We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric seaside dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mudejar Spiriti e Cucina

Mudejar Spiriti e Cucina
Via Torre d Nibbio, 5, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
3386839418
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 63 restaurants in Sperlonga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmospheric seaside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I visited Sperlonga alone, and stumbled on Mudejar after an aperitivo in the main piazza of Sperlonga. The promise of carbonara with fresh swordfish drew me in but I ultimately opted for the catch of the day. Expertly prepared, the fish was flakey and tasty and served with a yummy lemmon/olive oil sauce. When they offered to de-bone it for me I accepted, but do it yourself! There were still numerous bones and I think I could have done just as well and perhaps kept more of the meat. The wait staff was friendly, if a bit perfunctory. But they had no problem seating me around 8:30--by 9 the restaurant was full. The view is of the centro storico's main street and the big, dark sky. I was very pleased with my accidental choice. Mangia!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    198
    90
    45
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good restaurant great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a good, primarily fish restaurant in the old centre of Sperlonga with nearby a great view of the bay. Starters are very good, main courses are OK, the squid with oranges sounded better than it tasted but both desserts were excellent. Friendly service. All in all worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food & an unfussy menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Dont get me wrong, the menu was interesting and exciting, but it was sort of like large tapas, so we shared 2 dishes (I have a very small appetite, so 3 would probably be more suitable for 2 people). Neither of us are massive fans of the traditional carbohydrate course and separate meat course, so this worked out very well for us. I would highly recommend this place, beautiful location, romantic setting, friendly staff and very reasonably priced. And of course, wonderful food! Probably one of the best meals on my holiday!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This restaurant was located in the hills with an absolute fantastic view of overlooking the beach. I rated this a 4 because the food was good but not the absolute best. I'm a hard critique so I'm guessing most people would rate a 5. I would go back if I ever visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fish only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Cute restaurant but the fish does not work for me. Atmosphere and staff is great. Both had a pasta with fish. Not the best of sperlonga according to me

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mudejar Spiriti e Cucina also viewed

Sperlonga, Province of Latina
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
 
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
 

Been to Mudejar Spiriti e Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mudejar Spiriti e Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.