We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - excellent location - heating issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo La Soldanella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergo La Soldanella to your Saves list
Albergo La Soldanella
Via De Giacomi, 1, 23024 Madesimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Somewhere in Europe
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good value for money - excellent location - heating issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to this small, family run hotel last winter for our skiing holidays.

The place is very conveniently located in the village center and it's very close to the main gondola. The manager (Barbara) is also the premises owner and she was so kind and helpful, like all the hotel staff.

Dinner food was very good (the hotel is also a restaurant open to public) and served in generous portions, moreover waiters never missed to offer us a "taste" of the other dishes of the menu, being these "tastes" another complete meal in fact!

The only issue we encountered was that our room was not heated in a proper way (too cold), while we heard other guests talking about feeling too hot in their rooms. If Barbara works out these heating problems, her hotel will deserve five stars in its category.

A suggestion for newcomers to the hotel: when arriving, you're authorized - as hotel patrons - to reach the main entrance with your car even if there are no-entry signs; don't forget to give your reg number to Barbara, who will take care of passing it to the city council - otherwise you get fined by the road cams.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We first found about about this place when we went for a pizza! The pizzas are lush so we quickly booked up for a cheeky weekend away skiing!! This hotel is less than a five minute walk from the gondola.
The rooms were clean and spacious , the food was perfect and the staff were very friendly!

Would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located in the very center of Madesimo and it is very close to the main sport attractions (both in winter and in summer). Rooms are basic, clean but eligible for a renovation. Breakfast is OK especially in comparison with Italian standard. Price is adequate. I would suggest it especially for short stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Difficult to think of anything to add to previous reviews but feel I really wanted to comment. This was our first visit to Madesimo. Thanks to the great skiing we would like to return but it is our experience at The Soldanella which sealed the decision. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Our two boys (11 and7) were made to feel very much at home by all staff and they both felt relaxed enough to pop downstairs from the dining room to play table tennis or table football without a second thought. The food was excellent and the choice varied which suited us all as a family. We came back off the slopes a couple of days to enjoy pizza in the hotel which was beyond delicious.
The room was always cosy with loads of hot water and enough towels to equip us for twice the time. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of storage for the whole family's belongings.
As I said everything else such as location, boot/ski storage has been commented upon before. I can only second all of that.
Many thanks to Barbara, Francesco and the entire team. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visiting first time in Madesimo just week ago and staying in Soldanella was very nice experience. Very good skiing varying from blue runs to off-pistes from Groppera.
Soldanella was very nice, excellent food + greatest thanks to Barbara & team for atmosphere and service. We are coming back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in a few hotels in Madesimo and this is the best by far, second time at the Soldanella and it gets better everytime. Great position next to main chair lift. Hotel has a great feel with staff as friendly as you can get (Barbara and Mr Barbara and staff are amazing), food is excellent and lots of it, value for money can not be beaten. Says it is 2 star, but it is definately way more than that! Will be back again, and again! Perfect skiing holiday hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was the first time we had arranged an independent ski trip for the family and I have to say it was worth the extra effort. The Soldanella was a perfect family run hotel, from the warm welcome from Barbara, to the funny and attentive staff members who made sure you had everything you needed. We had a room on the front (101) with a small balcony so we could sit out and watch the world go by, and the sun go down which was a lovely touch.

The location is perfect for the lifts as the gondela is just over the road, and with a ski hire shop next door and the ski pass office at the gondela station you have everything you need within easy reach.

The hotel has a ski storage area on the side of the hotel, but the boots are stored in a series of heated cupboards in the main hotel so no problems with cold, stiff boots in the morning.
There is a very good bar in the hotel, but there are plenty of others around, including cafe central, Queens Club, and Cafe L'Genuina to name a few.

The buffet breakfast may be discribed as continental, but it was extensive with several cereals, toast, jams, cakes, eggs, cheese, ham, rolls, coissants.......it goes on and on. Dinner is also a feast for the eyes and each dish chosen was as delicious as the last (and you were always offered a sample of the other dishes on the menu).

Overall this hotel was the perfect base for skiing in this lovely, compact resort, and above all was brillant value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo La Soldanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Soldanella

Address: Via De Giacomi, 1, 23024 Madesimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Madesimo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo La Soldanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo La Soldanella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.