We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Mare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Del Mare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungo Mare Della Salute 111/B, 54 Fiumicino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Fiumicino
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We originally booked this hotel to be close to the Rome airport but were pleasantly surprised with our choice as it was across the road from the beach and our room had a large balcony overlooking an amazing view. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, the room was comfortable and clean. The only complaint was the noisy air conditioner and the street noise of the large bins being emptied early in the morning. Breakfast was very good and there were plenty of good local restaurants to chose from. Well prices and convenient to the airport, cab fare 15-20 euro one way.
Lorraine & Norm, Gold Coast Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    68
    40
    13
    17
See reviews for
34
70
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Location is beautiful, just across from the beach with great balcony and sunset you can't beat. But if you're looking for a warm shower or relief from the heat outside, don't stay here. We stayed here our last night in Italy because we needed to be at the airport by 5am. The water in the shower was ice cold. The guy at the front desk told us it would take 10 minutes to heat up. Why not tell us this at check in? 45 min later when the water was still cold, I decided it was time to suck it up and take a shower. Not fun when your sticky from the heat and won't get another shower for at least 24 hrs. The AC was very weak and I was hot all night, making it difficult to sleep..not to mention the noise outside until 12:30. At checkout, at 3am when I told the guy I should expect hot water from a hotel, I got a very weak and
disinterested apology. Save the complications, spend a few extra dollars and enjoy your last
night in Rome. The extra hour of sleep was not worth it, and you can always make it up later!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here because we had to go to the airport early in the morning. It was really close to the airport, and close enough (20 mins) to rome city to be comfortable.

Rooms were nice, neat and clean. The windows were double glazed, so any noise could e blocked out. There was a slight smell coming out of the A/C, but we turned it off and it dissipated shortly after.

The people who run the hotel (obviously a family) are very nice, and even when a rude american lady was shouting demands at them, they were courteous.

IT is oposite the beach, which was awesome and the beach is really clean by italian standards, and the cafe on the beach (not reef) but some other name, makes some of the best coffee ever.

There is also a cool terrace with sunbeds looking over the beach, which is really cool and provides a nice view.

Wifi was free aswell.

Overall for 90Euro for one night, it was amazing value for money!!

it should be noted that the Rome Taxis do not like to go into Fiumicino town, and they will either tell u no, or charge u 40 Euro for a one way trip. Get the fiumcino cabs, they just service the town of fiumcino. cab to fiumcino from Airport should be no more the 15-18Euro, according to hotel person.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms near the terrace with th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We questioned the hot water as we wanted a shower prior to our flight. We were told it can take 4 - 8 minutes to get from the distant tank and to turn all 3 hot water taps on. 45 minutes later there was still no hot water. We questioned it again, looked for some rebate but were refused as the payment had already been processed due to their "no refund" policy. Even though they could do a refund and reprocess a fairer price. The view over the rear neighbour's backyards is not that pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

First of all, I don't recommend staying in Fiumicino unless you have an early flight out of FCO you need to get to. It does have a great, long beach so that's good, but all of the restuarants are expensive and don't open until 7 or 8 pm which isn't good if you have an early flight! Most people only speak Italian as well so it's harder to get information. As for the hotel, it was an OK price, was clean, had nice updated rooms and a nice rooftop deck. However, the air conditioning did not work at ALL which is brutal when it's so hot out and you're trying to sleep! Opening the windows doesn't help because it's loud outside. The man who checked us in had trouble answering any of our questions, although he did manage to get us an extremely early wakeup call and cab, so I guess we can't complain. The shower also leaked EVERYWHERE, literally flooded our room, and he was no help tracking down a mop to clean it up with.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

No wireless internet in the rooms, not enough lights in common areas, late check out costs full day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel is just fine if you have an early flight and need to get yoru head down the night before. The rooms are clean, basic, with FAB showers!!! Just don't get room 30 , lovely staff. Not every room has iron, hairdryer etc, but just ask reception and they are happy to oblige.
I have neevr experienced such obliging staff anywhere else I've stayed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Mare

Address: Lungo Mare Della Salute 111/B, 54 Fiumicino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mare Rome/Fiumicino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.