We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than what we expected!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria dei La Ginestra

L'Osteria dei La Ginestra
Via del Canale 34 | chiuso il Martedi, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy
+39 06 65041694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 280 Restaurants in Fiumicino
Price range: $20 - $47
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“More than what we expected!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We wanted to eat at an Italian restaurant before leaving to head back to the US. I went on TA to find a good place in Fiumicino and this place came up as one of the best. We decided to try it out. It was a short taxi ride, about 15 mins from the Hilton Garden Inn (which they gladly called the restaurant for us and put our name down for a reservation) and when we arrived, the staff knew exactly who we were and greeted us immediately. They spoke very good English and recommended some of the best dishes for us to try. Boy, we're we surprised. The food was beyond AMAZING!!! Far better than what I expected. At the end of our meal, the owner came and chatted with us for awhile and even called the taxi to come and pick us up. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal! Thank you for giving us a memory as we leave Italy. ~The Johnson's

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabylg, Proprietario at L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Johnson's was a real pleasure to have had you as our customers, we always try to spend a little of our time chatting with our guests, because one of our goals is to make you feel at home. Thank you for the wonderful compliments and for writing to us on TA.
Thanks to all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    96
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We ended our two week trip to Italy in Fiumicino. Walked to this fabulous Osteria from our hotel (Seccy Hotel). Our first impression was of many Italians eating outside-smiling, talking and eating deliciously smelling food. We were welcomed immediately by the staff and made to feel as if Rome were our home. The owner, Cristina, speaks perfect English, and was very tolerant of our 'broken Italian." We ordered a little of everything on the menu--including these wonderful, for a better word, 'cooked meatballs.' Their pizza was the best that I have tasted in Rome.
This restaurant is a gem, and I would highly recommend going there.
Thank you staff for a wonderful farewell dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabylg, Proprietario at L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hello our friends, thanks so much for positive comment, we're very happy you spent a nice evening with us we will waiting for you in your next trip in Italy.
Thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit here if you are staying at the airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We had an afternoon to kill and decided on fiumincuno rather than Rome. Found reviews for this restaurant. It was superb! Best starter I have had (we had the special to share which had a bit of everything). Pasta was excellent and great tiramisu. Service also excellent and were happy to order us a taxi. Many thanks for a great evening from Scotland!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear friends,
it was a big pleasure to have you in our restaurant, and we're happy you spent a nice evening. Hoping to see you in the future if you will return in Italy. Thanks soo much for this comments it is a pleasure for us read all this special compliments.
Bye Bye from all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A nice send off at the end of a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

At the end of our trip, we were really not looking forward to our night in Fiumincino to catch our early flight back to the U.S. for many reasons. For one, Fiumincino is not a lovely, Italian town and there is not much of a waterfront to kick back and enjoy a nice, romantic dinner. But with the help of other TripAdvisor reviewers, we found this authentic, traditional restaurant and had a really delicious last meal. We ordered the oven-fired pizza and a mixed salad and both were delicious. The house red was also very good. The service was friendly and attentive. There were many Italians eating there which is always a good sign. We were just two, but it is a good place to bring a family or a large group.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabylg, Proprietario at L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear sirs, we are very grateful for your positive comment, thank you for taking your time writing here on TA and we are happy to have left a beautiful memory of our country. We hope to see you again one day, a warm greeting from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed at the airport Hilton Garden Inn and needed to find a great "last night in Italy" dinner. Trip Advisor pointed us here, and it was delicious. The meal was yummy, the service was fabulous, and the price was super. My husband wants me to say, "the pizza dough with nutella was incredible, you should order it." We sat outside on a beautiful night.

It cost around 20 euro to get a taxi from Fiumicino to this restaurant, and was well worth it. Thanks, L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, we loved our last dinner in Italy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabylg, Proprietario at L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Mrs Sarah,
you promised us a comment here on tripadvisor and you have done, thank you very much. We are happy to have made a pleasant evening, and to have left a beautiful memory of our country. Thanks so much, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria dei La Ginestra also viewed

Fiumicino, Province of Rome
Fiumicino, Province of Rome
 
Fiumicino, Province of Rome
Fiumicino, Province of Rome
 

Been to L'Osteria dei La Ginestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Osteria dei La Ginestra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.