We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, nice room & superb staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Calamancina

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Calamancina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villaggio Calamancina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Calamancina 12, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location, nice room & superb staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spend a couple of days at the very beginning of the summer season in Calamancina. Booked via ratestogo, got a discounted price which was a great value for the big apartment with a view at the sea and capo. The staff, especially the receptionists we extremely helpful and nice to us, always ready to assist. Good place if you're looking for a 'holiday atmosphere' accommodation as they do have some animations and amusement for kids :)

Returned to San Vito lo Capo in August, but due to the peak season, we couldn't get a room, therefore stayed in another facility nearby. The staff in Calamancina was very nice and provided us with a free wi-fi password, even though we were not it's guests this time. Thanks a lot guys !

Martina

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
64
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in the villagio in early May 2012 for 12 days. The hotel is situated a few hundred meters from the beach on a silent street. Which is one the most remote from the touristic quorter so you dont care much about the noise. The location was ideal for peaceful rest. The receptionist was helpful (at least one of three). The apartment which included a sleeping room, a kitchen and a large balcony (F6) was in a simplistic style which we expected (it was not disappointment for us). We had a great view on the see and the mountain. There was a light house about 0,5 km from the hotel so we made an adventure exploring the surroundings with the child. The hotel offered breakfasts (mostly snacks but I presume depends on the season). It had a nice small pool area, where the child could have fun. The hotel has a bit curious cleaning policy-you have to order cleaners for extra fee of 25 euro or something, but we didn't know if that's the traditional approach in the region. The tourist quarter is traditional. We loved eating local specialities in small restaurants. Especially we liked Insomnia restaurant for its enormous salads and friendly staff.

Unfortunately in May its offseason and the windsurfing station is not active at that time.

My strong recommendation is to use this location if you plan to explore the rest of Sicily by car. We drove to Zingaro, Palermo, Erice, Marsala and a number of other locations.

Beware of dogs in the vicinity outscirts-they might be aggressive.

Room Tip: Take the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth/London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were here for the last week in May and enjoyed the experience despite a few things. The positives:
good pool area, nice little bar/cafe, great location for the beach and town, rooms clean, few insects etc
negatives: our room was only cleaned once in the week (and only because we had to change rooms due to building works), can get noisy as its a family resort due to children etc so maybe not the best for a couples holiday but good for families, there was a bit of a noise coming from the bathroom at random times of the day which w think was being made by the boiler next door

One thing we noticed on our last day was the addition of a new lifeguard; he was very unfriendly and enforced some new rules which were not in place the 6 days we were there already; he blew his whistle at everyone who attempted to jump in the pool and got everyone to wear swimming caps (which you had to go to reception to get!), which made things inconvenient for a lot of guests. To make matters worse, he closed the pool between 1pm-3pm which are obviously the peak times!! We later noticed there was a sign for the pool hours which say they are from 10am-1pm and 3pm-7pm which wasn't enforced before that, so perhaps people travelling at peak season should bear this in mind.

Also wanted to say the lady working in the cafe is very friendly and works very hard, couldn't believe she was working 7 days breakfast to dinner! Makes a good cocktail too!

All in all a lovely resort in an amazing location (the sea is stunning) but could do with getting rid of that annoying lifeguard!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here 2nd week in May, so were one of a handful of guests.
Reception staff were friendly but had little or no English, as per the bar staff etc.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was very clean and had a spacious kitchen / sitting area. It had a small patio and lawn in front. Apartment was cleaned and beds made / towels changed daily.
Complex has a lovely little pool area and pools (although may be tight for space in peak season).
It is in a good location, just 5 mins walk from the beach & town and 20minutes drive from a beautiful National Parkland.
(Beware of jellyfish if you have little ones paddlng in the sea)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from 4 nights in this 'hotel' (1st Sept-4th Sept 2011), and it was not a particularly pleasant experience. Being as fair as I can, here are the pro's and con's,
Pros- 1) Free parking
2) Fresh Croissants & Pastries at breakfast, good coffee,
3) 5- 10 Minute walk from beach
4) Seemed to be good activities for children, (although if they don't speak Italian they may not be able to mix with the other children)
5) Reception staff spoke English.

Cons - 1) Unhelpful staff
2) Poor service - didn't change the towels, empty bins or make up bed in room every day.
3) Terrible breakfast (if you want anything different to pastries/croissants)
4) Really annoying DJ playing music by the pool all day/evening
5) Very dark room, in very corner of hotel/resort with a view of a 30 ft block wall.

This really is not a hotel, if anything it's more of an apartment/resort type thing. We booked a double room with breakast, but felt as though we were in a self catering resort. I think most of the accommodation are apartments, so if that's what you're booking then you will have different expectations to us. Very few people seemed to be getting inclusive breakfast and this was shown by the lack of effort they put into it. They put out a couple jugs of juice, a few yoghurts on the last morning, and packets of that small dried toast that you get on the continent.They did have croissants and pastries behind the bar that could be sold to otrher residents and that we were able to help ourselves to. There was however no fresh fruit, cereal, meats, eggs, nothing like that, all things that I've had in other 4 star hotels in Sicily.
If you don't have kids, I definitely wouldn't recommend this place, as It is all geared around activities for them around the pool.
Generally, don't be expecting to be receiving traditional 'hotel' treatment. The office/reception closes quite early in the evening, towels and beds won't be changed daily in your room, staff won't be very accommodating. Apart from that, you'll be fine!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

When we arrived at the Villaggio Calamancina, we were hugely disappointed by the overall external look of the buildings (run down and old) and by our duplex apartment which, once opened, was dark and smelt old and "stuffed" despite being clean. The patio in front was also very dirty, with plastic chairs and table which looked very ancient and stained.

We then went to the pool area as our two children wanted to refresh from the trip. No free deck chair was in sight and the area all around was very dirty too. It was very crowded with quite noisy people, both adults and kids. It must however be said that we were in the middle of the afternoon; the clientele was a strange mix between time share holiday makers and hotel guests, meaning that guests were not "jelled" and actually, quite different form one another. The overall impression was therefore quite negative.

Mu husband and I immediately talked about going the following day to find a different place for the week (we spent the 2nd week in Favignana, at the Cala La Luna, owned by the same company as the Calamancina - much better experience about which you can read under that hotel).

On the second day, however, we started accommodating to the initial disappointment, as our kids were enjoying the pool, the kids club with very funny and attentive staff and the evening animation. We also slept very well in our room, with good air conditioning system and the daily cleaning we paid extra for was really worthwhile as it was done impeccably.

The beach was quite a walk away, with beautiful sea but extremely crowded. One could not really relax. We were actually told that in August the situation worsens, which we can not imagine really... We therefore decided to take boat and car trips which was a very good choice as it made that first week for us quite varied and very pleasant (go to Erice, it's really stunning, and their cannoli are to die for!).

San Vito Lo Capo has a beautiful natural setting; the center around the old church is really nice, but the further away one walks from it, the more depressing the areas get. Moreover, having been in Sicily already, we were expecting to eat great food and, on the contrary, the quality was quite average. San Vito caters for a mass market and even the very best restaurants offer "three services" a night (8/9:30 and 11), pushing you to finish your meal and we really did not enjoy that.

All in all we managed to enjoy it because we found a way around it and also because, it must be said, the staff at the Villaggio was extremely helpful (the receptionists were great) and the entertainment quite valid, considering how bad this can be in some even more classy environments. But we would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is a very nice spot in San Vito. It's not on the beach/sand but up on a little hill close to the marina.

It's close enough to easily walk across one street to get to the sand which will lead you into the main town where all of the restaurants and shops are. Pool area is great with a bar area where you can get drinks, food and if you don't want to do that, they will bring them to you. You get a beautiful view of the giant rock in San Vito. I don't know what it's called but you can't miss it.

If you have a car you can drive to the entrance of the Riserva Dello Zingaro..Riserve of the Gypsy in english. A great spot to hike along the ocean in completely unspoiled terrain. The are some hills but for the most part it's really flat and easy to walk. If you're here it's worth going to see it.

The staff is great and helpful. If you come in early May or May in general..you'll have the place to yourself and they are happy to see you. I think there was a total of 3 rooms occupied when we were there so we got lots of attention if you need that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villaggio Calamancina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Calamancina

Address: Via Calamancina 12, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Calamancina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villaggio Calamancina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Calamancina Hotel San Vito Lo Capo
Villaggio Calamancina San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Calamancina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.