We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place for a layover but not a holiday for an extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Portuense, 2465, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Fiumicino
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A very nice place for a layover but not a holiday for an extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

In an emergency I needed a hotel and selected this for a quick overnight stay due to cancelled flights. This is not a luxury hotel but it serves the purpose and is not overly expensive. I paid about $118 via hotels.com and was pleased with hotel overall and the service. Actually in this category it could be five stars. The staff is very pleasant. You can get the shuttle for 6 Euro to the airport as well and they have a small but adequate gym. It was winter so I didn't get to enjoy the pool. Also there is a restaurant but it is expensive 29 Euro for one and I only had one drink. There are may other restaurants around the corner but the area could be a bit dangerous. But then again it is near an airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    108
    54
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
67
21
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plattsburgh, ny
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good location for airport needs but is right in the flight path of planes taking off. Good breakfast and nice evening restaurant. This hotel could have located anywhere in the United States based on its cookie cutter style. The price was reasonable and the service good. There is a 6 euro charge each way for transportaion to airport even though it is a 5 minute ride so I think that is a lot. Also, there was some confusion as to which Best Western matched which pick up point as there are two of them. There is nothing else within walking distance for shopping or food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg MB Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ideal for travellers who need to overnight it before boarding a plane at Fiumicino. Rooms are small but sufficient. Excellent breakfast and restaurant. Hotel staff are courteous and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I booked the hotel a week before my arrival and I sent two emails regarding the shuttle service and the locations they picked up from (I was returning from a cruise and was looking for the best transfer options) and never received a response. I found it was most economical to arrange a bus transfer from Civitavecchia to the Fiumicino airport and have the shuttle pick us up from the airport.

I arrived at the airport and called the hotel and asked that the shuttle be sent, by the time I located the shuttle pickup location apparently the shuttle was there and gone. I called the hotel and inquired, the hotel staff told me since I wasn't there they left. I asked if the shuttle will be coming back and the woman told me I needed to take a taxi.

The woman at the front desk was professional and even though I arrived well before check in time my room was ready and I was quite appreciative of that, since my family and I were pretty tired. The room was modern although on the small side but clean, quiet and functional. The hotel grounds were well kept and clean, the pool looked wonderful... too bad it is winter!

I found the hotel restaurant room service to be expensive and the selections were not very family/kid friendly. I went to the front desk and inquired about other restaurants close and the person was quite helpful and provided a couple of options. The breakfast however, was very nice, plentiful and a bit more kid friendly.

Check out was easy, no problems. The staff was professional when I asked the them to call a taxi to take us to the airport-the taxi arrived in just a few short minutes.

**I was very disappointed in the lack of shuttle service (which is so poor it should be complimentary) and lack of communication prior to my arrival.

Room Tip: The shuttle service from-to the airport is 6 euro per person and is limited to only a few hours in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small but very clean and well maintained. Only drawback is that at times the aircraft noise is noticeable but to be expected so close to airport. Good value for money and hotel has a shuttle service to airport and Rome. Especially good for one night stopover. Restaurant is excellent Italian food with friendly service. Breakfast is included and has a good variety of dishes. Internet is free, would recommend for short stays. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Can also arrange transport to port if on cruise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Fiumicino airport and is convenient if you are on a late flight coming in or on an early flight leaving. Taxi from airport to hotel EU 7.00. Chose to take the shuttle arranged by the hotel to the airport. You have to sign up for the shuttle and pay at the front desk (EU 6.00). Taxi from the hotel to Rome is EU 48.00 set fare.
Will definitely stay there again. Nice, clean comfortable room and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This Best Western is fine if you have an early flight out of Fiumicino Airport. My room in the annex building was large and quiet, the desk staff were fine and the breakfast was good. But the restaurant seemed very pricey and there are no alternatives within walking distance. The shuttle service from the airport (6 euros each way added to the hotel bill) was difficult to find and does not always run; even when it does you may have to wait quite a while for a van to show up and there doesn't seem to be any particular schedule. Going to the airport in the morning requires a reservation since the van can only take a set number of people and it, too, does not run all day so you need to be sure shuttle service will meet your needs. Not bad for an airport hotel, but nothing special either.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport

Address: Via Portuense, 2465, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
#7 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport, a 4-star hotel, located in a strategic position at the gates of Rome near the Leonardo da Vinci International Airport. BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport stands for tranquillity, excellent service and a top class restaurant. A few kilometres from the centre of Rome and the Tyrrhenian Sea, it is the solution for both business and leisure. All the rooms at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport are tastefully decorated, with attention to every detail and equipped with air conditioning. We have a private paid shuttle service that conveniently performs the following services: drop-off/pick-up service to/from the airport, to/from the exhibition grounds and commercial centre, to/from the port of Civitavecchia and on request the centre of Rome and tourist destinations. Timetable: Hotel - Airport 06:00 - 06:30 - 07:00 - 07:20 - 07:40 - 08:00 - 08:20 - 08:40 - 09:00 - 09:20 - 09:40 - 10:00 - 10:30 Airport - Hotel 16:00 - 16:45 - 17:30 - 18:15 - 19:00 - 19:45 - 20:30 - 21:15 - 22:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mach2 Hotel Fiumicino
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.