We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grotta di Tiberio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Grotta di Tiberio to your Saves list
Hotel Grotta di Tiberio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flacca, Km 15,700, 4029 Sperlonga, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spotless Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel is in a good location, 300 metres from the beach. The staff are friendly and the restaurant served some beautiful food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    79
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
85
117
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are currently staying in This hotel. How do I say how fabulous is this hotel. It is very modern, rooms tastefully appointed, own front door, own patio with chairs table and recliners, well maintained grounds, family friendly pool, bar, restaurant, short walk to beach, longer walk to Centro Storico (but with good paths and steps) with great views! The staff are also very friendly -what more could you asked for?

Sperlonga is a "secret escapes" and the hill top town, overlooking the sea on three sides, it is one of the prettiest towns in which to relax. restaurants offer great seafood and local specialities at reasonable prices and there are many places to get cocktails before dinner. A little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uusimaa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We found this hotel through booking.com and tripadvisor and we were pleasantly surprised. It was good value for money. We paid around £220 for three nights in a superior room which gave us our own terrace, with a view over to Sperlonga town and the sea.
The location of the hotel is ideal. It is a ten minute stroll, along a red path and up some steps to the old town. Two minutes walk from the hotel is the beach. The Grotto of Tiberius is five minute walk in the other direction from the town.
The room was comfortable and clean. The pool and surrounding area was also very clean and well maintained. It was very quiet most of the time, so it felt like we had our own private pool.
The breakfast was also very good. Lots of choice, including some locally produced cheeses. There is also a car park from those driving. We came by train, which meant getting off the train in Fondi-Sperlonga and a twenty five euro taxi ride. You can get a bus for a euro but it drops you at the top of the old town.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room to get a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a Superior room which included 2 singles (for our 8 and 10 year old) and double. The room was very large and had a beautiful balcony with views out towards the sea.

After 4 nights in Rome we had hired a car and driven the 2 hours to the beautiful coast in Sperlonga. Unfortunately the weather changed mid way through our time in Sperlonga or else we would have happily spent all the time at the beach/ by the lovely pool. While Rome had felt very busy in october, this definitely felt like end of season in Sperlonga. There were very few people on the beach and most of the town restaurants were closed on weekday evenings.

We were given a warm welcome at the hotel. At first we were surprised to be what seemed like a long way from the old town, but it was only a 10 - 15 minute walk along a lit pathway and the beach was just 5 minutes walk away. It was actually a lovely location under the hills.

Breakfast at the hotel was ok, but nothing special . We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was fine, but it was fun to try some of the other places in the old town. Fish is fabulous in Sperlonga as is the mozarella.

We would recommend visiting
> Tiberius' cave/ museum ... just 10 minutes walk away. Lovely views from the pathway just above.
> Gaeta old town
> Pompeii : it was really interesting but it's a long way - nearly 2 hours driving each way. An alternative if going back towards Rome would be Ostia Antica - the old harbour and town, also very interesting.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel. The service was very good.

Yes.. the rooms are a bit small, but we were only there for 3 nights so not an issue.

We would go back for sure. Access is by foot to the main town and beaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights here from 21/9/2012, and really enjoyed it.
The location is great, 5 minutes from a lovely beach with sea great for swimming, 10 minutes from Tiberius's Grotto and museum (must do!), and 15 minutes walk from the lovely town. Terracina and Gaeta, both well worth visiting were within 20 minutes drive.
The room, although smallish, was very comfortable, immaculate and thoroughly cleaned, with fresh towels daily. The A/C was quiet and effective. The room terrace, had cozy chairs for relaxing.
The breakfast was superb, the pool, with many loungers, very nice. Pool/beach towels were available for €1.50 each (for as long as you needed them - not per day ((this is handy if you don't want to take bulky towels in your case))).
The staff were very helpful (especially Donatella, who offered helpful information without us requesting it).
We had to leave before breakfast time on our last day, and were provided with substantial and tasty packed breakfasts.
Remember to take insect repellent - we were bitten and itchy/scratchy - it may have been time of year or maybe that it was pretty hot and humid when we were there.
A final point, by coincidence the "Sapore di Mare" annual festival was on in a piazza in the lower town for the 3 weekend nights when we were there - it was fantastic! - bands on stage (especially the Blues Others group) plus free snacks and wine! We were eating, drinking and dancing and had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent 11 nights half-board. I think previous reviews are a tad overly complimentary.
Positives:
Close to good beach, free Wi-fi in rooms, comfy beds, pleasant pool area with ample sun-loungers.
Negatives:
Food disappointing- very basic breakfast & dinner not up to usual Italian standards. No lounge (we had some rain and besides your room, or the reception area, there is nowhere to sit). Definitely a "fair weather" hotel.
Staff generally seem miserable (except for lady at reception) although they are obliging
Poor soundproofing in our room 301 - we could hear every word spoken in the adjoining rooms when in the bathroom. Couldn't work out why.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grotta di Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta di Tiberio

Address: Via Flacca, Km 15,700, 4029 Sperlonga, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sperlonga
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sperlonga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sperlonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grotta di Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most beautiful and unspoilt place of the Pontino coast, we find the hotel Grotta di Tiberio in Sperlonga located in the province of Latina. At 800 meters from the historic centre and 250 metres from the beach, this newly opened 4-stars hotel enjoys a splendid view and is equipped with a swimming pool with Jacuzzi, large garden, solarium and parking.The hotel has comfortable rooms all with bathroom, shower, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, air conditioning, minibar, digital TV and safety box. The hotel also has a bar and an Internet point.In short an ideal place to spend a short weekend or holidays in the company of friends or family.To make it even nicer your stay will be the "La Veranda" restaurant, which with the dishes based on Mediterranean genuine cuisine and revisited in a modern style from our chef will surprise you in palate and elegant presentation with which they are prepared.The service, is carried out in detail, by the pool with an enchanting panorama of the sea and the ancient Bourg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grotta Di Tiberio Hotel
Grotta Di Tiberio Sperlonga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grotta di Tiberio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.