We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find, good location, lovely, clean and the best hostes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   | Lackaghmore, Kildare, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Double €65
Ranked #2 of 8 Kildare B&B and Inns
Trelleborg,sweden
1 review
“Easy to find, good location, lovely, clean and the best hostes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Made our last night on Ireland between the 27;th and 28;th of july. This B & B is really recomendable for everyone, single or family. It´s newly and nicely decorated. The food was very nice and the breakfastroom as all rooms were really clean and fresh. The hostess had all the knowledge you need about Kildare (the cutes village i´ve ever seen), the surroundings and even about other villages around. Allthough its closeness to the motorway between Dublin and Limerick its location in the green contryside did´nt reveal it. Thank you very much Elizabeth for your tips. And allso for the oppertunety to see your husbands work with the cows.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We found Castleview Farm to be in a very peaceful location with an interesting past. Loved the thatched cottage, and the church next door. It was only a few minutes drive from town so was quite easy to go to out for dinner, and the close proximity to the Irish Horse Stud and the Curragh was very pleasing to my 'horsey' husband. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable and Liz did her utmost to make our stay as comfortable as possible. There was plenty of information available about the area, and if we're ever in Kildare again, Castleview will be our first pick for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed with my mum as part of a family history visit to Ireland. Just turned up at Castleview and booked for the one night with Liz. Great room, separate to house. History of area was interesting as was the old church and cemetery next door. Good hearty irish breakfast. This is a working farm. We watched the cows getting milked - interesting for us city dwellers. Very friendly hosts. Easy to find following the signs from Kildare township.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
market weighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in 2006 and have just spent two nights here last week. The farm is only 30 minutes or so from Dublin and so is a geat stopping off place after coming off the ferry in Dublin and also before returning to England. It is also ideal for people wanting to visit the Curragh to see the Races and anyone wanting to visit The National Stud, which is close by. Although we are not particularly interested in horses, we went to the Stud and thoroughly enjoyed it. Liz and Ned are lovely people who make you feel completely at home. If you want any help planning your itinery Liz has put together a very large file full of local information to give her guests ideas on where to go and what to do. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the food is excellent. We were treated to a slice of carrot cake and a cup of tea each on arrival and breakfast next morning was excellent, with 3 different types of soda bread on offer. I can recommend the plain brown soda bread which is the best I have tasted in all the b&b s we have stayed in. ( Liz was kind enough to give us 3 extra slices to take away with us as we headed off home!) We will certainly go back to Castle View next time we visit Ireland and can heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a warm welcome and wanting to stay on a working farm in pleasnt countryside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We had a lot of trouble finding the castleview farm from the motorway- the directions that were given to us were quite confusing. You can easily find it from the center of kildare, but that was not where we were instructed to go. Our booking process was not easy, we did not get the confirmation until well after we had left for ireland, six days after the original contact. When we got to the farm the smell was not very nice outside or inside the place, it kind of smelled like farm animals and body odor. Other than the not-so-pleasant smell the rest of the stay was great. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was nice, and there was free wifi. The breakfast in the morning was fine. It is not within walking distance to kildare, but if you have a car it would be fine. this would not be a good place for you if you are not into the farm smell, but other than that things were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Much like other Ireland b&bs, the location was rather far from the towns, but we found that the value of the trip into the rural areas the greatest part of our trip. Castleview Farm is much like two others that we visited. The hosts were knowledgeable of their area, the service and food was very good, and there was a marvelous bit of history next to their home. Mrs. Fitzpatrick gave us a short history of Lacagh Church and that prompted us to take the short walk, less than two minutes to tour the chruch and cemetery adjacent to the farm. We would look forward to spending many more times at the Fitzpatrick's.

We did not rate value, because we arranged all of our lodgings through a travel service. This lodging selection was made based on the selections the travel service offered as a part of our travel package. We had other options, but believed Castleview to be the best of the group in the area around Kildare.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We needed to find a B&B at the last minute and came upon this B&B. Liz greeted us warmly. She has a very clean and beautifully decorated B&B. Breakfast was great. And I loved being able to walk under the moonlight through the old ruins of a Church and graveyard. We'll definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: | Lackaghmore, Kildare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.