We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice few hours out for all--recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kildare Maze

The Kildare Maze
Ballinafagh, Kildare, Ireland
+353 86 851 9296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Kildare
Type: Amusement
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice few hours out for all--recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

this attraction is set outside the villgae of properous in Co Kildare. We travelled on Tuesday 5th August and we arrived at about 1:30pm. After the long weekend I was supprised to see that the car park was nearly full. price for a family of 5 is €29. the reception/shop/toilets are clean and well laid out and the staff are very helpfull and pleasant. there are numberus picnic benches for a picnic and even a tent if it gets wet. we stayed 2 and half hours and the kids enjoyed it and the aduls found it relaxing. the concept here is simple and the maize offers something different even for the adults. I see alot of reviews have an issue with the price and what they see it is but you have to look at it from the point of view of the kids and what they get out of it and the reality that where ever you go it cost money to bring kids out for a few hours to attractions such as this and thats the way it is and this is no different. Sometimes adults have bigger expectations than the kids. anyway we liked it but like most places its a place tou go once a year or evey second year depending on age of kids etc.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“enjoyable & a change from the norm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

had a good day, hours of fun in the large maze, lovely picnic areas & playground suitable for my 3 year old, spent about 3 hours here, most of it was spent lost in the big maze, staff were very friendly & helpful prob will go back for another day out. a lot of people giving out about the price but I thought it was reasonable, considering the week before I paid €24 to go into a "pet farm" that I had finished in half an hour

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Initially depression, turned positive experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

You know that moment when you re load a website to check is rig really what I expected... When we arrived after a bit of a drive I had to say we put on a brave face for the kids as it looked tiny and poor compared to website. But we were there so let's make the best of it we thought. And the kids ended up spending about 3.5 hours having great time.

The two mazes were the highlight for us parents. At 5 and 2.5 my kids were a bit scared in main maze when we hit 30 minute mark but got through it shortly after that (a woman said they got to stuck in in for 2 hrs! - it's not that big but well done). The maze is rough in its finish not the well groomed photos you see. The wooden maze is fun and can fit a double buggy unlike the main one.

The zip line is basic but kids like it.

The "adventure area" (or whatever they named it) is pretty weak given the title. They are largely unconnected balancing pieces of a playground.

Mini golf was a pleasant surprise but it's cement not astro turf with all holes on a slant so good luck (but no extra charge - not that you'd pay it).

There was a sand area that kids enjoyed. The playground was tiny it's for toddlers really.

Picnic tables available with some also inside a tent as well as an indoor cafe area.

It's probably a 3.5 star place that given happy kids got a 4. But the distance, price, lack of credit card facilities to buy tickets, and really nothing more to discover in this small place after one visit means this was likely our first and last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Caught short with the rain. Ended up having a ball.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We turned up and paid only for the heavens to open. We sat inside and had coffee and miwadi (for our 3 and 7yo). Once the rain went we had a great time. Especially in the wooden maze. We were a little disappointed that the centre of the big maze was still under construction but it looks like it'll be great once complete. We are definitely contemplating a season pass.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Totally overpriced for what it is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Really wouldn't recommend going here. €29 for our family of 5. Started with having to get kids to pay in as they don't take payment by card!! Wooden maze a bit of fun for 10min, pets corner a joke. Playground nothing special. We split into 2 groups to see who could get to centre of maze first. One group took right path straight away and were in centre very quickly and came out, while others just went round in circles lost until really fed up children wanted to just give up and get out. Would have thought ok if had only to pay €15 but total rip off at €29

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kildare Maze also viewed

County Kildare, Province of Leinster
 

Been to The Kildare Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kildare Maze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.