We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, incredible staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piccolo Mondo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piccolo Mondo to your Saves list
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
Via Nino Bixio,7, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Barlad, Romania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, incredible staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For greater objectivity, we make two comments:
1. The hotel:
Pros:- SPOTLESSLY CLEAN;
- big room;
- minibar, safe box, a/c;
- free wi-fi;
- small balcony with partial sea view (but only a seat...);
- confy beds;
- good breakfast;
- private sector on the beach (with umbrella and two sunbeds- even we are three...).
Cons:- many problems in the bathroom (small shower- a nightmare!, extremely slow drain, hot water alternate with cold water, sometimes the stench came from plants);
- breakfast repetitive and boring (good and fresh, though);
- TV- only seven channels (considering the total evening boredom, it would have been the only fun...);
- poor soundproof of the room walls;
- a bit expensive for what the area it offered (7 days, a triple, 1540 euros, booked with 8 months earlier- in comparison, a week before, 7 days, triple, Pensione Svizzera in Taormina, absolutely fabulous, 830 euros...).
2. The staff.
FANTASTIC!!!
One of the few hotels that we felt like home- all were great, with a special mention for Mr. Vito, the owner, and Ms. MARIANGELA, a wonderful person, always smiling, who speak english and who arranged for us a trip to Zingaro and the transfer to Palermo airport. Thank you!
Overall, a beautiful stay, but, for the very demanding tourists, do not believe that this will be the same rating!
San Vito was a big disappointment (boring, nothing to do, nothing to see and, our nightmare, the AWFUL smell of fish couscous, that kept us away from any restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGs, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Mr Mateesescu,
My family and I thank you for the nice words spoken towards us, it was a pleasure welcoming you as our guests and a pleasure having shared with you your holidays.
I also thank you for your tips and I assure you that we will try to improve the quality of our service
Best Regards
Vito Vultaggio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    64
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
221
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torre Maina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Lovely little 3 star hotel, extremely friendly, helpful and attentive management by Vito and Maria Angela, they didn't mistake in any of the advice they gave us. Very clean rooms, breakfast had a bit of everything from sweet to savoury ( don't miss the Torta di ricotta!!). They have their own beach club at only 5 min walk from the hotel and bikes to explore the town. We hired a car and the valet parking service was very good (7 Euro/day), whenever we needed it the arrangements to get it back were always very fast and efficient. We felt like being in a 5 stars hotel but with a lot more friendly attention! We would love to go back there!
Nick and Jenny
P.s. We are really really sorry about the flower pot !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Wonderful, simply brilliant! A new concept of how to run a hotel, it was like staying at your friend´s house. Attentive and nice staff, clean rooms, excelent service, not expensive at all, no doubt about where I will stay next time I get back to San Vito Lo Capo.
When at arriving Vito (the owner) took our luggage and brought it up to the room himself, that tells you what type of service you will receive by him and Maria Angela. The hotel is 50 meters far from the beach line, with amazing views of the rock, the beach and the sunset (la tramonta, as Vito says) from the huge terrace upstairs.
Clean rooms, amazing and atentive staff no matter where you need: a couple of wine glasses, towels, or personalised advide on where to go for dinner, what next door village to visit (he does not give you a voucher, he will write down for you himself)... or simply share a joke.
Amazing hotel to stay if you plan to visit north west Sicily (Erice, a must go. And La reserve dello ZIngaro, most beatiful beaches and calas ever) and you have a car. Parking service 24 hours survieallance also available.
I highly recommend to rent a car, and spend a few days in Piccolo mondo, and from there drive around for day trips.
Sarah and David.

Room Tip: I loved La Tramontana, but i ti snot about the rooms, it is the whole hotel itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Picolo Mondo is a fantastic, immaculate little hotel only a few yards from the beautiful St Vito beach where the hotel has private sun loungers and umbrellas. Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful Marieangela who anticipates all of your needs and who's recommendations are faultless. Apart from a couple of small faults (hot water and cereal occasionally running out) this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGs, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
I thank you for writing your opinion about the Hotel Piccolo Mondo.
I am really sorry about the ploblem concerning hot water.
I assure you that I have resolved everything setting up new solar panels. I apologize about this problem, and I hope that you will come back to spend your Holiday in Hotel Piccolo Mondo.
Best Regards
Vito Vultaggio
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just arrived back from a week in San Vito Lo Capo with my partner. After spending some time choosing a hotel we both finally agreed on Piccolo Mondo. All I can say is we weren't disappointed. Vito, the owner greeted us with a big smile and continued to introduce us to his family and staff on our arrival making us feel very welcome. They had prepared a map for us with mention of typical Sicilian things to try and also recommended restaurants, cafes, bakeries and pastry shops in San Vito. We tried all the things mentioned, we had the most delicious dinner at Syrah which was one of the mentioned places to eat, we bought lovely olive bread from the bakery and had them on the gorgeous beach, we tried Caldo Fredo (a local treat) which was also recommended to us on our arrival, this was to die for but certainly not for those watching their waist line. The hotel was spotlessly clean, offered delicious fresh breakfasts which included croissants, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and some Pane Cunzato, a stuffed Sicilian bread, again so tasty!!!! Mariangella, a staff member at the hotel spoke brilliant English and was happy to help and advise when we asked! She gave us info and bus routes so we could visit another town, Trapani on one of our days in Sicily. Perfect hotel, perfect area, perfect beach and altogether perfect holiday!!!!! A must stay if visiting San Vito Lo Capo.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the main part of hotel with balcony. Perfect beach and see views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGs, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Mrs Katie,
I am pleased to read you have spent a nice holiday at the 'Hotel Piccolo Mondo’, it was a pleasure to have you as guests and it was a pleasure to give you the best tips to make your holiday more relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We hope to see you back here with us, we thank you for expressing your opinion
Regards
Mariangela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We are so happy we stayed here , The owner is always around and easy to approach then staff is friendly and caring and the property is very clean, We stayed for 7 nights and loved every minute of every day. A must stay if going to to San Vito Lo Capo. thank you Marie , We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for only one night, but it was truly a memorable stay. The owner and staff are incredibly friendly and caring. When we arrived, a man in the hotel grabbed our bags and carried it upstairs. We thought he was part of the staff, and he turned out to be the owner! It just shows how much the guests are cared for - you can really see it. We dined at Crik Crok restaurant next door - it's also owned by the family who owns the hotel and they gave us 10% discount on the bill.

The decor of the hotel is beautiful - wonderful plaster on the wall, stylish curtains...

The breakfast was incredible - the croissants melted in the mouth. The beach is a minute walk away and it's simply gorgeous.

In short, this is a gem of a place - no wonder, it's rated as #1 on Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Mondo

Address: Via Nino Bixio,7, 91010 San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#3 Family Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Mondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piccolo Mondo San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piccolo Mondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.