We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Portuense 2470, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy (Formerly Courtyard Rome Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Fiumicino
Tucson
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We booked this for an overnight stay pre flight when it was a Marriott and I am not surprised Marriott abandoned it. The bathroom was a disaster -- toilet that did not work properly, shower that flooded the bathroom and was a hazard. Breakfast was awful -- especially after all the great food we had in Italy.

Dinner in the SAME restaurant however was better than the breakfast. Hard to explain.

On the plus side, you are a twenty minute walk from the waterfront in Fiumincino where there are many good seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
23
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's the first time I have ever been disappointed by a hotel reserved through Booking.Com
Normally, I feel that I have a good idea of what I am being sold; on this occasion the room seemed to be very expensive (155 Euros per night), for the size and quality. It does come with iron/ironing board; kettle (nice bonus), but the bathroom is cracked and shabby. At that price I would hope for more. There is a small gym, a 'business room', restaurant, (dinner was truly appalling - go outside to eat - would strongly recommend Contro Correnter Restaurant, Via mario Ingrellini 29/31). The staff are quite nice and the service is fine but the hotel lacks charm and seems to be way overpriced. If I could choose again I would book one of the small B & Bs with Italian charm in Fiumicino (maybe with a view of the sea). Life is too short for the impersonal and ordinary!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapaCY, Direttore at Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We are very sorry that the overall experience has been below your expectations. In particular, we apologize for the bathroom found not in eccellente conditions.
We have been shared with the Maintenance your review and requested for immediately corrective action.

We are happy to know you found our Staff quite nice and the service fine. We'll focus on the structure comments to improve them.

We hope to have an opportunity to Welcome you back in our Hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights, as we'd seen what we wanted to of the country on a two week stay in Italy. Needed a hotel near the airport. We were just "done" and wanted to relax our last two days. As it was a former Courtyard by Marriott hotel there was a nice bar with Happy Hour (don't recommend it--food not good and it's cold--after originally coming out hot--order off the menu for fresh). Did note in both the bar and the restaurant that it's SEVERELY UNDERSTAFFED! Now, I don't blame the staff. That's a management problem. We walked right out of the restaurant for not being served. Went to the bar. Front desk staff was helpful. We did see times where there were long lines. Did not hear airplanes during our stay, which was surprising! A walk to the town area is several blocks. This is a real city, with a coastline, but not so attractive. Garbage all down the pier. Seriously someone in that town needs to step up and clean up! A civic group? There was garbage and evidence of public urination on the lower dock areas. The restaurants had lots of options. There is a great bakery right on the main street with VERY reasonable prices. And for the record--I do not like paying for a shuttle from the airport to the hotel that I am paying to stay at!!

Room Tip: Stay poolside if it's not in season. It was very sunny but not warm enough to swim when we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapaCY, Direttore at Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

Thank you for have posted your comment on Tripadvisor. We read carefully your comment and with pleasure noticee you have recommend our hotel as a convenience. Nice to know our Staff was helpfull. We have taken note regarding the understaffed situation you mentioned and the FB Manager will be informed to take imediately the corrective action where necessary.

We'll be very glad to Welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is minutes from the airport so it's perfect if you need to stop over between flights. They have a restaurant, but don't expect quality Italian food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and room was spacious

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapaCY, Direttore at Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest,

Thanbk you for your nice review. We are glad to know you liked the hotel, specially the rooms and the friendly and helpful Staff. The restaurant has implemented new dishes with high quality food, already in the Menu at Guests disposal.

We hope to Welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night before heading back to the states. Hotel staff was. Rey friendly and spoke English. The rooms are typical for an American hotel and they had plenty of room. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The only negative is all extra cost, shuttle, pool and gym. Not much around the hotel, but for an airport stay not much to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapaCY, Direttore at Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know you liked our hotel, the friendly Staff with their competence. We would like to let you know that the pool and the gym is free of charge - complimentary. The shuttle service, at the moment is with a fee of just €6 per person per way. If you would like some local information for your next stay in our hotel, our concierge will be glad to assist you and show you many options to do around the hotel. Probably you will remain surprise.

We'll be glad to Welcome and assist you in our hotel soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were booked into this hotel by our airline after our flight was cancelled due to a strike. Checkin was long and difficult as the staff wanted to charge us all tourist tax and we refused as this was an airline responsibility. Eventually it was sorted out and the room was not bad. We had a voucher for an evening meal and this was where problems really started. It was a restricted menu choice - not a problem in itself - but the waiting staff regarded us airline guests as second class citizens and we had to wait literally hours for food. The staff were universally rude and deliberately ignored people. One waiter actually ran away when a guest tried to get attention and complain. I have never experienced anything so bad in a so called four star hotel anywhere. Avoid this place unless you have no choice.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapaCY, Direttore at Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for have posted your review on tripadvisor. Guests feedback provide us great information to improve our services. We are very sorry to hear that after a cancellation of your flight (not nice situation) you have experienced an unpleasant treatment in our restaurant. We have discussed the issue with the F&B Manager and We are plesant to inform you that corrective actions were taken to avoid this kind of situations.

We trust you could give us a second chance to Welcome you in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our travel agent booked this hotel primarily for the shuttle service to the airport. The hotel has had a name-change from Courtyard Rome Arpt Marriott to the above name. While it boasts of having air-conditioning, one must call down to the desk to turn on, turn off, or adjust temperature of A/C. Seriously? The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable (A/C not withstanding). Fine for the one night lay-over in Rome. There was free WiFi. The elevators are slow and small - it is an older building. There was an electric pot for heating water, but only tea was available... No continental breakfast but there is a nice restaurant just off the lobby. We had dinner in the restaurant - food was good, service was impeccable, but no ambiance; so bright that "cafeteria" came to mind. The bed was hard as a rock! On the way to the airport in the morning, our shuttle driver almost got into an accident. Thankfully it was just an "almost". I wouldn't have minded so much but I had had NO COFFEE!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmapaCY, Direttore at Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank for the time dedicated to our review. Guest's feedback have a huge value to us, thank you!. We would like to share with you some additional information like: the air conditioning system is automatic and could be set from the reception system but also from inside the room. The displayer is at guests disposal. We apologize that you have found just the tea as an additional service with the pot instead of the Coffee and milk. We'll inform the Housekeeping in order to avoid this mistakes. Our restaurant serve the breakfast every day from 06 am til 10.30 am under payment a variety of Fresh Fruit, cereals, Home made pastries, sausages, bacon, eggs and omelettes ecc. Further to this service we provide complimentary coffee at the Main lobby (Capuccino, tea, milk), ecc.We are happy to learn you liked the rooms and the Wifi connection- also complimentary. We have taken note of all your remarks and corrective action will be implemented where necessary.
We hope to have a chance to Welcome you in our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel

Address: Via Portuense 2470, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy (Formerly Courtyard Rome Airport)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino
Courtyard Hotel Rome Airport
Courtyard Fiumicino
Fiumicino Courtyard
Leonardo Da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo da Vinci Rome Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.