We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Rome Airport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hilton Rome Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arturo Ferrarin, 2, 00050 Fiumicino, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Fiumicino
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a morning flight home after a cruise and have stayed at many Hilton properties in the USA so we thought this place would be ideal - even though the nighty rate was quite high. Check-in worked fine and we checked our bags with the bell-hop to be picked up the next morning. We were unable to find any outlets that would work for our US-type appliances. This surprised us as we felt a large portion of the clientele would be US citizens heading home. When we asked at the front desk about an adapter, they told us they would sell us one. Even a small hotel in the port city of Civitavecchia had a US-style outlet for shavers and loaned us an adapter for my wife's curling iron.
We did not sleep well as the room was too warm even though we turned the thermostat way down. When asked at checkout how we slept, I mentioned the warm room. I received a shrug from the desk clerk.
This is one hotel I will never return to. There are other choices and I will take advantage of them in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for being our guest and posting your review on TripAdvisor.
I am very sorry to hear that the issue with the adapter spoiled the overall impression about your experience with us.
We do have some used adapters which are available for guests and I am very sorry that when you asked for one, only those on sale were available. I also apologize if the room temperature was too warm and did not allow a comfortable sleep.
We do value the patronage of our guests and really hope we will have another opportunity to regain your trust on a future occasion.
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Kind regards.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    741
    484
    243
    148
See reviews for
393
752
166
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well, it was 2 1/2 years ago that I stayed here, an dI wouild have thought the disappointment would have eased.

The good: If you have an overnight with an early flight this hotel is ideal. You can walk to your gate, and there are frequently luggage trolleys around to help you haul your stuff with you.

We took advantage of the shuttle bus to town. This was great! It drops you off right where all the hop on/hop off busses tour. We had a relaxing afternoon sightseeing and did not have to pay the inflated train rate into town from the airport.

The bad: I guess they were training a new girl, but service was absolutely horrible. I was unable to find my passport and the desk staff refused to allow me to check in without it. Unfortunately, I was made to sit in the lobby for 3 hours going through my bags over and over, with everyone checking into the hotel admiring my underwear. It was humiliating. Eventually, the night supervisor relented and allowed us to check in, long after the Executive lounge had closed. As an aside, I had left my passport at the airport upon arrival and I was able to retrieve it from the Carabinieri in the morning.

The room was fine and quiet.

Back to the executive lounge, this lounge did not live up to Hilton standards during my stay. Selection was just ok, and service was lacking.

Overall I can not award more than 2 green dots as this hotel made me feel like crap. As a diamon member, I expect better from the Hilton Brand. Were I to return I would stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. Constructive guests’ feedback is always very much appreciated since it will surely help us to improve our services in the future.
While I am happy you enjoyed some aspects of your stay (convenience of location, courtesy shuttle service) I am very sorry that your overall impression has not been totally positive, partially influenced by the issue at check in. I do understand that the situation must have been very unpleasant and, although receptionists require guests’ passport details to notify the Police (as per Italian Law) I wished my Team could have assisted better on this occasion.
I do apologize once again for the inconvenience this might have caused and really hope we will have another opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Best regards.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A fair walk but certainly doable from arrivals level. Nice clean rooms, all the amenities and a good restaurant. Great breakfast and excellent staff.
The only real down side, apart from the fact that its 150E per night, is that the internet charge is exorbitant. Ended up being near 30E per 24hours.
Everything else is very good and we did get a free lift to the departure level the next day which helped with all our bags! That was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us. I am glad that the overall experience has been satisfactory and that you enjoyed the room, the restaurant, our breakfast and the services delivered by my Team. As to the internet charge, as from 1stFebruary, free wi-fi internet connection is available for our guests in the hotel public areas (Lobby, restaurants and Executive Lounge).
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We checked in here the day before our return flight. Arrived by bus from the city and the hotel was within walking distance to the terminal. The lobby was spacious and we were instantly greeted by the front desk staff. It felt quite welcoming, quite different what we experienced at other high ranked properties in town. Check in was painless, received an upgrade to the Club floor. Spacious room, after the downtown experience this felt like a mansion. Windows cannot be opened, my only complaint, since I really like fresh air for sleeping and I am not at all bothered by aircraft noise. The large windows gave us a nice view. The lounge was great with a nice selection of soft drinks, snacks and cakes. In the evening there was a much larger food selection including salads and beer and wine were available. We enjoyed the free Internet. Our rate included breakfast and that was one the best we ever had at a hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus service to the city and departures are quite frequent with the last bus returning to the hotel at around 11 p.m. If we ever return to Rome, we will make this hotel our base. It is truly fantastic. You will not find a friendlier, more responsive staff than at the Rome Airport Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive and rewarding review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated your accommodation at the Executive Floor, the quality and variety of food at the Executive Lounge, our breakfast@hilton and the courtesy shuttle to the city center. I am also very happy to hear that my Team delivered the high level of customer service you expected.
Glad to know that we will be the hotel of your choice on your next visit, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Thank you for being our guest.

Kind regards.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not a spec of dust; everything was clean and shiny.

The staff was extremely helpful and could arrange almost anything including Euro exchange up to $200 USD a day.

Best feature since I was mixing Business and Adventure was the hourly bus leaving the Hotel and dropping off at Roma Centro. The bus starts at 8:00 am and makes last pick up at 11:00 pm. takes about 35 minutes each way. It was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the service delivered by my Team and the convenience of our courtesy shuttle to the City center.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked this because we had to visit a close relative in Rome and my father (82) didnt want to travel too far from the airport. This worked out really well. Staff very helpful. Hotel clean and quiet.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time taken to post your feedback and am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service delivered by my Team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Rome Airport Hotel on two occasions recently, and we were not disappointed. We booked rooms on the Executive Floor which affords access to the Executive Lounge where you can get snacks and/or drinks during the day and in the evening which is a major plus after a long overnight flight from the US.

The rooms are comfortable and clean as well as very quiet in spite of the proximity to FCO. The walk to and from FCO is quite a distance but it is on the elevated walkways for most of the way. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business in leisure travelers who need accommodations close to FCO. Also, the buffet breakfast is excellent with many food options.

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade, book a room with access to the Execitive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonRomeAirport, Direttore generale at Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to post feedback !
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the convenience of our location, the Executive Lounge amenities, the service my team offered you and that you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards.

Andrea Carnevale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Rome Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Rome Airport Hotel

Address: Via Arturo Ferrarin, 2, 00050 Fiumicino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Rome Airport Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Rome Airport is directly connected to Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino Airport via a covered overpass with a moving walkway, just 7 minutes walking ditance. Stylishly appointed and modern in design, this contemporary hotel offers upscale amenities, fine dining and warm hospitality, supported by friendly and professional Hilton Team Members. 35 minutes from downtown Rome by complimentary shuttle bus 8 times a day, free wi-fi Internet access in public areas, swimming pool with Jacuzzi and Fitness Centre featuring the latest generation of cardio and strength training equipment, will help you to feel your best during the stay. 517 stylish and soundproof guest rooms including 108 Executive Rooms and 15 Suites with access to the Executive Lounge (serving complimentary breakfast and refreshments all day). On site Le Colonne Restaurant serving Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner and Caffe Tevere Bistro with a delicious selection of pizzas, pastas, burgers and creative salads. A Kids Menu is also available, offering chicken nuggets, mini burgers and ice cream. An In-Room Dining menu is located in each guest room and offers a variety of food and beverage items for you to enjoy. Hilton Rome Airport is located 8 miles from the Parco de Medici business district and 6.5 miles from Fiera di Roma Exhibition Centre. Parco Leonardo shopping mall is just one train stop from the Airport station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Rome Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton International Fiumicino
Hilton Fiumicino
Rome Hilton
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Rome Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.