We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small area, great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof zum Kreuz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gasthof zum Kreuz to your Saves list
Gasthof zum Kreuz
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Scheuergasse 1, 79271 St. Peter im Schwarzwald, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Lakes, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small area, great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here as a way to be "out of the way" of the larger touristy areas of the Black Forest. It was a great choice. The place doesn't look like much as you drive up to it. In fact, we were not sure how to enter the place: there seems to be a separate entrance for the hotel and restaurant, even though they're both connected.

Anyways, the room was clean and comfortable enough to sleep in and the balcony seemed really nice. However the shining star was the restaurant. It might have been because we were rather tired arriving to the location and simply wanted to eat, but the food tasted really good. Everything was done from scratch and it showed. If nothing else, have desert there... the hand made ice cream, especially the chocolate, was really good :-)

As we left we got some home made jam/jelly... that was awesome. We're trying to figure out how to get more!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel is all you can expect after a day of hiking in the Black Forest. It is right across the lovely basilica and the town square.
The rooms are all indivdually decorated and very spacious. Everything is perfectly clean and you have a good restaurant with a nice outside area where you can enjoy traditional German food and beverages.
On top of it you have free internet access on a public PC.
Bottom line of our stay - excellent value for money and the perfect place to rest on hiking tour in the Black Forest.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

this place deserves 5-stars for its most exquisite rooms with much attention to detail. For this price, the rooms was hard to beat. We had the most wonderful rooms with the most wonderful touches. I did not want to leave!!! The beds were so comfortable and everything was so clean.

We had rooms 10, 11 and 8. One of the rooms, 11, even had a large bathtub that the kids loved. Very rare in europe! And room #11 was the best, by far!

If you are planning a wedding, they also have a great barnhouse at the back that can be used for receptions.

You will also love Barbara's dog, Vera! He's a large one but such a cutie!

Cons: not walking distance to any sights but situated well for a quiet retreat.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay here. The cute couple that runs the hotel are very friendly. I felt very welcome. The room was extremely clean. Food was traditional German cuisune and excellent. I would highly recommend the stay. There are so many places to hike in the area. The hotel also has a very nice banquet facility.

  • Liked — the excellent service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof zum Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof zum Kreuz

Address: Scheuergasse 1, 79271 St. Peter im Schwarzwald, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > St. Peter im Schwarzwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter im Schwarzwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof zum Kreuz 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rombach Nostalgie Gastronomie - Zum Kreuz Hotel is located in Sankt Peter, 20 minutes from Freiburg im Breisgau. On-site amenities include well-appointed rooms, a restaurant serving typical specialties and a beautiful terrace overlooking the baroque abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof zum Kreuz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Zum Kreuz Germany/St. Peter Im Schwarzwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof zum Kreuz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.