We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghibli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ghibli Hotel to your Saves list
Ghibli Hotel
Via Regina Margherita 80, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at our last hotel after driving from Cefalu, via Palermo, Corleone.. The hotel is central, only 5 mins walk from the gorgeous beach, we had a ground floor room, it was a bit dated, but I suppose they are all the same, charming Sicilian style. We ate at the restaurant and had a really nice meal, not too expensive. The cocktails were nice, and the bar man was friendly and really nice. The staff were really helpful, and gave us access to a shower as we had a late flight.. The spa area was also very nice and relaxing, we had a fab relaxing time in this hotel and in san vito in general.. Recommend d

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    52
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
62
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Ghibli for the last 5 nights of our east - west tour of the whole of Sicily, having covered the Baroque south east and cultural mid south, we selected San Vito Lo Capo as a chill out beach end to the holiday, having driven some 1500km! The Ghibli did not disappoint, from our Saturday afternoon arrival the staff were superb particularly Vito who ensured we never once had any car parking issues (which can be a nightmare on weekends when it seems half of Palermo arrives!) Breakfasts offered a good variety of options both sweet and savoury with waiter service for drinks. With so many good trattoria and restauarnts in town to choose from, we only ate one evening meal in their famous cous-cous restaurant and whilst the seafood was excellent the cous cous portions did seem a little on the large side for our personal taste, but the accompanying sweet and spicey fish broth was simply delicious. (Advanced booking for the restaurant is essential as it gets very very busy) . Location-wise the Ghibli is perfect, just two minutes from the stunning white sand beach with their own free sunbeds and also central enough for the rest of the town, though quiet enough to sleep at night. And although out on the cape, it was still feasible for us to visit Palermo, Monreale, Erice and Scopello by day and not feel overly tired on our return. On street parking is very strictly policed on weekends with "tow trucks" in operation!! So make sure you ask the hotel for their help with parking.

Thanks to all the Ghibli team for a great and memorable stay.

Room Tip: We were in 208 and had a deluxe with balcony, and whilst the room has everything you could need, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights, initially we stayed downstairs in a room next to reception but it was loud and found it difficult to sleep and got woken in the morning so we moved upstairs. This was better, big room with a small balcony, the only downside was the fact that we were still woken each morning by the cleaners without fail. Putting that aside the hotel was great, traditional, very nice staff and a good breakfast. The location was ideal, 5 min to beach and 5 min to the main town (street).
The sauna and parking were extra and considering the price of the hotel I would have thought they should be included for guests.

Room Tip: Upstairs, if downstairs away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently went for a week away with my Mum and stayed at this hotel. We had a really lovely time and it certainly looked to be one of the best places to stay in San Vito. Here are the good points: (1) great location, walking distance to town and beach, (2) very clean, (3) traditional Sicilian style, (4) good sized room (superior), though tiny shower cubicle, and (5) good value for money - breakfast included was fine. Points for improvement: (1) limited information on arrival and in the room - for example, we weren't told where and what time breakfast was, how to use the gadgets, what the spa facilities were etc., (2) limited/inaccurate information available at reception - for example, we were told the beach sunbeds were between 8 and 15 Euros each for the day, when in fact we got two for 7 Euros and we were told that we had to go down towards Trapani and Palermo to get to the Nature Reserve when actually going to other direction took less than half the time..., (3) the superior rooms are meant to come with a balcony, but the balconies are only really Juliette balconies - you certainly cannot sit out on them comfortably (and noone else was crazy enough to squeeze themselves onto it but us!), (4) they don't do twin beds (yet), and (5) the Spa costs 20 Euros per session, which is quite pricey given it is a little jacuzzi, sauna and steam room... we thought it really should have been included in the price of the room. Beware that if you go out of season, the dinner times are limited, the outside bar is shut down and the sunbeds are not included in the price of the room.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel if you're wanting somewhere decent but not plush and in a good location in San Vito.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This little hotel can really make your vacation !
Location is the best if you want not only to be very close to the beach, but also to be
In a center of a night life, because this hotel has the best restaurant in town and outside bar!
The friendliest staff, very clean and comfortable rooms with balconies, very moderate prices.
Interior with great local character, excellent spa on a roof.
Highly recommended for couples with or without children and everyone who likes real Italy,
beach, boats, delicious food! ( And without destroying your budget ! )

Room Tip: Choose a room on a second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great staff - very helpful! We arrived at 2am in the morning and the staff were on hand to meet us, show us to the parking area, took our bags, checked us in. The owner even gave us the wifi password before he left so we could get online.

The breakfast is basic but adequate to set you up for the day.

My partner asked the staff to bring a cake to our room for my birthday as a surprise. 3 staff members knocked on our door and all sang happy birthday in English, which made my entire trip. They had obviously gone to a lot of effort to organise the surprise and even brought along a bottle of Cava.

We booked the hotel at the last minute and so there was only a small double room available, but it was extremely clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable.

The staff were extremely friendly, in fact the people of San Vito were especially friendly when compared to other destinations we visited in Sicily.

San Vito is great and we will be back!!

Thanks Hotel Ghibli for making our trip :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We did not stay here but had lunch when visiting San Vito Lo Capo. We were lookig for air conditioning but advised to try the open air courtyard.

Six of us were at a villa near Terrasini for 2 weeks, lunch at the Ghibli was the best of the best, I think we had red tuna, outstanding and magnificent service.

A meal to remember.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ghibli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghibli Hotel

Address: Via Regina Margherita 80, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ghibli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghibli Hotel San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghibli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.