We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle Shocker” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Bragadin 2, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Fiumicino
GreenLeadersGold level
australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Shuttle Shocker”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We booked the Garden Inn for an overnight between flights because it was said to be very near the airport and to have a shuttle service, something important to us as my husband has mobility problems and must use a wheelchair in airports. I'd checked the transfer info beforehand and asked the wheelchair man to take us to the bus stop specified, which he was reluctant to do, as it was a very long walk from our arrival point at T1. When we got there there was a Garden Inn shuttle sign but no shuttle, and a driver from another shuttle told us that the Garden Inn had discontinued the service. We were taken back to a general bus stop (a long walk for me hauling luggage!) but found no information. I phoned the number on the Garden Inn confirmation form but it turned out to be a fax machine, which was annoying at global roaming prices. Finally an airport bus arrived and the driver told us he went to the Garden Inn, so after a 20 minute ride we finally arrived, feeling tired and angry. It had taken us a bit more than an hour to get from the terminal to the hotel. The reception desk told us the info on their website was indeed out of date but said that there was "a pop up notice" about the change; it certainly didn't pop up on our computer, however! After that, things got better. The Garden Inn is large, a standard mid range Hilton designed to cater for American tastes, and is obviously heavily used. Our room was a bit worn but adequately clean and comfortable, and we had an acceptable late-night dinner in the restaurant, and an acceptable breakfast the next day. The staff were pleasant and well trained.We took the airport bus back to the terminal the next morning, which, including waiting time, took over half an hour. Fortunately the hotel is the last stop on the route through the parking lots, as the bus became extremely crowded as it went along. If it were not for the transport problems and the misrepresentation of the hotel's services in this regard, we could recommend it as an OK choice if you have to stay at the airport, but we suggest you avoid it until the Garden Inn does something to fix the transport matter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you and your family had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, I'm sorry about the Shuttle info, and all the time spent at the Airport. We sugest to go on the website and download the map of Airport shuttle stops at the Airport. We are working with the Airport Authority to improve the signage on the buses and at the Airport. Your constructive comment will help us to improve our perfornance. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    484
    159
    62
    46
See reviews for
213
472
104
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived by train from Rome Termini around dinnertime. The hotel shuttle signs were confusing and poorly marked. We called the hotel for clarification, but had to spend lots of time finding the shuttle to the hotel. We originally checked in to a non smoking room and it was clean. We went down to have a quick bite to eat. My husband's pizza was good, but my carbonara was spaghetti with scrambled eggs. I didn't expect much, but was disappointed. Our room was on the non smoking floor, but the people next door had invited their friends over and you could smell the smoke down the hall. We called the front desk to switch rooms and the gave us the "only" room they had left. We were tired and just wanted a good night's sleep before flying back to US in the morning. The room they gave us was on the smoking floor and my allergies went crazy. It was not as well kept as our original room either. Again, I didn't expect too much from this airport hotel, but was disappointed. It was very overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read that your experience didn't meet your expectations. I really apologise. I've shared your feedback with my team in order to understand what happened and improve our performance. We are working with the Airport Authority to improve the signage on the buses and at the Airport. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope we can have another opportunity to have you again in our hotel!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atl, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

great place to position yourself for the flight out WiFi helpful shuttle was on time people nice and a good business center to print your tickets would stay there again-clean and had hardwood floors slept well-bed could have been better quality

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our first trip to Italy. We stayed at the Garden Inn for 5 days. The hotel was further away from Rome than we expected. It took us a long time to figure out how to get from the airport to the hotel. The sign for the hotel shuttle is still posted at the airport, eventhough that shuttle it is no longer used. That was confusing and much time wasted before we figured out the 'general' airport shuttle was the bus we had to use. Our sheets were not changed for 2 days. We know because there was a small hole in the sheet- for 2 days. Otherwise the hotel was clean and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in giving us directions to areas around Rome - we only speak English. The room was well stocked with towels and accessories daily. The breakfast was good. We ate dinner one night and it was good with an exceptional staff- both waiter and bartender. There was a nice workout room but with all the walking we did in Rome- we didn't need to use it. We would use this place again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you and your family had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, especially for such a long stay which we usually we are not really confident. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for visiting Rome!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our mini vacation in Rome as our plane arrived late at night. It was a bit confusing to find the free shuttle as it actually is the general airport shuttle that you take that makes various stops on its way to the hotel. The map provided on the hotel's website helped though. The hotel is fairly new and well maintained. The room was very basic but clean and modern. No view. The buffet breakfast was wonderful. Lots of choices and they made us incredible banana pancakes to order. Would highly recommend this hotel for a quick visit or to be close to the airport but not to use as a home base to visit Rome proper. Too far away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you and your family had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, especially for the breakfast and the new reliable shuttle service provided from the Airport. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is what you would expect for an airport hotel: close, clean, spartan, efficient. It works fine for the night before a morning departure . The restaurant was surprisingly good with professional service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you and your family had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, I will extend your compliments to the restaurant team. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is a short taxi ride from the airport (15 euro). There is an airport shuttle which we used to return to the airport the morning after our first stay but which we could not locate upon arrival the night before. It has clean comfortable rooms of a reasonable size but is functional rather than anything special.It has a large lobby with a bar and restaurant area and a shop which sells basic food stuffs and microwaveable dinners.
The bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet and the staff helpful and pleasant. I have stayed at this hotel twice as well as the Hilton which is situated inside the airport and apart from the fact that one has to taxi (or shuttle if you can find it) to this hotel it is superior to the other Hilton in terms of staff friendliness and general hotel facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you and your family had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, I'm sorry about the Shuttle stop visibility we are working to improve it. Thank you for staying with us and for the compliments to the staff attitude!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport

Address: Via Vittorio Bragadin 2, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fiumicino
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino airport platform in front of Cargo City. A complimentary Airport Shuttle service is provided from the hotel to/from the airport from 5 AM to 1 AM. The service is operated by a yellow, Orange, Blue & Green Bus with "Easy Parking" Logos on both sides. Please look for "Airport Shuttle" Signs. Free wi-fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel and free 24-hour Business Centre with high speed Internet access and remote printing facilities. All 282 guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport have modern decor and soundproofed windows. Each includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Self-adjusting Garden Sleep System beds with duvets and ergonomic Mirra chair. In-room safe, individual climate control, reading lamps, two telephones and tea and coffee making facilities. On-site restaurant serving buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner and offering traditional Italian/International cuisine and a Lounge Bar featuring plasma screens and offering cocktails, sandwiches, salads and more. Guests can use the microwave room to prepare ready-to-cook meals sold at Pavilion Pantry shop. The hotel is a 2-minute drive from the A91 Highway for easy connections to the EUR business district. Trains to Fiera Roma and central Rome leave from the airport train station, and the ride takes around 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Fiumicino
Fiumicino Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.