We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tuscan retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo
4a Strada Lungarno, 588, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect Tuscan retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a wonderful week (8-15 Sep) at San Lorenzo, with our daughter (18 months) and parents.
We would thoroughly recommend this to anyone seeking a true Tuscan experience.
San Lorenzo is an idyllic rural retreat, well situated for exploring the beautiful and historic offerings of Tuscany.
The Estate itself rises to a stunning hillltop setting, surrounded by vineyards, olive groves and a variety of farm animals.
It offers more variety and local culture than a hotel or villa could hope to.
However, it is the hosts (Ruth, Salvatore, Thomas and Britney) make this place special.
Their service is exemplary. Their passion and hard work is evident throughout.
Salvatore's home cooking is excellent and all the more so, in the knowledge that almost all produce is from the Estate.
The half board option offers excellent value.
If you are looking for something special in Tuscany - you will go a long way to beat San Lorenzo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Lorenzo apt which is ideal for 4-5 people and offers the privacy of being on se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Ruth and her family make you feel totally at home as soon as you drive through the gates! Nothing is too much trouble and the food is fantastic. We stayed for a week and wish we had stayed for two. We met some really lovely people and the children made loads of friends. The overwhelming feeling is one of trust and respect. We will definitely be returning and would recommend Podere San Lorenzo to anyone. Having a car is beneficial as it is a very convenient place to visit many beautiful places such as Florence and Siena. Thank you Ruth,Thomas and Salvatori for a very happy holiday which we class as one of our best.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at San Lorenzo in August 2012 for two weeks as a family of three, our daughter is (was) nine. We thoroughly enjoyed it despite the record temperatures of over 40C almost every day!

The heart and soul of this "resort" is the family managing it - Ruth (front of house), Salvatore (back of house & head chef) and their son Thomas (a bit of everything). They and all their staff have provided perhaps the best customer service we have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble, including in our case no less than three trips to the local doctor! They genuinely care for their guests as much as they care for their business which is why they have so many good reviews and so much repeat business. Even if there are things you can pick on, you don't because the overall experience outweighs anything else. In the end it feels more personal than just a business transaction for a holiday. This is a place and a family you want to succeed.

We rate the service as spectacular and other aspects as good or very good giving an average of very good to fit in with TA system.

I'll now try to be more specific and helpful. :-)

The location is easy to get to by car, as we did, with fast access from the Autostrada. This also helps with travel times to certain other parts of Tuscany for those wanting to explore the area. Rome even is only a 2hr drive south so is within day-trip range. There is ample covered parking in close proximity to the apartments and it's possible to move your car right next to them for short periods for loading and unloading the bags. Although there were people staying without a car I'd have to say it is much better to have one as there is nothing within walking distance.

San Lorenzo is on a hill and could not be more private and peaceful. The views from every direction are of the Tuscan countryside or vineyards. Being on a hill, you often get a refreshing breeze in the evening and despite the extreme heat we encountered we never felt as completely overwhelmed by it as we did when we took a day out to visit Florence or other cities. For this reason, and the fact we have already seen a lot of Tuscany, we spent a lot of our time at the resort and by the pool.

The working farm activities do not intrude in any way but are there to enjoy, the animals for example, if you wish to. An added bonus for kids or animal lovers.

The meal packages are good value and you should not be worried about booking them in advance. We had a couple of breakfasts and nine dinners and enjoyed them all. Food quality of course depends what you are used to and if you are a real food nut then you will want to go out and explore other restaurants as we did. San Lorenzo aims to be highly self sufficient in ingredients they use which naturally enough restricts the menu options, no fish for example, but what is served is very well done and plentifull. The taste of the home produced ingredients does come through. You will certainly not be disappointed with the quality or quantity of Salvatore's cooking, you may wish for a wider menu. Italian breakfasts are always a sad thing for someone who enjoys a "Full English" but San Lorenzo breakfast is as good or better than you can expect anywhere else. All our meals were on the outdoor terrace by the pool. A lovely setting with the opportunity to socialize with other guests or not, as you choose.

The pool was one of the reasons we chose San Lorenzo as our daughter is half dolphin, hence our first doctors visit being for "swimmers ear"! It is an excellent "family pool" and suited our purposes very well. If you want a tranquil moment of breast stroke and reflection you will be restricted to breakfast time or late evening really, depending of course on the number of kids staying at the time. On the other hand, if you have kids then they are unlikely to be short of friends to play with. The question of sunbeds is no different to everywhere else you might stay and I won't go into it except to say the German family previously mentioned (valid comments) were in every other respect very nice people.

It is easy to get coffee, cold drinks and ice-creams by the pool either being served when someone is there or helping yourself (except coffee) and writing it in the book.

Because we stayed from Wednesday to Wednesday we were in two different apartments. The first was Casa Lucia which was okay, with a good central location. It is called "boutique" and I think this is best interpreted as being better for 2 people than for 4 and for those not intending to cook an awful lot. That's our opinion though. The next people in there were a family of four and they seemed happy enough. Our second was La Capanna, which is the wooden hut. This was much more spacious and located at the far end of the resort away from other guests and closer to the farm so you have more privacy or more isolation depending on your point of view. It worked fine for us.

The immediate surrounding area and the town of Terranuovo B is nothing spectacular by Tuscan standards but unless you intended to walk everywhere this is not a concern. It does provide all the services and shops you might need, supermarket and so forth. A very short drive gets you into the sort of countryside and villages you expect to see around here and there is plenty of choice for days out, wine, food, etc.

Overall, as said at the top, we really enjoyed our stay and would like to thank Ruth, Salvatore and Thomas for making this a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in one of the villas near the tennis court. We are a family of 4, a teenager and a young girl, so it is hard to find holidays which suit everyone's interests. But this was fantastic. Tennis for the lad, plus lounging around the pool, and swimming for the girl. We also traveled around a bit and the location near the motorway is great for that. We self-catered easily and then had one meal in the restaurant as a treat. The meal was superb, simple and delicious. The villa was clean on arrival and we had clean towels and sheets after a week. Ruth and Thomas are incredibly helpful and the whole holiday was very easy. No hesitation recommending this place to friends and hope to be back ourselves soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We recently stayed with the very welcoming Ruth and Salvatore. We took a big apartment that was clean and spacious. Ruth and son Thomas were very accomodating and Salvatore' food was great.
It is a working farm but surprsingly it is very difficult to go on a decent walk due to fences and boundays.
The farm has a nice pool with stunning views. Pool life is complete with German tourists who seem to get up at an ungodly hour to claim all the best sun loungers for the whole day and then only actually visit the pool for an hour which they then completely dominate by habitual dive bombing.

We often go to Tuscany but it was our first time to that part. The towns are not pretty and it seems to be at the heart of a distribution district but a short drive and your in the lovely Chianti region, the A1 gives you excellent access to Florence and Pisa and the local town has a direct train to Rome which we made use of (The farm is in lovely countryside).
On the whole we had a great stay and our hosts were lovely.

Top tip - don't book your hire car with Auto Europe, they messed up our booking, were happy to leave us without car 11.30 at night at Pisa airport and were very unhelpful.

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor big apartment, spacious with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Myself and my family stayed with Ruth, Salvatore & Thomas whom I will say went so far beyond customer service.... they did all of the little things that made this trip unforgettable! Our 2 young children had the freedom to play and were brought on trips around the farm to encounter all of the animals. We didn't rent a car which we thought might be a problem however Ruth and Thomas brought us into the city centre where we could catch a train to another city or they would ask us each morning if there was anything we might need and they would do our shopping for us. The evenings were exactly what a holiday should be - amazing food combined with such a relaxed atmosphere you really never wanted to leave. I would go back again without hesitation. It was the first holiday that I can say I actually took a step back and enjoyed everything that was there on offer. All I can say is Thank you so very much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a lovely time and food was wonderful. Would defintely suggest taking the food package on offer, as good value and I think I would have struggled to cook in the heat (our apartment also didnt have a very big area to cook - this may be different in other accommodation so would check if thinking of doing lots of cooking). The pool area was very good, with plenty of sunloungers. We played tennis a couple of times, but as it was so hot we couldn't do quite as much as we would have done. Would have loved a tennis table for teenagers...maybe a suggestion.

Would recommend visiting Florence early on a Sunday morning as it was easy to park at Florence Train Station. We went again in the week and it was a little too busy and very hard to park. We also went to Sienna, which I would highly recommend - especially good late afternoon for an evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo

Address: 4a Strada Lungarno, 588, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Terranuova Bracciolini
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty lodging in Terranuova Bracciolini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Podere San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.