We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Edward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Edward to your Saves list
Lord Edward
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Square | Silken Thomas complex, Kildare, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Kildare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location, great value, clean and spacious room and bathroom, and very comfortable. Secure off-street parking, and food in the adjacent bar is excellent. Great choice for breakfast also. WIll definately be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline K, Manager at Lord Edward, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We thank you for your time in posting a review, we hope you enjoyed your stay...and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
48
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Yes, the location in relation to the pub caused me some concern, but we would go back in a minute. The accommodations were comfortable and it was clean. The one person who really stood out as exceptional was Beata, the lady working in the hotel. She could not have been more helpful. She went out of her way to make us comfortable and recommended that we upgrade our lodging package to include dinner. It turned out to be the best value and best meal that we had during our trip - and we had some very good meals!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline K, Manager at Lord Edward, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We thank you for your kind comments on our B&B I will ensure Beata is informed, as she take great pride in her work and customers care, we are glad you enjoyed your meal too..and hope you have a safe trip back to Illonis..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

While travelling through Ireland with three other couples, we stayed one night at Lord Edward and we loved it. The rooms were clean and spacious but the warm welcome and incredible assistance from the house person which was made it so special. She made sure we were altogether, brought us wine glasses from the pub, extra bath towels and anything else we requested! Extremely friendly and helpful. The adjoining pub serviced a nice dinner and a great Irish breakfast. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline K, Manager at Lord Edward, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Patter, thanks for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Lord Edward B&B, I will inform Beata who looked after you about your comments as she works hard to ensure our customers enjoy their stay here. Hope to see you again some time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Was in Kildare at a family funeral .....travelled from Galway we Stay at Lord Edward Great place !!!! Great food ....staff hilarious and work very hard !!! Will be back :) very welcoming :)




:) thanks to all the Lovely Staff

Room Tip: All u have to do is ask :))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

just spent the weekend in the Lord Edward and it was brilliant. The staff couldnt have been more helpful and friendly. the food was fantastic there was so much choice. spent the saturday in the restaurant part of the complex and the food didnt disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

just back from the lord edward hotel our 2nd stay at this hotel its a great place to make your base for looking around kildare on the site is 3 bars and the fantastic chapter 16 resturant lovely food .all the staff are very helpfull and hardworking nothing too much for them.the irish breakfast sets you up for the day and it runs till 12 oclock so theres a chance of a lye in .its on the main road its the main strip for the bars and other resturants.close to the currah racecourse and the irish stud .there is a nightclub but on both occasions we never had no problems with noise.will be back well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

just back after 2 nights( monday and tuesday) in the lord edward kildare great place for a short break mary the housekeeper was bril. anne the manageress really looked after us, really good value.my wife eileen and i thought the food was of a very good standard.We had to check in at the bar but it really was no problem. we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Edward

Address: The Square | Silken Thomas complex, Kildare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Edward 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Edward accommodation was built in the mid-eighteenth century. Formely known as the "Leinster Lodge", this historic house has been reinvented into 18 en-suite bedrooms.The Lord Edward B & B is located beside a Norman castle in Kildare Town which was, in the thirteenth century, one of the most important castles in Leinster, ranking with the castles at Kilkenny, Carlow and Ferns.We are located off the main M7 motorway (junction 13), on the grounds of our sisiter property The Silken Thomas,comprising of Flanagans Lounge, Squires/Lils Traditional Bars, Tigerlily Night Club and Chapter 16 Restaurant.All rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities and a Flat screen TV.Special rates can be offered for group bookings.Nearby golf, fishing, Japanese Gardens & Irish National Stud, Lullymore Heritage & Discovery Park, Famous Racecourses of The Curragh (0.5 Km) , Naas, Punchestown are only a short distance from Kildare, Newbridge Greyhound Stadium.Also visit Kildare Chic Outlet Village for all your designer brands.Facilities Available• En-Suite• LCD TV• Non smoking rooms available• Coffee / Tea facilities• Free Car parking• Cots available• Wheelchair Accessible Room• Irons & Hairdryers available• FREE WIFI access in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lord Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Edward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.