We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba Divers Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milford Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Milford Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Milford Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Letterkenny Road, Co. Donegal, Milford, Ireland (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Scuba Divers Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here some time ago as part of an organised scuba diving tranining weekend. We understood the owners were divers themselves, and appreciated the fact that we might dine late and need showers on Sunday morning after our checkout... this might seem a little strange to the normal person, but it meant alot to us, that we were allowed a very late checkout on the Sunday afternoon to allow us to shower and change before our trips home. It was a very cold time of year, but the warmth of the hotel fire and real turf was so inviting. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was an issue. We did not realise that there was a meal for us on arrival, it was only chicken curry rice and chips, but boy did it go down a treat after a 3 hour drive on icy roads!
The next night we ate in the dining room and had a lovely meal. There was live music in the Bar and as it was around Christmas time there was a great buzz about the place as there was a party night on. We were in a lovely room in the hotel, and far enough away from the funtction room so that we didn't hear any noise.
We stop here regularly for breakfast on a Sunday morning when going to the downings, its a great spot for a full Irish!!
Would love to go back for a night or 2

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearóid P, General Manager at Milford Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello golema79,

Thank you for your excellent review. Our team here are known for constantly going above and beyond the call of duty to ensure each guest receives a memorable experience. I'm delighted to read that you recognised this as it really is what makes staying at the Milford Inn Hotel so special. We hope to see you again the next time you are en route to Downings Bay.

Kind Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
70
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

my husband and i spent saturday night the staff were so friendly the room was spacious and comfortable the food was excellent had a good nights craic in the bar we even got a wee dance it was r third time to stay in milford inn wud go back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearóid P, General Manager at Milford Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello Nelehenworb,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host your group on your "Mammy's Escape" and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to the team, who I know will be delighted to hear them. Looking forward to seeing you all for Mothers Day 2015 already!!

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

thirty eight "mammys" from Co. Meath escaped to Donegal for Mothers' Day and stayed overnight. We were delighted with the Milford Inn Hotel, rooms were large, warm, comfortable and anything extra like more towels, toiletries etc. were smilingly brought at once. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, lovely dinner menu with large choice. Entertainment in the bar was as usual, loud and noisy but enjoyed and we danced ! Would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: ground floor was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearóid P, General Manager at Milford Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello Margaret D,

Thank you for such a kind review. We really appreciate it. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and live entertainment. Both the team and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

arrived on fri for weekend met with lovely receptionist at check in. rooms very spacious and clean. Food in both dining room and bar very good value for money .on saturday night unfortunatly there was a bit of mix up in our orders but waitress on seeing her error quietly and efficently got it sorted without any drama. would deffinately stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearóid P, General Manager at Milford Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello Jennifer M,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Our staff are a very friendly bunch and are always delighted when their hard work is recognised and praised. I'm happy to see that your meal issue was identified and rectified immediately, and without any resultant difficulty to you or any of your group. I do hope you will return soon and re-acquaint yourself with our friendly team who will be delighted to see you.

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookstown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

my partner and I stayed on saturday night for one night. i got a good bed and breakfast rate on booking.com.Receipionist on check in friendly. i had booked a double bed room and on getting to room it had three single beds. I returned to receiption and was given another room which had a double and single bed but the double bed was actually two single beds put together. The room was clean and comfortable. toileteries in the bathroom sparse. Breakfast was self-service and make own toast. unfortunately the breakfast plates were cold and the bacon sausages and white pudding were only lukewarm . thus my breakfast was cold before i could get it eat. warm plates would be a bonus. Also we were half way through our breakfast and still had not got our tea. Had to ask for our tea which should not have happened. Thought the food in the bar was somewhat overpriced. On the plus side there was entertainment in the bar saturday night which was very enjoyable. I would return to this hotel but some improvements are need re breakfast such as warm plates and hot food

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearóid P, General Manager at Milford Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello rosieCookstown,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Since your stay we have overhauled our breakfast offering and now have a much higher standard of service.

With regard to your comments about our bedding, the description that you recieved "two single beds pushed together" is actually innacurate. That type of bed is a "Zip & Link Bed" which when assembled is in no way different to a standard double bed.

I am disappointed that you felt our food offering was overpriced. We feel that we are quite competitively priced in the local market and our food produce is all locally sourced and cooked to order, which ensures a high quality dining experience.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope I have addressed your observations.

Kind Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I attend a Christmas Party night with family and friends which has always been enjoyable, but this year although the Party was great and the staff helpful the place wasnt as clean and the heating was off in my room. The receptionist said that there was a problem with the plumbing but no offer of recompence. Will look elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearóid P, General Manager at Milford Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello Kathyquigg,

Thank you for your review. As your review was left some time ago I can only inform you that any bedroom issues you experienced, have since been rectified. We have since upgraded our bedrooms to a high standard and I'm sure if you return, and I hope you will, you will most definately notice the changes.

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed here for one night, midweek, for business. It's a big hotel, and it had almost no guests (admittedly, mid December is not exactly peak season!). Room plus full breakfast cost a paltry €35, which is excellent value, particularly considering that the room was huge - and warm - and the breakfast was notable in both quantity and quality. It was a buffet, and there was enough to feed an army. The hot counter had two different types of eggs, hot tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, sausages and saucer-sized black and white puddings. All staff from reception to restaurant were very friendly and welcoming.
Definitely worth a visit; if you were on holiday, you could base yourself and explore Donegal from there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Milford Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Inn Hotel

Address: Letterkenny Road, Co. Donegal, Milford, Ireland (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milford Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter what the occasion, weddings, special parties or just a steal away romantic weekend, the Milford Inn is a special place just for you. From bars to bedrooms, food to fun, the Milford Inn will spoil you, pamper you and remind you of the real meaning of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Milford Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hotel Donegal
Milford Inn Hotel Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milford Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.