We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great room, great service, great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Real

Hotel Real
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Real to your Saves list
Hotel Real
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Mestre Manuel, 18, Costa da Caparica 2825-358, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Location, great room, great service, great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The Hotel Real ('Residencial') is a small hotel right in the heart of the small beach resort of Caparica, near Lisbon. (Cost of taxi from airport: €25 in 2014). There is 24 hour reception at this hotel (useful if you arrive late at night, as we did). The reception is reached via a small flight of stairs, without lift. There is a lift to other floors. We found the daytime reception staff to be really friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. There are no reception rooms or bars at this small hotel but the bedrooms are very spacious, clean and well-decorated. There was a maid service every day and towels and sheets were changed daily. Breakfast is self-service and was plentiful and varied (No hot food, apart from toast). The breakfast room is small and at busy periods there were not always insufficient tables for everyone, so that it was necessary to arrive early or be prepared to come back after a few minutes. Lunch or evening meals are not served. (N.B. We found a marvellous budget-friendly local restaurant called "Cantinho Transmontano" in the street behind the hotel). There are many other inexpensive restaurant options nearby. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk to the town beach or you can walk further (or take the little "toy train") to other, quieter beaches - there is plenty of choice, including a naturist beach at Bella Vista ("Paragem (Stop) 19" on the toy train). There are also bars/snack bars on the beach, which were especially popular at sunset. Note that Costa de Caparica is not a very lively resort for the very young. We did not see any late-night clubs. That suited us because there was very little late-night noise, even though the hotel is in the town centre. You might want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you want it to be absolutely quiet, but we were rarely bothered by any noise. Overall, I would recommend this hotel (and the resort) to budget-conscious travellers looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We would definitely visit Costa de Caparica again and would happily stay at the 'Real Residencial' the next time.

Room Tip: If you are anxious about street noise (which is minimal), ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Real Caparica for 7 nights in May this year. It was good value and close to all shops and the sea. We had sea view from the terrace which was really nice in the evening and morning. The Hotel is small but very comfortable. Continental breakfast was always fresh and good. Coffee is great! The staff very pleasant and friendly also helpful on the area and had great recommendations for restaurants. Room was smal but always clean and fresh. Thank you will stay again. Pete and Sol.

Room Tip: Try have the ones with see view terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My 3rd stay at Hotel Real lovely welcoming hotel friendly and helpful staff clean and comfortable rooms adequate breakfast . WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR.... Well situated close to the beach restaurants and shops. About 25 minutes from Lisbon airport by taxi......

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed a this small hotel last week for one week and it is ideally situated at the top of a small hill near to the sea. It is not brilliant but good value for money and wish we could have had a room with a sea-view as some other reviewees had.
The breakfast was what one would expect and the staff are all very polite, helpful and friendly. They didn't leave a plentiful supply of loo paper, but on asking in Reception we were given some immediately.
We stayed in Room 110 and do think that the owner could replace the cracked glass and mangled horizontal blinds on the balcony, also, we were unable to open the shutter blinds from the bed-room to the small glass balcony so had to crouch down whenever we went out there.
I do not understand why they had a camera trained on the breakfast bar . . . .
Our room as cleaned everyday and fresh towels daily, as one would expect. This is a small but friendly hotel - it did have a lift as the stairs are rather steep to go out of the hotel and also down to breakfast, so this was a bonus. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When I think about Iberian peninsula, I recall the past times,specially the XVth century, when
all this matter with exploration of the other worlds started, at least officially.
There were at these times, two very powerful nations on the soil of Pyrenees peninsula.
Spanish people and Portuguese people gave the humanity the greatest explorers, that until then, and long time after their decline,had never been seen.
Two years before I visited Madrid, I had journeyed to the Portugal.
I spent there about eight days of my summer vacation in the little town, outside the capital
of Portugal, Lisbon, on the Atlantic coast, Costa da Caparica.
Pleasant place on the Atlantic shore, where You can feel the real big waves that come from
open ocean, where You can eat very well in numerous restaurants,for instance there is a famous
cod-fish(they call it,bacalhau),served usually with boiled potatoes and boiled onions, soaked in sunflower oil. Besides of that,You can find naturally other food from Arabien countries, like kebab, spiced meat roasted on a skewer. And surely You can finish Your supper with good Portuguese wine ( red or white).
Hotel itsef is a really pleasant one, at three storeys,with lobby,and basement where is the dining room and kitchen.Personnel is hospitable.
It is a hotel with bed &breakfast. In the morning, You can taste the popular Portuguese cookie or cake,so called "Pastel de nata".
Further, the thing You shouldn't miss is the "Sao Jorge", the strong cow's milk cheese, from the Azores,then Alentajano pork(Black Iberian pigs), then goes Salmonete fish and many more.
Hotel is very near to the main beach of the Costa da Caparica and the beach that is very
long and wide, contains all the facilities, the tourist needs.
Particularly in the evening hours of almost every day is very interesting and good to see the fishermen's work with the nets full with different types of fish , that they caught during the whole
working day.
The connection with buses to the Lisbon is also well.

Room Tip: Choose preferably the rooms on the third floor,since they give a good view to the Atlantic Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Real really much, thanks to the very friendly and helpful staff, and the nice view from the room on the beach. Central and quiet place, close to the restaurants, shops and the beach. Definitely a place to recommend for your stay in Caparica/Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

cute little place and stayed in room 401 which had an awesome outdoor balcony with view of beach. outdoor music from nearby could be heard on the weekend. breakfast was okay but wished there was some fresh fruit available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real

Address: Rua Mestre Manuel, 18, Costa da Caparica 2825-358, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Real 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.