We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piccolo Mondo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Piccolo Mondo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nino Bixio,7, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 53 hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Two weeks in San Vito, two weeks in this hotel. Loved it! We had a nice room with terrace and great view. Free wifi, good breakfast, great service, clean rooms. This ticks all boxes for me.

I'm glad I picked the hotel and would return without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    59
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
199
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Piccolo Mondo, especially after the noisy room experience of the previous hotel. The rooms were relatively quiet, although most hotels have some kind of noisiness which should always be accounted for. The manager addressed me by my first name and often asked if I was allright: I liked this personal note and it makes you feel more like a guest than a customer.
Breakfast was nice: not overly stacked but it had most essentials as some fruits, the sweets and the hearty stuff.
The best thing was it's distance to the beach and the room had a lovely (partly) seaview.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the first minute we walked into the Hotel Piccolo Mondo, to the second we left, we had excellent service. The hotel is very bright and modern and it is also very clean. The rooms are cleaned every day and the cleaners make a very good job of it.
Breakfast is very varied and includes, fruit, cereals, toast, croissant, a selection of Sicilian sweet pastries, fruit juice, tea or coffee. They also have a sweet Sicilian yoghurt which is wonderful with honey.
The hotel is situated 200m from the beach. When you walk out the door you can see it. You are also in the middle of the town and very close to all the eating places.

We are very choosy about holiday accomodation but we just cannot fault this hotel. Great location, great staff and nice accomodation at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Haven't stayed in a 3 star hotel for a while and what a treat this was. Right next to the beach and clearly newly refurbished. The staff are so helpful and friendly...everybody seems to be related but then this is no surprise in Sisily!...nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is adequate...coffee divine and always a fresh, local cake. Get a room with a balcony because you can see the sea although they really aren't big enough to sit and have an evening drink. There is another building across the road so you have to cross a small road for breakfast. There's no bar to speak off but we were offered drinks on returning to the hotel after supper. Bathrooms aren't huge but enough to wash the sand off but take shower gel/shampoo as you are only given a tiny sachet. There are loads of local shops to buy everything you need anyway so that's not a biggie. I'm not sure how noisy the hotel buildings would be if the hotel were full because there is a lot of tiling but we slept several nights with the window open and weren't bothered by traffic noise. There is air conditioning which you would undoubtedly need in the high season. There are some bikes you can use although there is a rental service a couple of blocks away. Our room had a fridge and we were encouraged to fill it with anything we liked. For some reason there was a mix up re our dates and as a consequence we had to move room for the last night but , in return for this inconvenience, we were refunded a nights rental. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a reasonably priced break in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fine hotel, but the extremely positive reviews on TripAdvisor are perhaps a bit exaggerated.

Yes, the staff is very friendly.
Yes, everything is new, clean, and decorated nicely.
Yes, the rates out of season are very reasonable.

But: the rooms are not soundproofed so you do hear the traffic (not a lot) and the other guests and the hot water for the shower depends on the sun. (We were there after a cloudy day and the hot water ran out.)

So, the hotel is fine but you may be disappointed after reading all the extremely positive reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGs, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel and for expressing your opinion.

I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused by the temporary problem of hot water, unfortunately there was a contemporary and excessive use of hot water, in a very cloudy day.

With regard to your disappointment, I want highlight, that you have arrived without a reservation and for one night, accepting the only available room, maybe a little louder than the other rooms. I'm sorry to have disappointed your expectations, I hope to have you again as our guests for a longer time and to find a better solution for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valetta, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My friend and I arrived at the hotel for only one night, and I only wish we could have stayed longer. The family is vey hospitable and made it clear from the beginning of our stay that our comfort was their main priority. Upon arrival the owners' son, Marco knew exactly who we were and introduced himself before graciously showing us to our rooms. Later on in the evening we met his father who was extremely helpful in giving us directions for the next day and suggesting some good local restaurants. A delicious, fresh breakfast is included and a great way to start the day. That morning they happened to have the most delicious homemade ricotta cake and when they realized how much we enjoyed it, they sent us off with two more slices for the road! The rooms are very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg vor der Höhe, Hessen, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent stay at Hotel Piccolo. Wonderful view of the water from our private terrace. The owners were top notch in taking care of us. The service they have was personal and attentive. Would really love to return in the summer. There is no p,ace better in San Vito!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Mondo

Address: Via Nino Bixio,7, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#3 Family Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo Mondo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Mondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piccolo Mondo San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piccolo Mondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.