We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made welcome with a toddler. Food gorgeous.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hanged Man

The Hanged Man
Milltown, Newbridge | County Kildare, Kildare County Kildare, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Kildare
Price range: $34 - $134
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leinster
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Made welcome with a toddler. Food gorgeous.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Children welcome before 6:30. No high chairs, but other than that they made us feel very welcome. Offered bowl of mashed veg, icecream etc.
We were there for the early bird prices (before 6:30 at weekend and all night during the week I think) so 2 courses for €25 (it is an ala carte menu, but would cost about €35 perhaps normally).
There is a selection of about 10 starters and maybe 10 mains. There is a good selection of specials each day. We had a slow cooked braised beef and a surf and turf pasta. Both devine. The baby loved it all too...
Desserts change daily, just was too full to attempt any...
Service was quite speedy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    6
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a family celebration meal for 14 people and it was great. Fresh and easy plus great aosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No.1 Restaurant in Kildare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Hanged Mans has been a regular haunt of ours for the last 10 years and is the only restaurant where you are guaranteed both top class service and food every time. We eat there on average once a month and have never been disappointed. Visit other top rated restaurants in Kildare but none line up as well. Great work Pat & Co.- keep it up!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathangan, Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lesson in how not to manage a restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I pity the staff and the chef at this restaurant, the food was good and the waiting staff good, BUT the manner of the owner is obnoxious. I have never paid good money for such bad manners and rudeness!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland - Newbridge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Living nearby this is a regular haunt for birthdays. Food is great, we always order the potato skins with the chili dip. They didn't have ketchup, but served a home made equivalent which was excellent, but our sons missed the bottle of Heinz, but as they are teenagers they enjoyed all the food. I do not recognise the descriptions of other reviewers, the first time I ate here was 5 years ago for our anniversary, and it was very special, have eaten here at least 10 times since and have enjoyed it every time, and always found Pat a perfect host and welcoming to all.

I can't recommend it strongly enough, and is up there with some of the best in Kildare. The early bird is fantastic value, and lunch is well priced too. Try it out for yourselves

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanged Man also viewed

Kildare, County Kildare
Kildare, County Kildare
 
Kildare, County Kildare
Kildare, County Kildare
 

Been to The Hanged Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hanged Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.