We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Ulisse

La Taverna di Ulisse
Via Cristoforo Colombo,11, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
+ 39 0771 548511
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 68 Restaurants in Sperlonga
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staff were a bit slow and preferred to play on their phones but the food was very nice. Pleasant outdoor seating area in a small square with no traffic going by. Went there 3 times during our 9 day stay.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    22
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Service leaves much to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was quite tasty, restaurant is in a great location right by the sea. Unfortunately the waiters we dealt with should really find other jobs. They were disinterested and seemingly would rather have been anywhere else but there. Ruined the whole experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Extremely poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Extremely poor service. We waited half an hour before finally getting service. The whole experience was stressful and unnecessary. Looking back I don't know why we didn't just walk away. The essence of the problem seems to be young waiting staff who don't seem to know what they are doing and maybe the problems could be dealt with by appropriate training. The food was good. We felt we had to warn people off going to this place and did tell some of our experience. It was evident others were having problems too. We won't be going back. We left no tip. We are sorry to have to write this, but potential customers and the owner need to be aware that there us a real problem here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst restaraunt service of our entire Italy vacation!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are A British family so don't expect a fast paced meal like Americans, but this place was ridiculous. There were not even many tables occupied and we waited literally 15 minutes before we had to hail the waiter. He was totally uncommunicative, no personality and the slowest person in Italy. There was no effort by him to be customer friendly. He placed menus on the able and water and just walked away.......everything was a difficult process and if the food had not been so good we would have walked away. Best pizza and salad we had in Italy. You can smell the wood oven from outside. Beer was cold and the location was just off the beach. If it had not been for the terrible service, we would definitely have eaten there more than once in our 4 day stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Right next to Hotel Aurora in the paved square leading to the beach, this restaurant provide what was for us the best pizza in Sperlonga of the limited number of restaurants used. Naturally there are many pizza outlets available, but we decided to look no further after sampling theirs.
Pizza is not the only fare to be had at this very pleasant restaurant, which has exterior as well as interior seating, the latter however providing limited, n-but nevertheless typical Italian facilities.

The frequent necessity (Sundays always) to book a table speaks volumes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Ulisse also viewed

Sperlonga, Province of Latina
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
 
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
 

Been to La Taverna di Ulisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di Ulisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.