We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel il Viandante

Save Saved
You added Hotel il Viandante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel il Viandante
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Poggilupi, 668, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Malta
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Hotel is very clean and service is excellent. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast has a wide variety of choice and food is excellent. Hotel is situated in the middle of Tuscany, and 30 minutes walk from the train station or ten minutes by bus or car. It is then quite easy to reach Firenze, Arezzo or Siena from the station. A very relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Economy rooms are very cheap and still comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
36
19
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here in October for three nights. Lovely hotel with large room and large bathroom, both very clean. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Good breakfast. Great location for Florence and Siena. Just off autostrada so a car is a must. Close to railway station for Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Family run and familiar envirnment. Perfect location for Tuscany and more, just off autostrada. Rooms are bright, spacious and very clean. Buffet Breakfast starts your day perfectly. Staff extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of the notorious August summer.

These are things I like about the hotel: Location - It is close to the Prada outlet mall Space and The Mall for shopping. It is close to scenic countryside locations like Radda, Giaole, Greve. It is also next to a petrol kiosk and a few restaurants, so if you are feeling lazy to go far, you can just eat at the restaurants within 5 minutes of walking.

Staff - They are friendly and speak good English. They upgraded our rooms as we were newly weds, which was a really nice gesture. Before my travel, I emailed the owner for some tips on where to travel in the Chianti region, which the owner replied the very next day. This helped me immensely in planning my driving route. In the end, I planned a 1 day driving route from the hotel to Gaiole, Radda and then up to Greve. Coming back, I stopped at The Mall outlet, followed by Prada Space outlet mall, and finally back to the hotel.

Cost - It is value for money.

Comfort - Room and toilet were both quite spacious and clean.

Parking - Free parking for hotel guests.

The main downside of this hotel was that the air-conditioning was not strong enough to cool the room in the intense summer heat, even at night. You have to be prepared for this, probably with a small portable battery operated fan or simply just sleeping without the blankets and sheets. What I did, which hopefully did not cause trouble to the hotel owners, was I moved my bed directly to under the central airconditioning. This really helped a lot on my second night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We travel at least once a year by car from The Netherlands to my grandparents who live in the south of Italy. Hotel Il Viandante is very well located a couple hundred kilometers south from the middle of the total travel distance. It is very close to a highway exit, so getting there is very easy and time-efficient.
The hotel is clean, with comfortable rooms and helpful staff. The breakfast is decent and the price is pretty well too.

We've stayed here for two consecutive years and if traffic allows us to stop in this area again, we will certainly stay at il Viandante again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele P, Proprietario at Hotel il Viandante, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Google Translation
Gulp 2 anni di di ritorni continui sono tanti! una soddisfazione che si commenta da sola!
Siamo orgogliosi di esser un vostro punto di riferimento, tanti saluti e ringraziamenti anche ai nonni che sono il motivo trainante delle vostre partenze!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in a few hotels in this region and I must say the IL Viandante is definitely the best here! Super clean and big rooms, very polite staff, good breakfast and ample parking. I will remember to bring fridge magnets for the owner when i drop by the next trip as I know she collects them =)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just arrived around 8PM after 4 hours traveling by car and we found a very pleasant receptionist and a really good basket full of fresh fruits.
The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom well organized.
It is located close to the main motorway and all the best locations of Tuscany could be reached. In the morning a well sorted breakfast is available.
Very good for business purpose in the area, but not only!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele P, Proprietario at Hotel il Viandante, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi Superescricciolina (nice nik, SuperLittleBabyHamster in Eng)..
You were absolutely right when you have told to the pleasant receptionist because hi was me!
^_^ (i'm joking)..
We remember you very clearly you were really tired when you arrived here and we are happy that you like the fresh basket fruit into the hall..
You have to know that those fruits are coming from our fields, they are sited directly behind the hotel. If you want, next time, we will tell you where the plant are exactly and you will be able to go there taking fruits directly from the fruit garden!

Once thank again, all the best ... Ema.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel il Viandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Viandante

Address: Via Poggilupi, 668, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Terranuova Bracciolini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Terranuova Bracciolini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Viandante 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premise: If you do not have a car, rent them or change hotel.How we are: the external appearance is not the best, but the interior is the opposite, especially for the Cleanest, large and beautiful rooms. Who: Short breaks, usually 2/3 days, for who don't wanna be worried about question like on-budget or over-budget, for who wanna eat well and finally hates traffic. technology with wi-fi for free, sky in the bedroom and hall, TV LCD 26. A 300 metri dall'uscita Valdarno dell’autostrada A1, ma lontano dai rumori del traffico, l'Hotel Il Viandante si trova in una posizione strategica: a breve distanza da Terranuova Bracciolini, San Giovanni Valdarno e Montevarchi; dista 15 minuti di auto da Arezzo e 25 minuti da Firenze Sud, 45 da Siena.L’Hotel *** offre camere spaziose dotate di ogni comfort: frigorifero, kit per la preparazione di tè e caffè, tv LCD 26' e SKY, connessione internet WI-FI free. La colazione, abbondante e varia, offre specialità della zona, sia dolci che salate. Di fronte all’hotel è un ampio parcheggio gratuito e un piacevole giardino.Possibilità di camere riservate con accesso diretto dall’esterno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel il Viandante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel il Viandante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.