We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Countryhouse L'Ariete

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Countryhouse L'Ariete to your Saves list
Countryhouse L'Ariete
Via Corlo 38, 06014 Montone, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of spending a week in Umbria and were thrilled we chose to stay at L'Ariete. Andreas, Martina and their lovely dog could not have been more welcoming from the warm greeting we received upon arrival to the time that we left. They were always available should we have any questions or need suggestions. L'Ariete is the type of place that leaves you wishing your holiday was just a bit longer.....


The gardens were gorgeous and in full bloom while we were there. Having chosen a self catered apartment, it was quite enjoyable to be able to use some of the fresh herbs from the expansive gardens to accompany our meals. We unfortunately did not get a chance to sample Martina's cooking but were quiet tempted by the lovely smells that wafted from her kitchen.

The apartment itself was quite spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped. We really liked that the bedroom faced the back woods which had lots of scented cedar trees and birds singing each morning. We even got the chance to see a nightly show of lightning bugs which we'd not seen for years.

I would highly recommend L'Ariete to anyone looking to tour around Umbria and even venture into Tuscany. It's location is perfect and combined with the large pool is a great place to return to each afternoon to relax. This is what a trip to the Italian countryside is all about! We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agriturismolariete, Owner at Countryhouse L'Ariete, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Grazie! You were the kind of guests that leave you wishing they might just stay a little longer ;-) Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

At last... this is the kind of place I sit and dream of owning when we think about jacking it all in after a grey, hectic and miserable week in London! Though, I'm under no delusion as to the massive amount of work and love Andreas and Martina have poured into their beautiful Countryhouse L'Ariete in the last couple of years of owning it. The interiors are just to die for... beautiful antiques, italian lights, a lovely glass chandelier over our bed, a little everything you need kitchen built into a huge dark wood armoire. But rustic, not fussy, simple - lovely! Candles, driftwood sculptures from the Maremma lining the stone stairs to our apartment... one waiting to be turned into a light by Martina outside the front door of the house. Lovely greens, linen and cotton sheets, stone floors...lavender wafting through the shuttered windows with views out onto the hills or up to lovely Montone. Special and unique. Real, unpretentious, we just loved it.
Andreas and Martina were warm and great hosts. From leaving a bottle of their wine for us on our doorstep one night just because it was full moon (and they'd noticed we enjoyed a glass or two! ) to finding a little slide for our two year old daughter and setting it up by the pool for her.

We had the place to ourselves and it was quiet when we were there, but I have a feeling that this could also be the kind of place where fellow guests might end up sharing the local wine together on the house terrace and a good time had by all! With still plenty of room to slope off and escape. Martina cooks, unfortunately we didn't get to try the food, but have been told its great.

Thanks you both so much Andreas and Martina for helping make our long awaited first holiday all together as a family so memorable and special. Definitely want to come back for longer next time! Hope you have the busy and successful summer you deserve.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agriturismolariete, Inhaber at Countryhouse L'Ariete, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Carissimi ;-)
WE were lucky having you here with us! It was great to see you enjoy your family holiday and we will sure remember sweet little Ottie. Tanti saluti! Andreas & Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent some time researching places to stay for a wedding in nearby Spedalicchio. We opted for Countryhouse L'Ariete in Montone and we are happy we did! Andreas and Martina were laid back and friendly and were available to address any needs we had. We loved our spacious room with a little balcony onto the main courtyard. The pool was lovely (although a bit too cold for a dip). The first night we stayed we turned on the heat (it was a chilly May night) and it wasn't working but we had warm blankets to keep us cozy. The next day Andreas fixed the heater immediately and we were able to use it the next night. We loved being greeted by the resident dog too! Montone is a sweet little town as well. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely come back for our next Umbrian adventure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agriturismolariete, Owner at Countryhouse L'Ariete, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thanks a lot for staying with us, we would be happy to welcome you again here in Umbria at a time better suited to use the pool ;-) Saluti Andreas & Martina (& Laci)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I originally booked a week at L'Ariete and after the first night extended our stay for ten days. As part of an extended driving trip around Italy we wanted a picturesque place to base ourselves to visit the many surrounding villages and countryside. L'Ariete was without a doubt the highlight of our trip. Before we knew it we had a drink in hand and were digesting with excitement all the possibilities Andreas was suggesting about the area. Definitely don't miss Gubbio, Arezzo and Perugia.

Montone itself is incredibly stunning. On the top of the hill behind L'Ariete, Montone is a maze of winding streets with some lovely restaurants and the perfect little piazza to sit in and enjoy an aperitivo, dinner and of course some local gelato!

Andreas and Martina are so incredibly lovely and are so passionate about what they are doing. We tried to go out for dinner or cook for ourselves but once we'd tasted Martina's food there was no other option! We spent many nights sitting out in the courtyard under the stars having our fill of delicious pastas and treats.

We searched high and low for a farmstay where the accommodation was not typical of most Italian farmstays. If anything, the photos of l'Ariete's rooms understate how lovely they are. Martina and Andreas have exceptional taste and it is reflected in the room decorations. Many art pieces are made personally by Martina and it is evident that they have both put a lot of thought and time into making each apartment a pleasure to retire to each day.

We only wish we lived closer so we could return often, but either way we will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agriturismolariete, Owner at Countryhouse L'Ariete, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
It was our pleasure! You are more than welcome to visit again ;-) we really enjoyed having you here with us - it´s always great to meet people that share common interests and have a love for things we appreciate here in this beautiful corner of Italy. Civediamo! Martina & Andreas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I spent two weeks at L'Ariete at the end of September and early October. It couldn't have been better! Andreas and Martina are warm, friendly and helpful and made our stay very special. The charming rustic Italian rooms are spacious, clean and well-equipped. The location near Montone is perfect as a home base for visiting the many beautiful hilltop villages, although we found our favourite days were ones spent relaxing and enjoying all that L'Ariete had to offer: Al fresco dining overlooking the rolling Umbrian hills, swimming laps in the large pool, helping Andreas harvest grapes, and enjoying tomatoes fresh from their garden! We look forward to visiting our friends Martina and Andreas again sometime at L'Ariete!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agriturismolariete, Owner at Countryhouse L'Ariete, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
It was our pleasure! Such a pity you can´t taste the wine you helped picking.. We´ll have a toast on you next glass we enjoy ;-) All the best and hope to see you sometime again! Saluti from Andreas, Martina & Laci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

When we decided on Umbria for a week's holiday we wanted somewhere where we could remove ourselves from the grid for a week and just switch off and enjoy basic things - we couldn't have found a better place to do this than L'Ariete. The hosts Andreas and Martina were wonderfully warm and friendly and have obviously put the place together with a lot of heart and soul. A stunning location with a retained rustic charm meant utter relaxation. The outdoor pool area is immaculately kept and their guests-only restaurant offers local produce dishes which easily out-do most professional restaurants. We loved it here and will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I visited L'Ariete in Umbria for a 4 nights last week and had a wonderful time! The room was spotless and filled with rustic Italian charm and love. Andreas (our host) was very friendly and funny and welcomed us with a beautiful dish of antipasti right in our room!
Andreas and his wife Martina were more than willing to help with any questions we had about the area and we feel truly grateful for their outstanding service.
The B&B itself is a magnificently preserved historical building and its grounds are very well taken care of and filled with lush gardens of lavender. There is also a perfect pool were we spent a lot time in! And the views...the views!!!!! They are breathtaking!
The B&B also has a small restaurant where Andreas hosts and Martina cooks. A must try!!!! Martina cooks up impressive local dishes with much care and Andreas lovingly serves them. The restaurant has an amazing patio with views that will take your breath away!
Together, Martina and Andreas have created the B&B of dreams: Warm atmosphere, tasteful decor and delicious food!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Countryhouse L'Ariete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryhouse L'Ariete

Address: Via Corlo 38, 06014 Montone, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Montone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently restored Countryhouse L'Ariete is set in the beautiful Umbrian hills bordering Tuscany. 2 residential buildings house 6 spacious suites (60-90 m2 each) with comfortable, elegant rooms and fully equipped kitchen. A 100m2 pool and a private restaurant guarantee for a perfect and tranquil vacation. International airports (Rome, Bologna, Florence) are max. 2 hours away and most of Central Italy´s famous places such as Perugia, Assisi, Arezzo, Florence or Orvieto are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Countryhouse L'Ariete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Countryhouse L'Ariete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.