We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antica Osteria

L'Antica Osteria
5/6 Piazza Fortebraccio, 06014 Montone, Italy
+39.075.930.62.71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Montone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This location has been quite a few things over the years...none of which have lasted that long. Now it is a very popular restaurant in a very picturesque hilltop village. Nicely furnished the menu isn't vast and it certainly helps if you like truffles (as I do) and of course steaks. In a busy environment (bookings are recommended) the staff are very attentive and helpful. The resturant also has an extensive wine list that will satisfy most pockets. The only slight negative is that this restaurant does not accept credit cards. Apparently it's cash only which in this day and age is very unusual. Anyway this restaurant is worth at least a visit so make sure you are carrying sufficient cash.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    81
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a delightful square - popular with the English though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant whilst in Umbria and although it was empty we soon realised why they asked whether we had a booking. The lunch crowd arrived, mostly English as far as we could tell, but it didn't seem to matter.

The service was good, my melon and parma ham starter fine and my pici carbonara eggy and cheesy, like it should be.

Wonderful setting, family friendly and popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place in charming Montone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great meal in this little osteria. The truffle dishes were wonderful - we ordered the eggs with black truffle and the tagliatelle with white truffle. The cinghiale (wild boar) was a little disappointing, next time we will get the steak which comes out on a sizzling hot stone. Our neighbors got this and left us drooling!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Osso Bucco - to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great Osteria in Perugia. Only serve authentic Italian dishes - all fresh ingredients and the Osso Bucco was superb. Atmosphere was typically Italian. Young chefs/owners know what they are doing and prices were more than reasonable. Highly recommend this place and would go back in an instant!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy as the pig who found the truffle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fantastic relaxed sunday lunch, antipasti of local meats and cheeses, grilled melanzane smothering light ricotta cheese, three stunning pastas, Japanese beef on the salt grill, tirimisu, lovely Montefalco organic red wine to wash it all down with, sunshine, kids playing football, old men playing cards, table on the piazza, we could have been in a film set. Cant wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antica Osteria also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to L'Antica Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antica Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.