We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the first visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terranuova Bracciolini
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo
Save
You added Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo to your Saves list
4a Strada Lungarno, 588, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Even better than the first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Having decided to rebook almost as soon as we returned from San Lorenzo last year, we felt a little apprehensive about returning this year as we felt it could not possibly be as good as last year. We needn't have worried. Ruth and Salvatore were just as welcoming and the food if anything was even better than last year! The children made friends on the very first evening and the adults we met were fantastic. The whole week was just perfect and so relaxing as well as being a lot of fun.
As always Ruth could not do enough for us and showed what a special person she is when one of the families needed help taking their daughter to hospital in Florence after burning herself while helping her mummy make coffee. The whole community of San Lorenzo both guests and management pulled together to help the family.
Our apartment
La Loggia is supposed to be for three but there are four of us and we had plenty of space. The kitchen is small but I would recommend Salvatore's food rather than cooking yourself as it is just so good!
All in all a beautiful setting with beautiful people and I would recommend this special place to anyone with children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our first stay was in the summer of 2011. It was one of the most relaxing enjoyable holidays we have ever had! This place is pretty special. It kind of draws you in and for us we felt totally at home. We are returning this year with a few more family members and can't wait!!

I agree with some other reviews. Ruth is wonderful as front of house. A very special lady who is warm and friendly and genuinely wants you to have a good time. She frequently goes beyond the call of duty. For example, she gave us a lift to and from the train station on a very busy day for her, and did it all with a "no problem" attitude. All the staff are wonderful, Salvatore a most humble and lovely man. Freddie the dog who melted all our hearts, especially our daughter who cried when leaving (and Im sure that dog was crying aswell!) and has talked constantly of returning to Podere San Lorenzo.

We are so looking forward to our return visit this summer.

To us this holiday conjures up happiness, rustic charm and good old times together with family and friends...new and old.

Simple as that!,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Recommendation is paramount when booking accommodation in a place you have never been before.
It was quite a responsibility to choose a holiday let for ourselves and four friends from the U.S.
So, with such good feedback from previous guests at Podere San Lorenzo, I felt confident that we would be totally happy and comfortable there.
NOT THE CASE!!
We arrived at about 5 p.m. after a long drive to find that we were not expected, despite having to pay for our apartment by bank transfer, in full, at the time of booking!
No sheets, towels or curtains, so we had no choice but to go away and return in two hours!
Ruth had finished making the beds when we returned, and the curtains would go up the next day.
Not enough dishes for six people in the three bedroom apartment and no drawers in one of the bedrooms, so Ruth sorted that out for us.
Comfortable seating for four only, so two of us had to sit on hard chairs when relaxing (in between running around trying to kill the flies).
Sadly, when we asked for extra towels, we were asked to pay 8 Euros!!
It is not about the money, but if I was running this business, I would have offered a glass of wine or towels at no extra charge as a way of saying "sorry" for the mess up!
A bit of customer service goes a long way!
The constant insect companions inside and outside the apartment meant that it was not a comfortable stay. Our first duty was not to go shopping for shoes and handbags, as you might expect when in Italy, but to source numerous anti insect ammunition. Sprays, candles, tablets etc. etc.
Needless to say, we decided not to eat in the restaurant on site!!!!!
I suppose we should have expected the unsavoury smells, as we were on a farm, but.................. we didn't.
They could have put the pig pen a little further away from the apartment buildings!
All in all, I would give this place 4 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the fifth visit in three years for our tour company and we are never disappointed by the fabulous welcome and smiling faces of Ruth and Salavatore.
This visit was for 11 nights and we all stayed in Casa Anna
We did not bother hiring a car from Pisa airport this time instead Ruth organised a local taxi to collect 5 adults with bags for a return cost of 340 euros.
The taxi company are based in montavarchi and are more than happy to arrange group days out.
Or you can hire a car from the local township on a day to day basis.
We were able to visit Florence by train as Ruth took us to the train station and then you have a 25 mins journey to the centre of Florence without any car parking headaches!
We decided to eat every evening at the restaurant within the complex and rate the homemade pizzas as better than anywhere else.
The 3 course evening meals are always freshly made with most of the produce coming from the farm, this includes the local wine which is also from the local vines. I recommend the 2006!
Their wine list has some exceptional labels, Amarone, Barolo, and the Tuscan Brunello.
It's not cheap but no more expensive than the other restraints charge and you have the magnificent views to take in whilst enjoying your tipple.
We had several games of tennis , which in the hight of summer made jumping in the lovely swimming pool even more enjoyable.

I did not like the fact that some our Germanic guests would lay claim to the sun beds and then go out for the day. This needs addressing by the management as it could spoil a truly relaxing holiday.
We will be planning our next visit for Easter (1 week) followed by a 10 day break in summer.
Can't wait!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We would agree with most of what is said within the Summer 2012 reviews and were very impressed with the facilities, food (although there is room for improvement with breakfast)location and customer service provided by Rachel and family. However if you are offered Casa Padronale be aware that although spacious this has a shared entrance into the lounge which we found uncomfortable and were not previously warned about. We have spent many of our summer holiday's in Tuscany and would recommend others to stay here, however check out the specific apartment carefully before you book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed as a family with three children at the end of August / beginning of September. I was initially a bit apprehensive about taking the children out of their comfort zone (they are used to package holidays with entertainment etc.) but could not have been more wrong. I felt that they really appreciated the simplicity of the farm - the animals, the hide and seek, and especially THE MOST FRIENDLY DOG IN THE WORLD!! Freddy the alsatian was the highlight of the trip for all three of them, and they liked nothing better than taking him for a walk to see the animals first thing every morning. The highlight for me was that I actually forgot what day it was! Regularly!! A real opportunity to "switch off" and just relax.
A perfect holiday made even better by the friendliness of Ruth, Salvatore and their lovely family and staff.
Thank you so much for a fantastic break, and all the very best for the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a wonderful week (8-15 Sep) at San Lorenzo, with our daughter (18 months) and parents.
We would thoroughly recommend this to anyone seeking a true Tuscan experience.
San Lorenzo is an idyllic rural retreat, well situated for exploring the beautiful and historic offerings of Tuscany.
The Estate itself rises to a stunning hillltop setting, surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and a variety of farm animals.
It offers more variety and local culture than a hotel or villa could hope to.
However, it is the hosts (Ruth, Salvatore, Thomas and Britney) make this place special.
Their service is exemplary. Their passion and hard work is evident throughout.
Salvatore's home cooking is excellent and all the more so, in the knowledge that almost all produce is from the Estate.
The half board option offers excellent value.
If you are looking for something special in Tuscany - you will go a long way to beat San Lorenzo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Lorenzo apt which is ideal for 4-5 people and offers the privacy of being on se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo

Address: 4a Strada Lungarno, 588, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Terranuova Bracciolini
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Terranuova Bracciolini
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.