We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, nice and functional- good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residencial Colibri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residencial Colibri to your Saves list
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residencial Colibri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 10 de Maio 10, Costa da Caparica 2825-392, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, nice and functional- good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything a modest tourist need in a hotel. I stayed 6 nights and was very satisfied. from the decant breakfast to daily cleaning of the room. 500 miters from the Atlantic ocean. for away from lisbon (30 min by bus). Nice friendly service. Internet cost extra 3 Euro per day.

Room Tip: some of the rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed with friends for a Taekwondo compeition. Got a very good price as we booked 8 or 9 rooms, so it was very good value (36 Euro per twin room)
Reception was clean and spacious and there was no problem at all checking in. The rooms were small, as were the beds and bathroom. Everywhere was clean and the shower (there was also a bathtub) was hot with good pressure.
I was in room 104, which had a balcony overlooking the street, Friends were next door in 103, which has a wraparound balcony. Unfortunately their balcony flooded their room during the night. Staff arranged new rooms (although they offered one room with a double bed first) and as we were competing next day arranged for wet clothes to be dried, as there wasn't time to wash and dry them. Well done for sorting out the problem, unfortunate though it was that it occurred.
Breakfast was fine - the usual bread, rolls, ham, cheese, pastries and a few cereals. 'Orange juice' was a sort of artificial orange coloured confection. Wouldn't recommend it.
The beach is 5 minutes away, as are plenty of snack bars and restaurants.
Overall I'd say it was well worth the money. I suppose I did say in the title that the rooms were small but if you aren't spending too long in them and you get a balcony then that probably won't matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

yes this place is nice and does the job...will stay again....basic accommodation, but clean and very friendly, e enjoyed our short stay and was close to beach and amenities. nothing much to see in this area ...just beach, but nice place to stay...breakfast as expected in these parts...some things left unsaid.lol....but really get a roll outside...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Really close to the beach, bus stops for the journey to Lisbon etc (about an hr during day, in total, 35 mins at night). Clean, all the bits you need...but take some tea bags if you like a decent cuppa in the morning! Breakfast is pretty poor...but for the money, could be worse. No iron or tea making facilities in room, which seems normal in everyday hotels.
Staff were lovely. Would recommend this to anyone....but at the height of the season, would be really noisy (other residents!) as the walls are pretty thin. Found during the weekend, this to be the case.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Residencial Colibri to be close to Lisbon but still at the beach. We chose this hotel first based on price, we paid 40 Euros a night including breakfast. Breakfast was basic but did the job. Friendly reception. Room size adequate, no complaints really, would stay there again. Location was easy to find. Parking in front of the hotel or on local streets, easy to find a park and safe. Walk to centre of Costa da Caparica and all the restaurants and beach etc...Very quiet at this time of the year (October). Nice to walk along the beach esplanade and stop at one of the cafes/bars for drinks or food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I wanted to visit Lisbon but also have time at the beach. So i decided to go to Costa da Caparica, which features the biggest beach close to Lisboa, which is also called the "Lisboas House Beach".

I really enjoyed my stay in the Residencial Colibri. The staff is very nice and helpful for all kind of questions. Service was excellent! Roomservice and fresh towels every day.
My room was a couple room, which was big enough for myself. Maybe for two people a little bit small. In the room was a TV, Telephone and Hairdryer- Safe costs 5 EUR. Bed was comfortable, but there was sometimes noise from the street and the elevator. The Breakfast (from 7 to 10) was simple, but good. The typcial "hotel"-ham and cheese, coffee, juice, marmelade, some cereals.

The Hotel is close to the beach. But there are a lot of ugly Skyskrapers at the coast. If you walk approx. 30 minute down the beach, it gets much more beautiful with dunes and old colorful huts. It is definately worth it!

Going to Lisbon is very simple. There are two busses, but pay attention! The faster one (the 153, takes approx. 25 minutes) is only active in the morning and evening. I think its for the business commuter. Therefore you'll find the 161 bus, which departes from Costa de Caparica every 30 Minutes and takes round about 40 minutes. The busses dont stop directly in Lisboa center, but with the Metro you will reach it via 2-3 stops. It's definately not difficult. The last 153 bus back to Caparica departes around 0.30 h.

All in one I was very happy there and for the price (I payed 39EUR the night) I got more than I expected. Would do it again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

We had spent 3 nights each in Nazare and Sao Martinho do Porto that were relatively small, pretty and not too busy so our initial impression of Costa da Caparica was that it was an unpleasant contrast. The hotel had work being done to it’s frontage so looked uninspiring and in the room the satellite TV was not working so was reported straight away. Outside, the town was very busy and very hot and the turisimo, where we wanted to obtain a map to get our bearings, was closed despite being within opening times and had a tramp sat on it’s doorstep drinking beer. In the centre there seemed to be some sort of car boot sale without the cars. Spotting a table on a shaded terrace of the Copacabana we took in an excellent salad then went for a stroll to the beach, every inch of parking space was packed and the beach, which stretches as far as the eye can see in either direction, was absolutely full of bodies and it was only Tuesday. Lots of development work is being done on the frontage and it needs it as it is very tatty so why so popular? Walking around in the packed blazing heat then struggling to find a supermarket with bottled water on the shelves we decided we had come to the hell hole of Portugal and should leave. Unfortunately, the hotel policy is that you pay for your accommodation on arrival with no refunds so to leave would have been very costly.

Back to the hotel room then and with the TV still not working I marched down to reception. The receptionist had changed but she explained they could not get the satellite system fixed today as it was a National holiday – yes folks, 10th June is Portugal Day. Suddenly it all made sense, the turisimo being shut, the tramp actually being one of the stall holders sat in the shade, the endless bodies on the beach etc. The following day normality returned.

Apologies then for the long pre-amble, I have tried not to let the initial impressions taint the review so here goes.

Hotel – kept very clean and attracts a mix of tourists and people on business. Our air conditioned room was very comfortable and quiet with the only gripe being that the bathroom was quite small having no bath but a shower with a curtain that wants to cling to you all the time you are showering.
Breakfast ok with the usual cold buffet and the only gripe being that the orange juice was the cordial type not fresh.
It is located a short walk from the centre and a slightly longer walk from the beach but everything is accessible.
Overall then it does offer value for money.

Costa da Caparica. I could not sleep one morning so took a stroll out at 6.30 am with my camera but could not find anything worthy of photographing. From the beachfront looking back the place is quite ugly but things might be changing. The wide strip between the road and the beachfront is being developed with the tatty shacks replaced with new facilities. In 2009 this place could look really appealing. The beach stretches for miles and you can either jump on a little train or go by car to different areas that get quieter the further you go.

Our Rough Guide explained that in C da C non-Portuguese tourists are in the minority and for us that was one of the main attractions. Very little English is spoken so it is great to be able to practice a little Portuguese and see a different side to coastal resorts. If that’s what you want then this is a good base to spend a few days if you have a car to explore the coast down to Sesimbra and Setubal but if you want to spend longer or do not have a car, Sesimbra may be better for you.

  • Liked — Location, parking
  • Disliked — Shower curtain and small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residencial Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residencial Colibri

Address: Av 10 de Maio 10, Costa da Caparica 2825-392, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residencial Colibri 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Residencial Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residencial Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.