We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has some problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seccy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seccy Hotel to your Saves list
Seccy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Scuole 32, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fiumicino
Northern California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Has some problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Seccy our last night in Italy before we flew home. Although the hotel is very convenient to the airport and the staff is helpful, we can't recommend the Seccy Hotel. Our primary goal was a good night’s sleep before heading to the airport. This was made difficult by a noisy air conditioner that was having trouble keeping up with the 80 degree temperature. Rome is often much warmer than 80 so this is a real problem. The issue was made worse by the fact that the hotel has one of those gizmos that require you to put your key in a slot in order for the lights and air-conditioning to come on. We managed to get the room to a warm but acceptable temperature but, when we went to dinner, we had to remove the key and the temperature went right back up. This is really a stupid setup – Rome is often warm and this just doesn’t work.

The hotel is located in a strange area that’s a combination of light commercial and residential buildings. The streets are poorly lighted with lots of dark alleys and uneven sidewalks. Coming back from dinner was the only time during a month in Italy that we felt unsafe. In hindsight, we should have driven the four blocks to dinner.

We'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    170
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
86
194
38
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed one night in early September at the start of our trip. Even though we arrived well after 9pm the guy at reception was very welcoming, also providing us with a choice of two rooms. The room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel was quiet too. Breakfast was very good with some pastries, fruits, cheese, ham and jams. We would definitely stay at the Seccy Hotel again if we needed to stay close (3km away) to Rome Fiumicino airport, as the location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Seccy for one night in August 2012.

Pros: Friendly staff, extremely clean room, AC, TV, WiFi. Also very close to the cute riverside area in Fiumicino, which is a nice place to have diner and enjoy a last night in Rome before your flight home.

Cons: The hotel is a short distance from the airport, but it's a 15-euro cab ride. The room had few electrical outlets, which seems strange for a business hotel.

Overall a wonderful, comfortable stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport, and much better in my opinion, than staying at your typical Hilton or whatever. Its location is a very short walking distance to many restaurants in Fiumicino, along the canal, most featuring local seafood. The hotel is modern and up-to-date. I would guess that many business types stay here, as well as other vacationers, awaiting their flights.
This is our second stay here, the last, two years ago. It is very convenient.
The receptionist and management could not have been more helpful. We mistakenly made our reservation for the night before we had meant to. Our credit card was charged. When we arrived, as a no show, the management gave us a room and applied the prior charge to the room. That was not customary practice and was most generous. We are grateful to the owner for his understanding.
The receptionist Elvira was very helpful with printing our boarding passes and helping with directions to restaurants. We recommend the Seccy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night and really found this hotel excellent for the purpose of getting close to the airport while still in proximity of quaint local restaurants. The room was very well set up and quiet, the Wifi worked really well - which was important to us so that we could check up on our flight status etc. Breakfast was not lavish but adequate and was included in the price. Parking was free. The front-desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of details such as where to get gas, how to get to the car rental drop-off site at the airport etc. And there are many good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. Great value and comfort for an airport hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel not overly pretentiuos but a bit pricy for a suburb
Grim neighbourhood
Restayrants on the beach are good
Reasonable breakfast and an un beatable location an free parking
Easy access within 5 minutes ro the airport

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night due to an early flight the next morning. We booked a family room which was absolutely fine for one or two nights. It was light, clean and comfortable and provided free WiFi which was useful. Breakfast which was included in the room rate was good, and of a better standard than most we have eaten during our stay in Italy, also it started from about 7ish which was great for us as we needed to head off early. The guy at the check-in desk was absolutely brilliant (unfortunately I cannot remember his name) - he was polite, friendly and efficient going as far as finding my husband a jug late at night on our arrival so that we could enjoy a cuppa! Other staff we encountered were also good.
The only real issue I had was not with the hotel but rather the Taxis to and from the airport which are charging fixed rates of 25 euros plus to the hotel which is only a ten minute ride and should be around 10 Euros - this I found very expensive, not to mention frustrating and would advise future guests to try to get a local cab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seccy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seccy Hotel

Address: Via delle Scuole 32, 00054 Fiumicino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seccy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seccy Hotel offers exclusive accommodation located in Fiumicinos historic centre, just a short 10-minutes drive from the airport. Enjoy professional service, elegant interiors and modern facilities here. Seccy Hotel is set 100 metres from Fiumcinos port, an area well-known for its great fish restaurants. On site you can enjoy drinks in the hotels stylish bar. Rooms and lounges at the Seccy are comfortable, sophisticated and beautifully decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seccy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seccy Hotel Rome/Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seccy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.