We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre di Moravola

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torre di Moravola
Save
You added Torre di Moravola to your Saves list
Zona Carlo, 06014 Montone, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hilltop magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just returned from a superb long weekend at Torre Di Moravola. Even without getting engaged while we were there, it would have still been a lovely experience.

The setting
Just exquisite, hill top, the little access road is cool to drive along at dusk. A real sense of history overlooking the surrounding valleys. I have stayed at few places more stunning in outlook. It is a nice drive up to the property with wonderful views around. Transport of some kind is a must though, don't really on being able to grab a cab or such

The accommodation
Really well done and a credit to the proprietors. Inventive, modern and old and a pleasure to stay in. No TV in room nor minibar etc. but didn't want one so wasn't missed! We enjoyed sitting by the wonderful pool and the grounds

The Food
Wow! Breakfast was super, lovely coffee and plenty of breakfast, the pancetta a favourite of mine. We had dinner on the Friday night (arranged in advance) and it was superb! As good as any restaurant we have ever eaten in. We ate out the other nights and got some great restaurant recommendations

The service
Friendly and welcoming, we felt welcome to stay and received wonderful insights and stories from Seonaid & Christopher. I read a lot of the reviews on here and feel the negative reviews miss the point. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, have AC etc. etc. go and stay at a larger hotel. The whole pleasure here is in how relaxed the place is and the service fits the place perfectly.

We will definitely go back, superb and one of our favourite hotels

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    2
    7
    0
See reviews for
9
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Torre Di Moravola is a totally unique and luxurious experience. Set in the middle of nowhere you feel disconnected from everything so you can truly relax. Seonaid and Christopher are great hosts and their food is fantastic - healthy, delicious and locally sourced ingredients. This was our first time in Italy and we were totally blown away by Torre Di Moravola. We took our 3 month old baby with us and we were really well looked after! I'd recommend it to anyone and I'm going back next year, same time same place! Thank you Seonaid and Christopher for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was magic in the mountains. Truly beautifully designed - and that's an understatement! Away from the madding crowds. Peaceful, restful, quiet and serene. The food was excellent, the views were magnificent and the nonstop sunshine blissful. The owners were charmingly hospitable. They know what they like and if you like what they like, then this is the place for you. It is both chique and casual at the same time. Relaxed and relaxing. A few of the plusses: the lounge areas, the terraces, the rooms, the bathrooms, the food, the hammock, the swimming pool, the location, the fact that is isn't easy to find, the hospitality, the architecture, the history and so much more. The minusses: can't think of any! This is not a hotel in the hotel sense of a hotel, it's like staying in someones beautiful home, but with all the privacy you desire. Spoil yourself (but it comes at a price).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just returned from Italy where we had three nights at Torre di Moravola. From the moment the tower came into view we realised this was a very special place. This beautifully restored watch tower has all the elements of the original building with some very slick modern additions. The architecture and the understated interior are very chic, like one very large piece of artwork. Food prepared by Brandon and served by sweet Katie was also fantastic. The views from the upstairs bedrooms are sublime. Thank you Christopher and Seonaid

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is incredible.  The second stop on our honeymoon, the owners have created a true masterpiece of a restoration.  The views will move you.  Breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the valley is an amazingly life affirming way to start a day.  We stayed in the Main Tower which is, and will probably remain, the most incredible room we've ever stayed in, with a steel gantry "library" above a luxurious living area.  
The infinity pool is a piece of architectural genius: like swimming towards heaven.  
Yes it is in the middle of nowhere (although a decent Satnav takes you right to the door), but that's the point.  Once you have completed the ascent you won't want to leave and if you do you are within striking distance of numerous wonderful Umbrian towns (we particularly enjoyed Gubbio & Citta Di Castello).
Breakfast was good and hearty. Dinner was excellent but very pricey (way beyond even your above average London prices!).  The wine selection is good but also pricey. 
This place is a life's work for the owners, an obsession and it shows: they do ultimately treat this place as their home and that may not be to everyone's taste: but we loved it.  We were invited into the kitchen, we chatted, we were given daily excellent tips on where to go and what to see.  Some may expect a silent 5 star hotel treatment where the service is seen but not heard: you won't get that here and that is no bad thing.  This is a boutique experience in the most incredible setting we have ever stayed in.  We thoroughly recommend this place and we will be returning as soon as possible. A special thank you to Katy and Brandon, two of the staff working at the house, who made our stay lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days for a wedding in August, it was absolutely lovely, relaxing and beautiful. The food was delicious and the remoteness and scenery made it feel even more special.The rooms were fabulous with big comfortable beds, couldn't have asked for a more. I would recommend you go here for a peaceful and relaxing break by yourself or with company.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The best hotel I have ever stayed at. The architecture is extraordinary, the service was wonderful and the food was to die for. Really, what else could you want? Particular thanks to Lachlan in the kitchen - surely this guy is a food star in the making.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was absolutely brilliant, very spacious and with a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre di Moravola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Moravola

Address: Zona Carlo, 06014 Montone, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Torre Di Moravola Hotel Montone
Torre Di Moravola Perugia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre di Moravola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.