We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 euros for nothing...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 'A Lampara

'A Lampara
Via F.lli Maculati, 15, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
0923.972089
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $57
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“60 euros for nothing...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait 15 min to be seated, which we thought it was a good thing, most of the popular good reataurants having a queue at the entrance. But this time it was the opposite. The waiters were not attentive, we had to wave to the waiter a few times for him to take our order and waited for ages for the food to come. The starters were poorly prepared and the calamari were over cooked, more like a chewing gum than a main dish. For 2 starters, 2 mains and a drink each we paid 60 euros (no dessert!!!) and this was with a 10% discount card that we received from the hotel we stayed at. No go!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    104
    73
    54
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hands down best spot in San Vito, incredible food and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We did our share of spots in San Vito, many with restaurant hawks to drag you in especially in the slower season . Overall, this was a superb experience eating here 4 times and a consistent experience of great food, quality, excellent staff and ambiance! Prices were quite reasonable and on par with other restaurants in the area. We had fantastic food and felt as well the 2 co-owners were invested in making sure we were happy and taken care of! Definitely would go again and highly recommend as the best of San Vito!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly staff and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly restaurant with tasty food, staff very helpful and good service and value. The pasta was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“standard food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On the south side of the beachpromende lies this ristorante. Quite good food but not splendid. They offered free aperetivo and bruschetta before the meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went here three times during a recent stay at San Vito Lo Capo and enjoyed it every time. Only once was there a slight disappointment, when the octopus couscous was too heavily salted for my taste. I did not make a fuss about it (as it could be regarded as a matter of personal preference), but I found out later that I had been charged only about a third of what it should have been. The house red is fabulous and the pasta with Trapanese pesto an absolute delight. I also liked the grilled squid a lot - clearly fresh, not frozen - and my wife was full of praise for the swordfish with pistachios. The service is friendly and efficient and the location superb. We would return any day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'A Lampara also viewed

San Vito lo Capo, Province of Trapani
San Vito lo Capo, Province of Trapani
 
San Vito lo Capo, Province of Trapani
San Vito lo Capo, Province of Trapani
 

Been to 'A Lampara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 'A Lampara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.