We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - nice, calm place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Antiche Saline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Antiche Saline to your Saves list
Relais Antiche Saline
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Verdi Snc | Localita Nubia Paceco Trapani, 91027 Paceco, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Paceco
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect - nice, calm place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had two nights at this small hotel. The rooms were OK, nothing more, at least on floor 0. But the compound was gorgeous for the price, a small pool and a nice area with sun chairs, outside restaurant etc. Very nice, and nice personnel aswell. We had dinner two times at the restaurant and the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
37
134
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed at the Relais Saline on our last night of a 10 day trip travelling around Sicily. The hotel is lovely - it has been very tastefully decorated and it has a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere with good facilities on site and lovely views. The hotel is obviously popular as it seemed full with most people eating in the restaurant (as we did). Our hotel room was lovely with a fairly big bathroom and a bath/shower. When we arrived we had a drink outside watching the sun go down over the islands in the distance. The food in the restaurant was lovely and prices were ok for both the food and wine (about 13 euros for pasta/15 euros for bottle of wine - the seafood couscous was tasty but a little overpriced at 25 euros with not a huge amount of seafood so would perhaps avoid that). The restaurant decor/setting is very quaint and quite modern - we had drinks outside in the courtyard after dinner which was lovely. The pool area again is very tastefully done - we had a morning lying in the sun before going up to Erice in the afternoon (about 30 mins by car and worth a visit). The hotel is a short drive from everything so a car would be useful but you could still get there by taxi. We don't usually eat at hotels we stay in as we like to go out and about, but we were happy to eat/have drinks here. This is one of the most modern and tasteful hotel we have stayed at in Italy (we love Italy so go quite a bit) - it just had a lovely feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were lucky and we had a room at the first floor: the view was gorgeus. The saline and the Island of Favignana were fantastic. I don't know if the view from the rooms at the ground floor with a very high windows was the same......the picture of the web site in the first floor rooom. The bathroom was ok with a nice shower but the room was small and a little poor. Excellent the public areas with a beautiful swimming pool and a nice garden. Altough quite expensive the restaurant was pretty good

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Honeymoon-like residence. The first receptionist in Sicily who could speak English well (what a relieve!) Elegant service, no hassle, special arranged early breakfast; . High quality diner, still affordable (13 euro's for the cheapest pasta, 20 euro's for a steak). Room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was sparkling.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I stayed 2 nights at the relais antiche saline and i enjoyed my stay there.
it is located in the best position of the Saline.
hotel is nice, clean with a very mediterranean touch, however i have to say that our room was a bit humid (no. 12) and with a slight smell of mould.
nice restaurant and swimming pool.
wifi available. don't know why they do not provide bike rent, would be useful in such location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Lovely and perfect but the peace! well, music during the afternoon by the pool and evenings, bit loud, so not as relaxing as I thought
But still a perfect setting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed at the Relais Antiche saline in October, we wanted a nice hotel that was near to Trapani airport (10 minute drive) as we had an early flight to catch,the hotel itself is very isolated as it is on the edge of the salt flats (next to the salt museum), there is no town as such within walking distance, the city of Trapani is 10 minute drive away & Erice about 15 minutes drive .
When we arrived at the hotel we checked in and were shown to a room- but we didn't like the room as the windows are very high up and did not have a view-there was no problem & we were moved straight away to a better room witha view of Trapani & we could see the boats leaving the port.In the morning we woke up & looked out of the window and saw the sun shining on the salt mounds .. like snow !
the hotels pool is more ornamental than funtional as far as we could tell .. with odd outside seating - that could of been cleaner !
we were told that as it was October the restaurant was closed & that they could only do sandwiches/salads at lunch time,on the evening we went 'next door' to the salt museum as it had a very rustic restaurant/trattoria-we had a phrase book (as we knew that little English is spoken in this part of Sicily) ordering food from the menu was fun/interesting ! .. but we had very nice fresh local fish-very good value as well .... the walk back to the hotel was tricky as it was pitch black we were glad we had a torch !

  • Liked — views of salt mounds & Erice
  • Disliked — impersonal service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Antiche Saline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Antiche Saline

Address: Via G. Verdi Snc | Localita Nubia Paceco Trapani, 91027 Paceco, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Paceco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Paceco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Antiche Saline 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The baglio (farmhouse) of Marquise Platamone can be found in Trapani and Paceco Salt Pan Nature Reserve. It is located a short distance from the sea, overlooking the Egadi archipelago that, in 241 B.C., Was the site of the naval battle between the Romans and the Carthaginians.In more recent years it has been the location of the 32nd America's Cup sailing contest.The careful renovation which has been carried out to convert the farm house into accommodation facilities has preserved both the environment and the genuine characteristics of Sicilian tradition.The Relais Antiche Saline is halfway between Trapani airport and the city centre, only a few kilometers from both.In fact, in only 10 minutes you can get to Nubia and arrive at the Relais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Antiche Saline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Antiche Saline Paceco, Province Of Trapani, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Antiche Saline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.