
261312482
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My family visited this restaurant recently. The weather at the time was not so great so we were all not in the greatest of moods. And yet, we had some fantastic service and the food was excellent too. One of our party was particularly demanding yet the staff could not do enough to help! Then to cap off a wonderful evening a Portuguese couple who owned a nearby winery sent over a bottle of their finest Doury red. A truely generous gesture to cap off a perfect evening. We were all so impressed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Busy and modern restaurant filled with locals that serves typical Portuguese food. Very nice wine-list, but the menu could have been smaller. Cannot recommend the clams because they were not fresh enough and contained a bit too much sand.... You need to be very hungry because the portions are quite impressive, but they will pack the leftovers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turcifal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A restaurant you should not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I live near and when we thing to eat out, is impossible that our first choise is not this restaurant. The choice from the menu is varied, and with dificult choice. The icon of the place is "Bacalhau com Broa" but the recomendations of every day is something everyone should reflect. All the dishes came with a very good presentation ( the eyes also eat), and the staff is courteous. To me eating the is an experience every one should try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are regulars at nearby CampoReal and heard good things about Midi - although we had been off in the past by the location (it's in a very modern building that is part of a car dealership). That was an error! The food was excellent, easily the best meal we've had locally. We both had fantastic fish dishes - the deserts were pretty special too. The service is friendly and first rate, good value and the restaurant was busy with locals so I suspect on weekends booking is advisable. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is well worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the most fantastic meal and welcome when we dined at this restaurant on the last day of our holiday. If you are travelling to Lisbon or going up the A8 to the Silver Coast, it is well worth going here. Sunday lunchtime was very full and we were glad that we had reserved.

We had the recommended Bacalhau com Broa, which was wonderful, the oven roasted lamb, which got oohs and aahs and the seafood curry. Each were superb. It is worth remembering though that you can buy what they call a 1/2 dose which is more than enough for 1 person, or a full portion, which is probably enough for 3 people.

The wine was very well chosen and well priced too. We had 2 small children with us (aged 5 and 1) and they couldn't have been made more welcome, the owner even producing lollies and Smarties for them at the end of their meal.

We were actually surprised what a lovely town Torres Vedras is, although the restaurant is a little bit away from the town centre, but very convenient for the A8.

We would strongly recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midi also viewed

Torres Vedras, Lisbon District
Torres Vedras, Lisbon District
 
Torres Vedras, Lisbon District
Torres Vedras, Lisbon District
 

Been to Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.