We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in San Vito Lo Capo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solarium

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Vito lo Capo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Solarium
Save
You added Hotel Solarium to your Saves list
Via Maniaci 2/4/6, San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in San Vito lo Capo
milano
1 review
“3 days in San Vito Lo Capo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Hotel Solarium in San Vito Lo Capo, a 14 rooms hotel very close to one of the most beautiful beaches of the Mediterranean sea.
The room was nice and clean, breakfast unmissable and Elisabetta and Renato, the hotel keepers, tremendously warm and welcoming. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our first visit to Sicily ,The Solarium is in 2nd position to the (car free) Sea front promenade on the edge of this small tourist resort which can be encompassed in about 30 mins.The very nice beach is yards away and is clean and well maintained with the usual Italian custom(obviously other country's as well) of payment for sun loungers...but not for Solarium guests who have beds and shades provided free,there is also a footwash for sand removal thoughtfully provided on your return(council charge €1 for this on exiting the beach).
The hotel breakfast is one of the best for variety and quality (for size of premises)encountered (not cooked) and plenty of any kind of coffee including espresso available.
For most of the season breakfast and evening meal is included and the dinner is very filling with 4 or 5 courses.Since there are few English visitors and the owner Elizabetta speaks just a little of our language(which is fine) the choice(guests are required to fill out the evening requirements on a sheet with choices on at breakfast)for dinner can be a little daunting .Needless to say by the time the dishes are served you have mostly forgotten what you ordered in the morning (if you new what it was anyway).The owner is very helpful and hands on but she is so busy it is difficult to relax watching her and you feel guilty taking up her time...Having said that she is delightful and her attention to detail shows through in the hotels very good reviews.
Our top floor room was new with a shower room with bidet and toilet and we had table and chairs on veranda outside and two sunbeds with also a very handy small drying line with pegs.
The sea can have quiet large waves at times as it is pleasantly windy but there were plenty of young children enjoying this excellent beach and this is really what the resort is about.
We drove a hire car from Palermo airport(used comparison site that was 40% cheaper than our carrier Easyjet offered) and it was about 70 Kl and takes around 75 mins and used it to visit Palermo(nothing special)and its markets and heavy traffic (it is a good hour an a half both ways).The Solarium hotel has no car park although pay and display operates all around but we were told there was free parking about 600 yards up the road near a camping site so that's what we did without a problem and we used the car to visit the nature reserve around 6 miles down the coast which was nice for a couple of hours stroll (6 Euros each entry fee).
We enjoyed out stay very much and came home refreshed and feeling we had good value although we tried fewer restaurant's than normal because of our commitment to dinner which was perhaps a bit too much food for us however enjoying the very well prepared Sicilian cooking.
It is worth a mention that there is a delightful cemetery just above the harbour in San Vito(whilst trying to walk off the large food portions) with some tremendous well kept Sicilian family mausoleum's worth a look and we noticed the most common surname was that of our host at Solarium Ruggerillo. Cleanliness and service with more description are dealt elsewhere in this hotels reviews but it is a good find.

Room Tip: Top floor newer with side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Solarium and I wish it could have been longer. The location is great and most of the rooms have a view of the sea. The beach is two minutes away. The hotel is extremely clean. The breakfast, which was included, was very good, and if you did not see what you wanted, they would offer to make it or get it for you. The owner Elizabetta is so friendly and was terrific. The staff were all friendly. We found this hotel on line but I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Be sure and get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We went to Hotel Solarium for a week with our family of three (our son is 3 years old) at the end of May. We had a great stay in this hotel. Officialy it is a 3 star hotel, but for us definitely a lot more. First of all the location is great. The sea and the beach is to be in the caribean. The hotel is very clean. Also the rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Elisabetta and Renato made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was nice, lots of fresh fruit, on demand they will make you eggs, fresh croissants, nice biscuits and pastries. They offer also beachchairs and umbrellas. Word of advice: They told us that the july-august period is really crazy busy, so it's better to visit the island in the remaining months. We had a great time and will definitely come back, hopefully already in september or october. Thanks for the wonderful stay! Veronique, Roberto and Luca da Olanda/Italia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solarium

Address: Via Maniaci 2/4/6, San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#15 Family Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Solarium San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.