We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Tulip Rome Airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Rome Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Rome Airport to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scafa 416, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy (Formerly Hotel Club Isola Sacra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fiumicino
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Golden Tulip Rome Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a few nights at the Golden Tulip, Fiumicino, Italy. Over all, it is a "nice" hotel. The room that we had was small. It had a nice view of the property, which is nothing special. That is all. The Front Desk employees were very helpful; spoke English, and were helpful. However; that is, they were only doing what they were paid to do--nothing extra. This is not a minus, it is fact.

The restaurant served a purpose. Period. Although quite busy, one wondered--for some odd reason--what's going on here?...

But there was someting of an under tone, hard hard to describe. After eating there, we--my wife & I--got extremely ill. However, we really can't say that "this" restaurant was the problem. Nonetehless, it makes one wonder. The morning brunch was well appointed, offering perfect selections, especially the coffees.

Additonally, please keep in mind that a taxi to Rome's Central Train Station will cost betweet 50-60 Euros, plus tip.

The Golden Tulip is quite a distance from Rome. It is, however, close to the airport.

Would I return to The Golden Tulup? I would return only if my business were near the airport, or at the airport. If my businees was in Rone, I would find a place in downtown Rome. Taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: Think before you leap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    281
    114
    44
    42
See reviews for
149
228
53
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are "ok", beds are to soft, no Luxury what's so ever, old bad quality "flatscreen" tv with 1 German and 2 English channels. Bathroom is basic, shower is small.

The worst part is the aircon that is non existant. When I called the reception they told me to open a window in order to change the temperature... Very 4* like.

Restaurant isn't very good either, prices are high, quality isn't.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. At least not at this price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a nice, comfortable hotel for a night on arrival or before departure from the Rome airport (7 km) We did just that, two one-night "bookends" for our 2.5 week holiday in Italy. The grounds are lovely, the pool looked inviting, the rooms are quite modern in design, comfortable beds, and the wi-fi worked well in the room. We especially liked the balcony with sitting space and the free parking while we had a rental car. The restaurant was better quality than most airport hotel restaurants, overpriced but convenient and tasty. We weren't able to try the breakfast included with our room as it was offered later than our departure both times. They have self-service coffee/espresso machines and fresh cornetti (croissants) for those of us who are up and out early.

My only caveat about staying here is the expense of getting to/from the airport if you're outside the shuttle operation hours. The shuttle (7 euro pp each way) goes to the airport in the morning starting at 0600 until 1030 then has departures from the airport to the hotel starting at 1600 to 2130. They are scheduled to run every 45 minutes or so. This is a great way to go if it fits your schedule. If not, be prepared for an expensive taxi fare... 25 euros one way to the airport for one called by the front desk. It may have been cheaper to keep our rental car and get up an hour earlier to return it! The taxis to Rome are fare-controlled by the government but not the local ones so a one-hour ride to Rome is 40 euro and a 10 minute from the hotel is 25.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the staff isn't overly friendly but they perform the service(s) requested.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

When you pick an airport hotel it can sometimes be a challenge to get a good nights sleep.
Not so here. Never herd a plane. Rooms are well apointed, Good AC with free WYFI. We had dinner in thier lovely dining room over looking the garden and it was vey good. We had pre- aranged an early moring pick up so transfers were fine. I would recommend this hotel
if you want an out of the city expeience. The only negative thing is they need more elavators
Lin, Keep on Travelin

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is around a 15 minute drive to the airport and it offers shuttle bus service to the airport. Our rooms were fairly clean, but the hot water was not stable and our toilet did not flush. We asked the staff to help us but they never came. The staff spoke broken English so it was a bit difficult to communicate with them. I never saw them smile once. There is pretty much nothing around the hotel so you have to call a taxi to go out and eat at night. I am sure with this price, there is something else better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Creek, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to the airport, which it was. The shuttle only picks up at airport at certain times and we were unable to find where it picks up so ended up taking a cab which was fine but you must cross the road to near the opening to the train station to find a cab that goes to Fiumicino, all others go into Rome. The hotel was nice, our room was more then I expected with a separate bedroom and 2 balconies looking out over the pool. The bathroom was huge and the jacuzzi tub was very nice. The service is what takes away from this hotel. The front desk staff were arrogant and acted as if anything they were asked to do was a big inconvenience to them. We noticed this ourselves and when watching them deal with other guests. They told us 3 times that the restaurant was open but when we went there we were rudely told to leave and wait outside until they opened in another 15min. The pizza was good the seafood was bad and the servers were again arrogant and not interested at all in the customer. We were relieved to get out of there. The breakfast was great.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe room which is well worth the small amount more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our last night in Italy as we stayed here to catch our flights the next morning. Great location and I would say the hotel is clean etc but we just didn't have a great experience. The hotel booked a wedding that day which meant all the guests were unable to use the pool area - like not at all. We tried to order room service which states in the book they provide in the room that room service was available from 7am to 11:30pm but couldn't get any service. The restuarant told us "No - restaurant is closed - no service." Then when we went for supper it took over 3 hours because they were too busy with the wedding etc. I would think that if the hotel can't handle a wedding AND look after their guests then they shouldn't be booking weddings.

The rooms were clean but not inviting. Unfortunately for us this was the most expensive night of our stay in Italy and really it wasn't worth it. Too bad it happened on our last night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Rome Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Rome Airport

Address: Via della Scafa 416, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy (Formerly Hotel Club Isola Sacra)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fiumicino
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#5 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Rome Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Rome Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Isola Sacra
Isola Sacra Hotel
Golden Tulip Rome Airport Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Rome Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.