We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erba Luna

Erba Luna
Parco Delle Rimembranze, 06014 Montone, Italy
075 930 6405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Montone
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Forest Row, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This little gem is tucked away in the walls of Montone.....and worth searching out!!!
Such a lovely welcome and the food served matches the superb surroundings.....just a great place to eat.
Challenge any visitor not to rate this place highly.....just loved it!!,

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    38
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful evening at Erba Luna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A wonderful evening spent with friends: excellent company, excellent food, excellent wine. A unique restaurant which has been built into the surrounding wall of Montone.

we will be back....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A wonderful view, the people are lovely and nice, and the food delicious............we enjoyed and had a great time!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Evening with Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

On our return to Montone to see friends, we could not wait to visit with this wonderful restaurant again. The service, atmosphere and the food are always fantastic and seem to improve with every visit.

Looking forward to our next trip to Montone, and would recommend to any visitor that a meal at Erba Luna is an experience not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dining in Umbria - Erba Luna - Montone (PG)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Erba Luna is hidden away in the old stables of Fortebraccio Castle, overlooking an authentic Umbrian landscape, in the medieval village of Montone. As soon as you arrive there's a decision to make: do you dine outside with the soothing view of hills, the ancient castle walls, the soft overhead lighting? Or is the seating inside preferable, with the thick leather furniture, the historical brickwork, the neverending wine cellar?

Luckily, being January, it was an easy decision - entriamo.

The restaurant has several dining rooms, all with the same simple decor and ambient lighting. There is space for plenty more tables, but instead of cramming in an extra couple of diners, Erba Luna has opted for elegant, squashy armchairs, like those found in a nobleman's billiard room. This makes for a relaxed and refined dining area - ideal for unwinding in with a glass of wine after dessert.

Now, the food. Simply put: this is the best meal we've had in Italy in a long time. The restaurant offers a set menu, which we were happy to try, and we suggest you do, too. We started with a traditional sharing platter, with the usual array of meats and cheeses. Only, there was nothing usual about this array. Fresh slices of duck, porcini mushrooms, locally-sourced truffles - all presented with an artistic arrangement that the Italy & Events team quickly lay waste to.

Next came a tris di pasta: three succulent portions, delicately seasoned and perfectly sized. Ours was cold by the time we finished, but only because we took so long savouring each mouthful. The real star of the show followed: beef steak sliced and spiced on a bed of rucola, and paired with a red wine of the chef's choosing. On our table, conversation stopped until every plate was clean.

There was a gasp of feigned despair at the announcement of dessert: homemade crepes filled with ice-cream alongside crushed-almond and marzipan pyramids. My mouth is watering just at the memory ...

If you want a simple yet sophisticated meal in a traditional Italian setting with prices and service to match, go to Erba Luna. Perhaps it's too dignified to be your weekly go-to restaurant, but if you're holidaying in Umbria, or your parents are in town, or you're looking for somewhere special to eat, this restaurant should be your first choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erba Luna also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Erba Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erba Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.